Cogeco HD Channels using Built in ATSC/QAM Tuner - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Cogeco

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2006-12-29, 10:50 AM   #1
vanhorn
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Smile Cogeco HD Channels using Built in ATSC/QAM Tuner

Hello to all,

I'm new to the HDTV World (ain't christmas great!).

Heres whats happening - my TV has an ATSC Tuner, and when I scan the cable I get a whole bunch of SD (480i) and 1 HD (A&E HD @ 720p) channel.

Looks like the same channels as basic cable?

They are sitting @ 87-X, 89-X and 90-X

As far as I'm concerned its all good - I just haven't seen any other posts on this?

Just curious about whats happening, is this a cogeco service that is supported - or is it just there? or will it go "poof" and disappear someday?
vanhorn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2006-12-29, 01:32 PM   #2
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 51,807
Default

The ATSC tuner tunes OTA channels (antenna).

What you are likely seeing is the result of the QAM tuner, which many new HDTVs have. See the Digital Home FAQ

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=32271

You didn't state the make/model of the TV, so I cannot confirm.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2006-12-29, 02:11 PM   #3
vanhorn
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Sorry about that - I have a Insignia 42" LCD - NS42LCD.

Thats what I understood about ATSC tuners as well.

According to FS/BB specs (no longer online?) it doesn't have a QAM tuner. Not that FS would ever be wrong about something

If it does have a QAM tuner I'm curious why I'm getting A&EHD - I would expect that it would be encrypted?
vanhorn is offline  
Old 2006-12-29, 02:29 PM   #4
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 51,807
Default

Sometimes some channels are simply left unencrypted by mistake, or they could be on "free preview" (and then left unencrypted). Or they could be "testing".
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2006-12-29, 03:00 PM   #5
james99
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Burlington
Posts: 24,791
Default

A&E HD and HDNet are both free for 2 months.
james99 is offline  
Old 2006-12-29, 06:07 PM   #6
vanhorn
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Hmm..didn't find HDNet - have to look again.

I have a number of channels found at 84-# that have a signal - but come-up as invaild with no picture - they must be the encypted ones.

Glad the SD channels are available - because analog cable really stinks.

Looks like the TV has a undocumented QAM tuner!

Thanks!
vanhorn is offline  
Old 2006-12-29, 06:10 PM   #7
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 23,440
Default

I think the term ATSC Tuner now implies integrated QAM tuner too, although a consumer must clarify this to be sure.
stampeder is offline  
Old 2006-12-31, 10:30 AM   #8
PVR4Me
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 74
Default

Hi Guys:

Could someone post the exact channel numbers to tune to? BTW, I get about 20 digital music channels free with my Cogeco 'analog' cable. They, however, are scattered around the 87.x to 90.x range. I had a few saved as Favourites but have since bumped them off.

Craig
PVR4Me is offline  
Old 2007-01-04, 04:27 PM   #9
Kevin S
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ridgeway, Ontario
Posts: 295
Default

Here are the digital cable channels I am currently picking up through Cogeco (via internal QAM tuner):

Digital Channel / Description / Analog Equivalent
34-274 HDNET
34-289 DISC HD
49-284 DETROIT HD NO SOUND
62-90 FOOD 58
62-96 MTV ?
62-99 BET 49
64-151 SPORTSNET ?
65-93 BUSINESS ?
66-123 BITE ?
66-71 ? ?
66-74 TVNC/APTN 60
69-151 SPORTSNET ?
69-152 SPORTSNET ?
69-153 SPORTSNET ?
69-27 YTV 25
69-91 CLT 91
69-95 ACHANNEL 19
79-94 MMM 78
80-68 TVR 59
80-92 STAR 36
81-171 DISC HEALTH ?
84-1 COGECO ?
84-184 EWTN ?
84-250 VCHOICE PREVIEW ?
84-97 CPAC 77
87-273 A&E HD
89-17 MUCHMUSIC 29
89-32 HGTV 37
89-35 DISCOVERY 42
89-36 THESCORE 53
89-37 SHOWCASE 39
89-38 BRAVO 40
89-43 HISTORY 56
89-44 COMEDY 44
89-50 SPACE 50
89-57 LIFE 73
89-59 TSN 28
89-70 CTVNEWS 14
90-10 CHCH11 12
90-102 ? ?
90-11 NBC 2
90-15 TLC 30
90-24 FOX 20
90-3 GLOBAL 3
90-31 WNED 21
90-47 TBS 47
90-5 CBS 5
90-53 SPORTSNET 57
90-6 CBC 6
90-7 CITYTV 7
90-9 ABC 22

There are also a whole whack of music stations - see below:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/show...2&postcount=22

Last edited by 57; 2007-02-25 at 10:53 AM. Reason: Music station link added.
Kevin S is offline  
Old 2007-02-03, 03:53 AM   #10
1234Aquos4321
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 4
Red face Using built-in tuner

Hi guys,

Just wondering if anyone has a complete cogeco channel list when connecting coax directly to the tv? I have a Sharp Aquos LC46D62U and I am receiving analog and digital signals (a few HD channels), but it's a pain to go through all the channels not knowing what they are. Some digital channels don't show up even after doing a channel scan (ex. I will see 102.3 HD discovery but I won't see anything on 102.1). A channel list would help a lot when flipping through channels. Thanks.
1234Aquos4321 is offline  
Old 2007-02-03, 10:42 AM   #11
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 51,807
Default

Please see the list - link at the end of the following post.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=32271

Be advised that these can change around and may vary by head end.

Edit - Post seems a bit silly sitting here after the threads were merged, but I'll leave it.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2007-02-04, 06:45 PM   #12
coleus
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Milton, ON
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1234Aquos4321 View Post
Just wondering if anyone has a complete cogeco channel list when connecting coax directly to the tv?
1234Aquos4321,

I have a Samsung LN-R408 which is also DCR ready, by using only the analog coax cable, aside from the analog channels I get a bunch of DTV channels (among which 4 HD channels) and music as in the list below:

CH.# Description Ch.type
62-90 HEALTH NETWORK SD
62-96 MTV SD
62-99 BET SD
62-301 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
62-304 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
62-310 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
62-315 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
63-302 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
63-309 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
63-317 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
64-151 SPORTSNET SD
64-323 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
64-335 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
65-93 REPORT ON BUSINESS SD
65-321 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
65-322 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
65-328 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
66-71 LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY SD
66-74 APTN SD
66-123 BITE TV SD
66-307 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
66-316 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
66-326 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
67-27 YTV (KIDS CHANNEL) SD
67-91 CLT SD
67-95 A CHANNEL SD
67-151 FSN SPORTS SD
67-305 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
67-319 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
67-320 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
67-333 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
68-331 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
68-337 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
68-340 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
69-94 MUCH MORE MUSIC SD
69-308 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
69-312 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
69-314 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
69-338 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
71-68 TVA (FR) SD
71-92 STAR! SD
71-313 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
71-336 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
71-339 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
72-171 DISCOVERY HEALTH SD
72-318 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
72-329 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
72-330 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
72-332 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
75-1 COGECO ON DEMAND SD
75-97 EPAC SD
75-184 EWTN SD
75-250 VIEWERS CHOICE PREVIEW SD
75-324 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
75-325 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
75-327 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
80-274 HDNET HD
80-289 DISCOVERY HD HD
82-3 GLOBAL SD
82-6 CBC NEWS SD
82-7 CITY TV SD
82-9 ABC NEWS SD
82-10 CH SD
82-11 CNBC 2 NEWS (WGRZ) SD
82-13 CTV SD
82-24 ?????????? SD
82-31 WNED SD
83-4 FOOD SD
83-8 SUN TV SD
83-22 COGECO SD
83-29 OMNI 2 SD
83-900 WEATHER NETWORK SD
83-903 TV COGECO SD
83-904 TV COGECO (2) SD
83-954 TV COGECO (3) SD
84-17 MUCH MORE MUSIC SD
84-36 FSC LIVE SD
84-59 TSN SD
85-12 RADIO-CANADA (FR) SD
85-25 A CHANNEL SD
85-26 RELIGIOUS ?? SD
85-28 CBC NEWSWORLD SD
85-60 CTV SD
85-66 TFO (FR) SD
86-2 TVO KIDS SD
86-55 CNBC WORLD (NO AUDIO) SD
86-56 EPAC LIVE SD
86-58 RELIGIOUS ?? SD
86-67 RDI (FR) SD
87-284 DETROIT PUBLIC TV HD (NO AUDIO) HD
90-89 COGECO SD
90-98 MY TV BUFFALO SD
90-118 CGTV SD
90-185 STL LIVE SD
90-186 RELIGIOUS ?? SD
99-303 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
99-306 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
99-311 MUSIC CHANNEL MUSIC
100-273 A&E HD HD

All DTV channels have Dolby Digital 2.0 sound except
HDNET which has Dolby Digital 5.1
coleus is offline  
Old 2007-02-04, 11:58 PM   #13
1234Aquos4321
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 4
Default

It's odd though, I don't receive more than 15 sub-channels per channel. For instance, for channel 80, I get sub channels 80.1 to 80.15 (nothing more). How come my discovery HD channel is on 102.3 and yours is on 80-289??? Please help... thanks
1234Aquos4321 is offline  
Old 2007-02-05, 12:12 AM   #14
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 51,807
Default

The difference could be due to various head ends/areas, as indicated in post 11, and by the obvious difference in programming between post 9 and 12.

Please put your location and service provider into your UserCP Profile (location). As you can see, this information can be helpful.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2007-02-05, 09:57 AM   #15
1234Aquos4321
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 4
Question

I guess it's different in Milton than in Oakville....

It's just frustrating to scan through all the digital channels and not knowing what channel you are viewing...

Anyone have a complete channel list for straight COAX into the TV tuner for Oakville? Thanks in advance.
1234Aquos4321 is offline  
Reply

Tags
2013, cogeco, dtv tuner, hd channels, qam channels

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:58 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.