PS3 Hard Drive Upgrade - Anyone done it yet? - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Entertainment > Video Game Consoles and PC Gaming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2008-01-23, 06:26 PM   #31
Icemann
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,651
Default

If you don't have anything on your PS3 40GB right now that you want to save then you don't have to backup anything. When you load the new hard drive it will format it and load anything it needs to on there.

If it's only saved game data, save it to a USB Flash drive.
Icemann is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2008-08-22, 12:30 PM   #32
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Default

THought I would resurrect this thread. With the new 160GB PS3 announced, I am sure folks will be talking about how to upgrade their existing units
hugh is offline  
Old 2008-08-25, 01:43 PM   #33
cfraser
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Pickering, Ont.
Posts: 1,418
Default

Something I'm not clear on:

Suppose I get an external USB drive, one that has a 2.5" SATA drive compatible with the PS3. I take the drive out of the case and put it in the PS3. I put the original drive from the PS3 into the USB/external case.

Can I copy data from the old drive via USB to the new PS3 drive? I guess the underlying question here is do the portable USB drives use some special formatting, or is it "normal" and all the good stuff is done by the USB->HDD interface.

Of course, besides re-using the old drive for something half useful (small portable backup), I'm trying to eliminate the necessity of a third drive for a proper PS3 backup.
cfraser is offline  
Old 2008-09-04, 10:11 PM   #34
Pepperidge
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 41
Default

I'm interested in upgrading my PS3 hard drive soon, but I have a question: what will this mean for content I've paid to download? Is there anyway I can back it up, or will it be accounted for through my PSN account?
Pepperidge is offline  
Old 2008-09-04, 11:41 PM   #35
PokerChip
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New house and HT, Shaw Gateway + 4 portals, BB50
Posts: 2,263
Default

If you visit the PSN Store right now, you'll notice a check mark on the icons of games you have purchased. Those games can be downloaded back onto your PS3 even if you decided to temporarily delete them to make room (in the cas of a game you did not want to play much these days, as an example).

I do, however, seem to recall that all the downloadable content was backed up before I upgraded my hard drive because I don't remember having to install it back after the HD swap.
__________________
Pics of my Home Theatre *Updated May 2013*: http://www.flickr.com/photos/61688086@N05/
PokerChip is offline  
Old 2008-09-10, 10:04 PM   #36
eclipz
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 106
Default

Just finished my upgrade to 320 last week. Yes the formatted size is 298, but the usable is 263. At least this is what I had before I did the Restore, so nothing was on the HDD yet. In the system information screen it showed as 263/298. Doesn't seem like anything went wrong during the upgrade. I've read about a percentage being reserved, but close to 40 GB doesn't seem right. Either way it's more than 4 times what I had with the original 60 GB I had in there.

And as for the screws . . . yes they were a !@#$% to get off. Seriously, they are screwed in there like no tomorrow. I had the proper screwdriver size but stripped 3 of them in the first 2 minutes. I stopped short of completely ruining them and even tried rubber dishwashing gloves to give me some extra grip. After realizing that the screws weren't coming out with a screwdriver . . . I kid you not, I went for the needle nose pliers. I was able to grip the sides of the screws just enough and with a lot of torque, able to loosen them enough to use the screwdriver to get them the rest of the way off.

For the Backup/Restore process . . . it's a pain having to watch it take a hour to back up my data and then another hour to restore. My hard drive was pretty much full, so you might not have to wait as long if you haven't used up all your HDD space yet. I would even go as far as saying it might be worth it to just delete all your content except your games saves and back up that way. A few MB would go a lot faster than 50 GB.

Anyhow, after all that I'm now a proud owner of a PS3 with much, much, much more HDD space.
eclipz is offline  
Old 2008-09-10, 10:44 PM   #37
eclipz
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 106
Default

Quote:
Something I'm not clear on:

Suppose I get an external USB drive, one that has a 2.5" SATA drive compatible with the PS3. I take the drive out of the case and put it in the PS3. I put the original drive from the PS3 into the USB/external case.

Can I copy data from the old drive via USB to the new PS3 drive? I guess the underlying question here is do the portable USB drives use some special formatting, or is it "normal" and all the good stuff is done by the USB->HDD interface.

Of course, besides re-using the old drive for something half useful (small portable backup), I'm trying to eliminate the necessity of a third drive for a proper PS3 backup.
No, you will not be able to transfer data from your removed PS3 HDD to a newly installed HDD. You will need to do a Backup/Restore to another Fat32 formatted USB memory stick or HDD.
eclipz is offline  
Old 2008-09-13, 09:41 PM   #38
eclipz
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 106
Default

I had posted earlier (2 posts up) that with the newly installed 320 HDD, I only had 263 of 298 GB available. This was with nothing restored yet. I was thinking that maybe the multiple accounts (5) I have set up on the PS3 are using up some of that lost free space. The accounts are only set up to view other countries PlayStation Stores. I'll try deleting an account to see if any HDD space is gained.
eclipz is offline  
Old 2008-09-14, 03:44 PM   #39
Gord Lacey
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,749
Default

The accounts aren't actually stored on the HD - you can access them with just the brand new (nothing on it yet) drive, so they wouldn't be taking up the space.

Gord
Gord Lacey is offline  
Old 2008-09-15, 01:18 AM   #40
eclipz
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 106
Default

Quote:
The accounts aren't actually stored on the HD - you can access them with just the brand new (nothing on it yet) drive, so they wouldn't be taking up the space.
That is true, the accounts were all there with the newly installed hard drive (before formatting). I was just wondering if the system (recognizing that I had five accounts) formats the new drive reserving some hard drive space for those accounts for what ever reason.

Anyhow, I deleted an account and the available space didn't change. So the 263 GB of 298 still stands as the space available with a 320 GB drive. Unless someone else has installed a 320 GB drive that has different numbers. I'd also be interested in knowing what space is available for 120, 250 and even 500 GB drives for those that have also swapped drives.
eclipz is offline  
Old 2008-09-15, 07:20 AM   #41
jcol
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Kingston, Ontario
Posts: 433
Default

eclipz - I replaced my 40 GB with a 250 GB recently. After the install I believe the system reported 210. I also recall that my restore file was 7 GB. After the restore I ended up with 199 GB available.
jcol is offline  
Old 2008-09-17, 02:05 AM   #42
Neilcamp
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Nanaimo, BC
Posts: 275
Default

In another thread, when I had the same questions about HDD space with my new 320GB, I found this thread on a different forum:

http://boardsus.playstation.com/play...cending&page=1

It indicates that its your formatted space minus 12%, which works out to 263GB for a 298GB drive, which is exactly what your are seeing.
__________________
Up - 51H83/HTR-5550/Point 5/RP-62/6208-HD
Down - 50PHD8UK/HTR-5840S/Micra 6/DVD-S77/6412-PVR
My DVD Collection
Neilcamp is offline  
Old 2008-09-23, 03:33 AM   #43
bldrbob11
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Okanagan TH42PZ77U, STR-DA5400ES, PS3, Pace PVR, HTPC, Paradigm, Harmony One
Posts: 124
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eclipz View Post
No, you will not be able to transfer data from your removed PS3 HDD to a newly installed HDD. You will need to do a Backup/Restore to another Fat32 formatted USB memory stick or HDD.
What's the difference between a USB external HDD and a USB jump or flash drive? I'd think you could use any USB memory device as long as you have the correct file folders.
bldrbob11 is offline  
Old 2008-09-23, 10:50 AM   #44
Rapplin
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Oakville
Posts: 55
Default Forgot my password for my ps3 & going to swap HDD

Question for someone who may know. Actually several

Currently: 60gb HDD in PS3. Going to 320
I forgot my xmb password (Any account deletions etc I cannot do or anything else that requires this 4 digit password cause I forgot it) This is a real pain in my butt, so I figured I may as well nip this issue while I'm upgrading HDD. This is NOT the PS Network id's password.
I have Rockband with a lot of progress made.

Plan to: Format and reload (I guess that's what I'll call it) firmware on new HDD so this will wipe the password and account settings, since I know of no way to erase current unknown pass.
Also I will backup saved games and other data to an external usb 2.0 HDD, so I can restore afterwards.

Questions I have are:
1 - Will I be able to restore all saved game progress in Rockband to the new HDD after the new firmware load? I heard a lot of conflicting information around rockband saves and the ability or lack thereof for porting the saved games etc.
2 - Is it as simple as formatting a FAT32 new hdd and putting it in and then choosing to import the saved data (from external usb 2.0 drive, won't be original ps3 60gb of course)? (After firmware upgrade I'll do this)
3 - Any other considerations/potential issues anyone think I should be aware of? I think what makes my upgrade a bit different is the fact I have to wipe and start from default firmware. Now I imagine this will already be done, so I just won't backup any user settings, so not to import them to newly installed drive and firmware)

Any feedback very welcome, and thank you guys/gals

Rod
Rapplin is offline  
Old 2008-09-23, 06:25 PM   #45
asif9t9
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Oakville, Cogeco
Posts: 3,190
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bldrbob11 View Post
What's the difference between a USB external HDD and a USB jump or flash drive? I'd think you could use any USB memory device as long as you have the correct file folders.
The question is if you can just pop out your existing PS3 drive and then connect it back via USB and reload everything. It doesn't work like that. To set everything back up, you need to Restore from a USB drive to the PS3. To create a Restore file, you need to Backup from the PS3 to an external drive. You're right that since all the info is there, Sony could have made it easier.
asif9t9 is online now  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:06 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.