Shaw PVR HTPC + DCT700 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > Home Theatre Personal Computer (HTPC) and Media Extenders

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2008-05-28, 09:48 AM   #1
thatdaveguy
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 29
Default Shaw PVR HTPC + DCT700

I just signed up for Shaw Digital Cable. I will be getting the DCT700.

I am looking at the connections on the DCT700 and it seems I have a couple options for connecting my HTPC:

1) Split the coaxial line and use separate connections to the PC tuner and the digital box. I understand I'll likely only be able to get channels 2-58 with this method as they are analog, right? Even then, this method will only work for another year or two before the switch to digital becomes reality...
2) Use the RCA connections from the DCT700 to plug into the tuner. Will this let me watch and record all the digital channels? Does WMC download the channel guide too?

With Option 2 could you get a video card with S-Video, use the RCA to S-Video adapter, then plug the sound connection into the line in on the computer? This would be preferable... tuners are going to be useless in the next couple years.
thatdaveguy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2008-05-28, 10:00 AM   #2
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,149
Default

If you view the HTPC in the same way as a VCR, the following thread should explain all the connections.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=76077

The analogue channels do not stop in 2009 in Canada, that's only for broadcasters in the US. In Canada it's 2011 and that may or may not have an effect on the service providers since they can continue with analogue as long as they wish, or there is enough demand.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2008-05-28, 01:27 PM   #3
thatdaveguy
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 29
Default

I guess my concern was more if the DCT700 will let me output two pictures: One with the OUT Coaxial to the TV, then at the same time using the Composite OUT to the HTPC. Also, I don't really understand WMC's abilities (such as PVR with Shaw and downloading program guides) which could use some clarificatiion.

Furthermore, can the TV Tuner change the channels on the digital box through RCA cables? If not, it's hardly worth setting up a PVR!

Last edited by thatdaveguy; 2008-05-28 at 06:18 PM.
thatdaveguy is offline  
Old 2008-05-30, 12:29 PM   #4
classicsat
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,242
Default

The DCT700 will output both RF and A/V the same time, with the same channel only though.

Channel changing is by IR only on that box. You will need to use a remote, or an IR blaster with the DVR.
classicsat is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:42 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.