Discovery HD Discussion. - Page 5 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Entertainment > What's On Television?

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2005-12-19, 08:56 PM   #61
darrylr
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Nepean, Ontario
Posts: 2,980
Default

Coming in fine here on 505 but I already subscribe to all the HD channels.

-Darryl
darrylr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2005-12-19, 09:02 PM   #62
Avernar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 104
Default

Why did they have to make the bug so opaque? It's extremely distracting.

And why are bugs even necessary on a premium channel? You can only get it using a digital set top box so figuring out what channel it is is a single button away.
Avernar is offline  
Old 2005-12-19, 09:04 PM   #63
nathan
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Kitchener, ON (Rogers Customer)
Posts: 1,249
Default

Wow...the preview of Miracle Planet that's on right now looks just absolutely amazing. Unless it's not a preview, and it's a show...but it seems odd, as it started at 7:56. Ah well, that recreation of a comet hitting the earth, the final fly-around of the earth all red and charred looked just phenominal.

Awesome.

(and yes, the bug is a bit big and could be a bit more transparent)
__________________
Toshiba 62HM84 | SA 8300HD | HD-DVD/Blu-ray HTPC | XBox360 | Playstation 3
Denon AVR-2807 | URC MX-650
nathan is offline  
Old 2005-12-19, 09:30 PM   #64
Battscrew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Calgary, just west of the center of the Universe
Posts: 1,073
Default

I'm thinking its free for those already paying for it?
__________________
Am I getting new Sony?
Battscrew is offline  
Old 2005-12-19, 09:32 PM   #65
Cyclism
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Vancouver - OTA, Pioneer KURO Elite Signature PRO-141FD, 27" iMac, WDTV Live.
Posts: 2,781
Default

So far (21:30) I've noticed only 2 real commercial breaks. And the commercials were for Discovery Channel programming.
Cyclism is offline  
Old 2005-12-19, 09:33 PM   #66
Avernar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 104
Default

Doh!

The first episode of Jurney to the Center of the Earth was DD 5.1. The second episode was DD 2.0.
Avernar is offline  
Old 2005-12-19, 10:08 PM   #67
Avernar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 104
Default

Yep They're definately having sound problems. Alien Planet brefly switch to DD5.0 (yes, no LFE channel) and then back to DD2.0.
Avernar is offline  
Old 2005-12-20, 02:48 AM   #68
HiDefBob
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,274
Default

The PQ on "Alien Planet" is stunning. Very interesting program. As for the sound ... this program may not have been recorded in DD5.1 ... I was getting prologic.

I am going to love this channel ... some stunning wildlife images in the ads ... I cannot wait to see those!
__________________
WOW TV is here! NTSC RIP!
Shaw Direct/Bell TV/Telus Optik
HiDefBob is offline  
Old 2005-12-20, 07:31 AM   #69
vaillan57
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 79
Default

What channel si on Expressvu
__________________
SONY 50"| Expressvu 6100 Hd | 3100 & 4500 | North Bay ON

Last edited by 57; 2005-12-20 at 09:12 AM. Reason: Unnecessary Quote Removed.
vaillan57 is offline  
Old 2005-12-20, 09:37 AM   #70
avtechnoid
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waterloo, ON
Posts: 40
Default

I'm totally psych'd about this channel. Although, looking through the IPG for the next week looks like the pattern is a weekly repeat cycle, with only a few different things appearing each week and repeating through the week. That's ok, kudos to them for making it this far. Hopefully a bigger content library over time means less repeat.

The demo loop they showed from 7-8 pm was awesome and fun to watch, almost all demo's were of the 'high quality HD' variety, not the HD wannabe stuff. The one clip with the floating water bead with the reflection of the guy in the bead was one of those 'blew me away' moments - had to replay that one over a few times on the PVR for giggles.

Just goes to show that great quality HD really brings out the power of our HD sets/FP's, so we're still quite lacking in quality HD content these days, but i feel the momentum building - its here to stay.
avtechnoid is offline  
Old 2005-12-20, 09:49 AM   #71
atari8472
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 317
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vaillan57
What channel si on Expressvu
it's on channel 853, but it might require a separate subscription, activation or dish upgrade if you're not seeing it in your guide
atari8472 is offline  
Old 2005-12-20, 11:41 AM   #72
cm_soo
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sault Ste. Marie
Posts: 204
Default

PQ was awesome for Alien Planet, as mentioned the audio flipped around a bit from DD 5.1 to 2.0., hopefully the audio bugs get worked out so high quality audio accompanies these awesome looking shows.

Some of the previews looked awesome, especially the Everest shows.
__________________
Shaw 6412, Hitachi 46F510, Onkyo TXSR603B, XBMC, Squeezebox 3, Harmony 628, Garmin GPS Map 60, Cyclods Evolution
cm_soo is offline  
Old 2005-12-20, 11:46 AM   #73
jfdube
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Montreal, Qc
Posts: 138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by avtechnoid
The one clip with the floating water bead with the reflection of the guy in the bead was one of those 'blew me away' moments - had to replay that one over a few times on the PVR for giggles.
Agreed. This clip was awesome.

I can't wait for Insectia to be on the regular programming. This has got to be one of the best looking HD program I have ever seen.
__________________
SA8300HD, Panasonic TH-42PX600U Plasma, TH-42PWD8UK Plasma, PE7700 HD2+ projector, Denon THX Ultra HT gear
jfdube is offline  
Old 2005-12-20, 01:40 PM   #74
HiDefBob
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,274
Default

I just spoke to a Shaw Cable representative in Vancouver. He said they definitely will be adding Discovery HD to their HD lineup in the new year. They are working to get a contract with Discovery HD. The question I have is ... why wait until after the channel is launched ... why not have these things in place ahead of time! Shaw is always very slow to add HD channels.

I also contacted Star Choice through their Dialogue Zone regarding the addition of Discovery HD.
__________________
WOW TV is here! NTSC RIP!
Shaw Direct/Bell TV/Telus Optik

Last edited by HiDefBob; 2005-12-20 at 01:50 PM.
HiDefBob is offline  
Old 2005-12-20, 01:49 PM   #75
acSlayta
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mianus....Connecticut that is
Posts: 205
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HiDefBob
I just spoke to a Shaw Cable representative in Vancouver. He said they definitely will be adding Discovery HD to their HD lineup in the new year. They are working to get a contract with Discovery HD. The question I have is ... why wait until after the channel is launched ... why not have these things in place ahead of time! Shaw is always very slow to add HD channels.
That's good news, but I agree - why do they always have to come in second when it comes to HD - they are never leading the pack.
acSlayta is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:00 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.