broadband capacity (gigabit) and HD streaming - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > Home Theatre Personal Computer (HTPC) and Media Extenders

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2008-06-13, 10:09 AM   #1
JonSS
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 112
Default broadband capacity (gigabit) and HD streaming

Is my understanding correct:

If I have a 4 port gigabit router connected to an 8 port 10/100 router am I correct that if I have a pc connected to a gigabit port (pc has gigabit ethernet) and also a HD Homerun tuner connected to a gigabit port, then there is approx 900 mbits bandwidth with 100 mbits bandwidth allocated to the 8 port router. Ie anything fed in and out of the gigabit router will have ample (900) capacity?

I am trying to stream 3 hd streams (60 mbits?) through my gigabit pc (2 from HDHR and 1 out to an extender) without any bandwidth issues while having several other pcs (10/100) online at the same time?

Thanks
JonSS is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2008-06-13, 10:31 AM   #2
newffieca
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 64
Default Not as simple as that

Each packet of info has "overhead" packet info,
IE: time date address to and from etc, it can use up
to 20% of the packet.
100 meg port in a router is hard pressed to
maintain a flow of 60 meg on a continued basics.

The specs are for best case in an engineering
paper.
newffieca is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2008-06-13, 02:18 PM   #3
technut
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Victoria, BC (on Shaw TV & Internet, Telus home phone, Bell mobile)
Posts: 1,767
Default

JonSS, if I understand your plans correctly, you'll be OK.

Most likely either the gigabit router or the 10/100M router (or both) have "switched ethernet" ports, meaning traffic is not sent to a port unless it is destined to the device on that port.

So any traffic between your gigabit PC and the HDHR will stay on the 1G router and won't use up any of the bandwidth on the 10/100M router. And likewise traffic between PC's on the 10/100M router will not use up bandwidth on the 1G router.

As long as you don't try to stream more than about 80 Mbps between the two routers, you should be fine from a bandwidth perspective. And assuming your gigabit PC is up to handling 3 HD streams at once.
__________________
Mike / technut
technut is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2008-06-13, 02:23 PM   #4
JonSS
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 112
Default

Thanks. I really want to keep 2 computers separately on the 10/100 router (laptop that the wife uses to surf as well as an old pc that is used for video calling relatives) so that nothing will cause problems with my multiple HD recording and streaming.
JonSS is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2008-06-14, 03:51 AM   #5
I_Want_My_HDTV
.
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, ON
Posts: 6,297
Default

In my experience, 1Gb connections are more sensitive to connection issues than 100Mb connections. So while yo might get close to 70% capacity on a 100GB connection (70Kb), you will not likely get anywhere near 700Kb on a 1GB connection. In some circumstances, you might not even get 180Kb (3x60Kb.) (I've seen 1GB connection as slow as 20Kb under some conditions.) The PC could also be a bottleneck if the CPU cannot keep up or there is a hardware or software issue. Task manager can provide an overview of connection speeds but a more detailed analysis is required if there are serious problems. OTOH, if everything is working Ok, there shouldn't be an issue with this setup.
I_Want_My_HDTV is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2008-06-23, 01:07 PM   #6
mikemilton
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The wilds of Haliburton
Posts: 13
Default

You definitely want a switch vs a router and look for a non-blocking one. One (cheap) example is the D-Link DGS-1008D

Use the best cables you can get and keep them relatively short and you should have no problems. Each device is isolated from the others traffic *and* speed unless they are actually communicating - This is what you wanted, right?

If you find you have an issue (doubtful) the device above (and others, surely) support QOS and has 4 queues. Depending on support for QOS on the attached devices, this can also help.

m
mikemilton is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2008-06-23, 07:59 PM   #7
Danno100
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Outside of Toronto
Posts: 311
Default

I just switched to two D-link DGS-1008D switches and a DIR-655 router. I put my server on the switch and the router connected to the switch. At first I had terrible stuttering playing SD video. Found out it was the router because I connected the server directly to it. Plugging the server into the switch fixed the problem. Perhaps it is because I hadn't updated the router firmware. I have updated the firmware since then, but haven't tested if it fixed the video problem.
Danno100 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:57 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.