cascading SW44 switch for 5+ tuners - Page 9 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Bell Canada Enterprises (BCE) > Bell Satellite TV Hardware Installation Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2009-10-16, 07:20 AM   #121
dosborne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON - Sharp Aquos 52" LCD - Bell 9200, 4x5900, 3x3100, E50 DVD-R, Harmony 880, Garmin C550
Posts: 2,814
Default

This is getting off topic...............

But, yes, to some extent. Personally, I expect them to be sales people, not technical, but as I said, if they don't know, they should not guess or make stuff up. They should refer the customer to someone that actually knows.
dosborne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2009-10-18, 03:28 PM   #122
jimmy1
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Default approved switches

I have two bell receivers and want to add two more but have 6 outlets. I read in the forum that I can use two 4 x 4 switches and two 44 switches for a reliable connection.

Do the switches have to be Dish or can I use a brand such as the Microyal for the 44 and other brands for the 4 X 4

I called a retailer today and he told me that I had to use Two Dish 44as and two 44 switches with bell receivers. Not sure if he is telling the truth or trying to up sell.
jimmy1 is offline  
Old 2009-10-18, 03:54 PM   #123
Pinza
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 9,691
Default

Bell use VideoPath SW44's and Eagle aspen for 4 way and 8 way single sat switch's.

I have used Microroyals in the past and they work just fine.

SW44a's are not approved or officially supported by Bell but again, work fine.

Quote:
I read in the forum that I can use two 4 x 4 switches and two 44 switches for a reliable connection.
I think you mean 2 x 4 way switch's and 2 x SW44's.
Pinza is online now  
Old 2009-10-18, 05:00 PM   #124
ScaryBob
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,133
Default

It's cheaper to use four 2 way splitters (dish style with DC blocking on 1 leg/DC pass on the other) and two SW44s. One SW44a and one SW44 is also cost effective unless the SW44s are surplus/cheap or on hand. Other brands are Ok, as long as they are Dish/Bell compatible. Diseqc, Shaw, DirecTV, etc switches will not work with Bell receivers.
__________________
At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline  
Old 2009-10-18, 05:04 PM   #125
Pinza
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 9,691
Default

Splitters MUST pass 2 Ghz or higher.
Pinza is online now  
Old 2009-10-18, 05:26 PM   #126
jimmy1
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks guys I had a feeling the guy was just selling me more than I needed.

I will try this set-up as described in the forum using the method as described in the forum.
{unnecessary image removed}

I happen to have one eagle aspen 3 x 4 multi switch.
{unnecessary image removed}

I will get two Microyal SW44 Automatic Multi-Dish Switch
{unnecessary image removed}
Please lwt me know if i can improve on anything.

Last edited by dosborne; 2009-10-19 at 07:25 AM. Reason: Removed duplicate images and merged into proper thread
jimmy1 is offline  
Old 2009-10-21, 10:54 PM   #127
manuelj43
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Sadly they just do not understand how to cable for more than 4 Tuners, at most Bell World & The Source Stores I come across.
Funny; even through sky dish, when i call in to activate a customer, I had a rep argue with me to install the power insterter on a multiswitch, And that the multiswitch that I installed was a sw-44.
manuelj43 is offline  
Old 2009-11-01, 10:22 AM   #128
sctlenz
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 50
Default Difference between Switches

What is the difference between a 44a and just a 44?
sctlenz is offline  
Old 2009-11-01, 10:29 AM   #129
Pinza
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 9,691
Default

Firstly an SW44A is NOT an approved or officially supported Switch for use on Bell TV.

The SW44, has 4 inputs from the LNBF's, and 4 outputs to feed 4 Tuners.
The SW44A, has 4 inputs from the LNBF's, 4 outputs to feed 4 Tuners and 4 outputs to feed an SW44, if required.
Pinza is online now  
Old 2009-11-09, 12:01 AM   #130
Quivox
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 23
Default

Is there such a thing as a SW22? I went to a bell store today and that's what he advised, but I haven't seen that switch mentioned here. Right now I have dual Lnb's connected to an SW44, and I'm running 2 pvr's, but I want to add a third PVR as well as 1 line for a non pvr box.
Quivox is offline  
Old 2009-11-09, 09:48 AM   #131
ScaryBob
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,133
Default

Never heard of an SW22. He probably meant SW21. SW21s will support, at most, two receivers. For 3 or more receivers, one or more SW44s are required. There are oddball configurations using SW24s combined with SW21s or commercial options but SW44s are the best solution for residential use.
__________________
At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline  
Old 2009-11-09, 12:50 PM   #132
dm_4u
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Winnipeg - Bell-HD
Posts: 2,108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinza View Post
Firstly an SW44A is NOT an approved or officially supported Switch for use on Bell TV.

The SW44, has 4 inputs from the LNBF's, and 4 outputs to feed 4 Tuners.
The SW44A, has 4 inputs from the LNBF's, 4 outputs to feed 4 Tuners and 4 outputs to feed an SW44, if required.
However I have an SW44a switch working in tandem with an SW44 switch...without any issues...to power the following receivers: 9242, 9200, 6100 and two 3100's.

On the other hand I did all the install work myself...and I'm no professional installer...

(Pinza...in fact I wish you were selling those switches on a board, two months ago...in fact I still almost bought #1...except shipping would probably be an issue).

All I'm saying is that it may not be officially supported by Bell-TV...but it does work.
dm_4u is offline  
Old 2009-11-09, 07:07 PM   #133
Quivox
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 23
Default

Thanks for the answer! My set-up right now is 2 Lnb's connected to an SW44 switch, which are then run to 2 dual tuner receivers( 9242 and 9241) I want to add another 9241 as well as a 6141 and a 6100.

The satellite guy I talked to today said the best solution is to add 2 3X4 ZINWELL SAM - 3402's and another sw44.
which is similar to the 2nd option in this thread. Will this work? Are Zinwell products rated highly? He said he would supply the SW44, the 2 3x4 switches and the cabling for $200.00.
Quivox is offline  
Old 2009-11-09, 11:15 PM   #134
ScaryBob
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,133
Thumbs down

Quote:
He said he would supply the SW44, the 2 3x4 switches and the cabling for $200.00.
That's a bit expensive. An SW44 is worth at most $100 new or about $35, including shipping, on eBay. (Forget what Bell charges, nobody else wants that much.) 4 Dish compatible splitters can be used for about $5 each or two off-brand SW24s can be used for $15 each. The cables can be purchased or made for about $2-$3 each. For $200, he should be installing it too.
__________________
At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline  
Old 2009-11-10, 12:15 PM   #135
rosenqui
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kanata, Ontario.
Posts: 428
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quivox View Post
The satellite guy I talked to today said the best solution is to add 2 3X4 ZINWELL SAM - 3402's and another sw44.
On the other hand, wiring-wise, the simplest thing would be for you to just get a SW44A and put that in front of your existing SW44. Not "officially" Bell supported, but works well for many other users.

Last edited by dosborne; 2009-11-10 at 12:57 PM. Reason: Portions deleted. Please read the forum rules re buying/selling
rosenqui is offline  
Reply

Tags
cascade, cascading, sw44, trunking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:12 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.