TV Tuner Cards For HTPC Discussion - Page 17 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > Home Theatre Personal Computer (HTPC) and Media Extenders

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2008-05-26, 09:21 AM   #241
Q
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 3,974
Default

What antenna are you using? Sounds like your signal is low.

I have the 1600 and it runs perfect for me.
Q is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2008-05-26, 10:41 AM   #242
takeaim
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 404
Default

signal is fine, shows 100%. i have a tower antenna. also run to my tv which shows signal ranging from 88-100% through the spectrum of available channels.
takeaim is offline  
Old 2008-05-26, 01:38 PM   #243
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 23,855
Default

takeaim, are you running any other apps/processes/tools on your PC when frames are dropping? Are you running XP? Vista?
stampeder is offline  
Old 2008-05-26, 02:51 PM   #244
takeaim
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 404
Default

o/s- xp

i don't think anything else was running, at the most perhaps explorer.
takeaim is offline  
Old 2008-05-26, 04:06 PM   #245
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 23,855
Default

Hmmm... is your PC a main brand model? If so, what's its brand and model #?

If its not, can you provide a list of model numbers of your PC's hardware (such as the model # of Pentium, the hard disk, the mainboard)

Something in that mix is causing the bottleneck since you don't seem to have any other apps or software running.
stampeder is offline  
Old 2008-05-27, 07:34 AM   #246
takeaim
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 404
Default

have to do this off the top of my head-

cpu- intel 3.2 gHz processor (whatever the regular chip is, not celeron)
harddrive- wd 200g drive, don't know the exact model
board- asus p4p800 deluxe
graphics- radeon 9800
ram- .5 g

lmk if there is anything else.
tried watchhdtv last night, again live tv was perfect, but recorded had dropped frames. basically recorded about 30 secs from hockey last night. loaded it into tmpgenc and it seemed that every other frame was lost. audio was perfect, no blimps there, but video is losing every other frame.
takeaim is offline  
Old 2008-05-27, 07:23 PM   #247
danbcman
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Westminster
Posts: 1,248
Default included software

takeaim
Are you recording using the wintv application? are you recording analog or HDTV.
Watchhdtv records great for me Wintv is a POS for both analog and HDTV recording. If you haven't tried recording using WatchHDTV give it a go.
choppy recording in OTA DTV from my experiance is signal quality based as no action is acted on the streams is is merely a direct path to the hard drive.
Even strong signal as you indicated can still have a high amount of corectable errors ( multipaths) and this would be hard to see live if it is at the cusp of near uncorrectable thus meaning frames are dropped by another proccess when replayed back, live they jump a mil sec ahead or freeze and we can 't see it.
Here is a neat example if your tv is close to your computer then tune is the same DTV station on both you'd expect complete sync right give it a go unreall the amount delay the stream is so loaded a sec or two is repeated to compensate for reception issues hoping to give a good image on the screen.
Same stream same station same antenna and each unit has its own first frame to beging the processing.
It you are recording mpeg ( analog ) on the 1600 it is software based unless you actually activate the mpeg on the card that process is at the UK site none the less for your issue if it is analog then background cpu usage would be the main reason for dropped frames.
danbcman is offline  
Old 2008-05-27, 07:50 PM   #248
danbcman
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Westminster
Posts: 1,248
Default win 1600 card

To turn on the mpeg encoder there is a diectory which is utilities and it below the main directory the wintv software created and in there is a ulity to turn on the mpeg encoder as I don't have the software loaded I am going from menory on that one.
danbcman is offline  
Old 2008-05-27, 09:11 PM   #249
PPL4GOLF
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 910
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeneral View Post
I have a VisionTek TV Wonder HD 650 PCI Express (kicks major buttski!!) and a Vista View Saber DA-1N1-I PCI (ok). They are both superior to my old ATI HDTV Wonder. My 650 PCI-E (NOT the PCI model!!!) is excellent at receiving ultra weak stations. I have no trouble getting WNYO-DT reliably using that card. The other tuner, which has the much vaunted 5th Gen LG chipset can't receive that channel. I bought that tuner because many users at another forum recommended it. I'd love to hear from someone who has the ATI 650 PCI-e and some other tuner. I'm not loyal to one particular brand - I just want the most reliable signal possible.

I use the built-in Vista MCE (included with Vista Home Premium and Vista Ultimate). Like I said, it's great for TV and so-so for media playback.
jeneral :
Are you using the software that came from the visiontek box ?

I've looking for any feedback for anybody who uses them...specifically if there is
(1) support for EPG for OTA HD channels
(2) closed caption support and if they are recorded as well

Thanks in advance.
__________________
LG55LW5000/DenonAVR791/MirageOMD5+Nanosat+MM8/ClearStream2/CM7778+3414
OptomaHD33/YamahaRXV1075/KEF3005/Velo15"
PPL4GOLF is offline  
Old 2008-05-27, 10:25 PM   #250
takeaim
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 404
Default

ok, to update and answer danbcman

update to my video card- it's actually the 9200 (not the 9800 as previously stated)


yes, i'm trying to record with watchhdtv and had the dropped frames. fooled around a little tonight and shrank the preview window, closed a couple background apps with task manager and it appears that there aren't any dropped frames (looking at the video with tmpgenc), however video was still choppy and thus not watchable once recorded.

anyone with other ideas? i don't think it's all a signal issue (if that at all). could there be something else for me to try?

perhaps i do need new hardware. ie. video card upgrade?

thanks
takeaim is offline  
Old 2008-05-27, 11:47 PM   #251
danbcman
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Westminster
Posts: 1,248
Default choppy play back?

Okay lets say you play it back in the software you recorded it in watchHDTV
you need to install the DVR-MS filters and WatchHDTV Transport Stream Filters using the file watchHDTV Info which in the directory where watchHDTV installed.
After that is done give the file a run in the watchHDTVplay utility.
good luck
danbcman is offline  
Old 2008-05-28, 01:09 AM   #252
justinwu86
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
Default

hello...what kind of atenna are you people using?

i'm want to pick up a visiontek tv tuner hd 650.

what kind of attenna would you recommend to be used in doors?

thanks.
justinwu86 is offline  
Old 2008-05-28, 01:40 AM   #253
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 23,855
Default

justinwu86, this is not the right thread for that question. Click on the link in this post to the OTA Forum Knowledge Base & FAQ, which will tell you the best of all TV antenna models in the Antenna Chart (in English or French).
stampeder is offline  
Old 2008-05-28, 07:39 AM   #254
takeaim
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 404
Default

yes, i have those filters installed, i'll give that a try tonight and see what happens. my assumption again will be choppy video
takeaim is offline  
Old 2008-05-28, 07:41 PM   #255
takeaim
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 404
Default

ok, playback with watchhdtv is perfectly fine, so it's something in the other programs that's causing choppy video. anyone pinpoint what that problem might be?

different codecs being used? hardware issue? something else?
takeaim is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:39 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.