Panasonic DVD-S77 - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > Home Theatre Corner

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2005-12-16, 12:39 PM   #16
mufc99
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Airdrie N of Calgary Alberta
Posts: 59
Default

Well I spent most of the morning working with these two DVD Players.The 363 failed most tests{passed detail test} but the S77 did not pass as many as the LG. Through Component it failed the "Film Detail test" but passed through HDMI.When looking at the demo videos I still cannot distinguish any difference in movie quality even though I know my Pioneer was shown by the tests to be inferior.
mufc99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2005-12-16, 01:32 PM   #17
iron
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 133
Default

Hooked up S77 with Pioneer 4360HD plasma via HDMI cable. Noticed great picture quality imporvement by setting it to upconvert to 1080i vs. 480p.
iron is offline  
Old 2005-12-16, 01:44 PM   #18
MediaRoomManiac
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ajax, ON
Posts: 299
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iron
Hooked up S77 with Pioneer 4360HD plasma via HDMI cable. Noticed great picture quality imporvement by setting it to upconvert to 1080i vs. 480p.
I think native resolution for most HDTVs are 720p so in effect you're throwing an upconverted from 480i to 1080i signal at your TV and it's doing a conversion back to 720p. I tried both 720p & 1080i on my set and they both looked similar. I'm assuming however it's better to just keep it at 720p just to reduce the amount of artifacts or signal degradation that's being introduced when performing so many conversions.

I'm sure someone else here will chime in with correct facts if i'm wrong.
__________________
Sony KDL46HX800, BDPS470|Pio 1020|PS3 80G|Athena AS-F1s, C1|Energy VMinis, V10|Moto VIP1232|HOne|APC UPS
MediaRoomManiac is offline  
Old 2005-12-16, 02:08 PM   #19
iron
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 133
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MediaRoomManiac
I think native resolution for most HDTVs are 720p
Most 42", 43" plasma HDTVs have a native resolution of 1024 x 768. So, 720p is closer to the native resolution. But I can see the difference of displaying more static/low pictures by showing it in 1080i than in 720p. 720p is supposed to be better for motions. But either way, no HD signal is in 1024 x 768, so I believe the TV has to do some sort of conversion from 1080i/720p to its native resolution.
iron is offline  
Old 2005-12-16, 02:10 PM   #20
MediaRoomManiac
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ajax, ON
Posts: 299
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iron
Most 42", 43" plasma HDTVs have a native resolution of 1024 x 768. So, 720p is closer to the native resolution. But I can see the difference of displaying more static/low pictures by showing it in 1080i than in 720p. 720p is supposed to be better for motions. But either way, no HD signal is in 1024 x 768, so I believe the TV has to do some sort of conversion from 1080i/720p to its native resolution.
Yes, I think you're right.. since everytime I check the signal coming into my HD STB, it's always 1080i. Although it looks amazing, the TV is still doing work 'upconverting' the signal to 720p. Since the progressive signal is in effect better than having a line doubled interlaced signal.
__________________
Sony KDL46HX800, BDPS470|Pio 1020|PS3 80G|Athena AS-F1s, C1|Energy VMinis, V10|Moto VIP1232|HOne|APC UPS
MediaRoomManiac is offline  
Old 2005-12-16, 04:54 PM   #21
Michael TLV
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 1,121
Default

Greetings

It's hard to see the 3-5% difference (?) ... but you start to appreciate the differences over time rather than rushing through it.

The S77 should have passed the same tests as the LG ... but the S77 needs to stay on hdmi at 720p since that is the best. Don't bother with component on the S77 since that is only 480i/p. The player does not upconvert there.

In some ways, the differences are like the superbit discs versus the original releases. The higher bit rate improvements are not always apparent, but in time, you grow to see them and can't go back.

(Oh yes ... don't go buy the new LG version of my 7832 model ... it is mechanically worse off)

It all depends on the material we watch. Video artifacts take us out of the experience. The more we reduce their presence ... the more we can enjoy the film itself.

I did not get time to show the red chroma bug that is also on the pioneer 363 unit that the Panasonic is free of ... The toy story clip and the hero clip will demo that CUE bug.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mufc99
Well I spent most of the morning working with these two DVD Players.The 363 failed most tests{passed detail test} but the S77 did not pass as many as the LG. Through Component it failed the "Film Detail test" but passed through HDMI.When looking at the demo videos I still cannot distinguish any difference in movie quality even though I know my Pioneer was shown by the tests to be inferior.
__________________
Michael @ TLVExperience
ISF/THX Video Systems Instructor
Michael TLV is offline  
Old 2005-12-23, 10:04 AM   #22
Maginnis1951
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mississauga, Panasonic TH42PX50; Rogers 8300HD PVR; Panasonic S42 DVD; JVC 6010 Receiver
Posts: 111
Default

Does anyone know anything about the Panasonic DMREH50S model, available at FS for $699.99? I have an SA8300HD STB and a Pany TH42PX50 HD plasma and wonder how they would work together.
Thanks for any insight.
Maginnis1951 is offline  
Old 2005-12-25, 04:11 PM   #23
mike infinity
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 462
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MediaRoomManiac
I'm assuming however it's better to just keep it at 720p just to reduce the amount of artifacts or signal degradation that's being introduced when performing so many conversions.
On paper, I would agree with this. In practice, however, it turns out to be a different story. I have a hitachi 50v500A which is 720p native. For some reason I get the best performance when I us the TV to downsample 1080i on both my pvr and my panny s97 upsamplers. The upsampler in the TV is terrible compared the ones in the PVR and the S97....which is justification enough for an upsampling player.

Mike
mike infinity is offline  
Old 2005-12-25, 04:27 PM   #24
mike infinity
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 462
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RNAChemist
the S77 is essentially the S97
I'm late on this, but I was looking for a second player to go with my projector and after doing a little research I have found that apparently there are some differences. What I can't figure out is what exactly the differences are.

Check this review:

"While the S77 seems to be almost identical to the flagship S97 on paper, don’t be fooled. The S97 is far more groomed and offers better core performance and attention to detail. The S77 is value rich in both the video and audio category, but comes up short in the attention to detail department."

http://www.hometheaterhifi.com/cgi-b...VD-S77%20(HDMI)


I only wish the reviewer could have been more specific...groomed?...attention to detail?....core performance?

I can't find any reviews of the sony or LG upsamplers. I did find someone who claimed that the sony and s77 gave the same performance. I can save $100 on the sony, so I might give it a shot.

Mike Flynn
mike infinity is offline  
Old 2005-12-26, 06:09 PM   #25
Kingtrev
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1
Thumbs up Same problem with S77 - SOLVED!

I had the same problem hooking up my newly purchased S77 to my Toshiba 51HC85 RP HDTV via the HDMI port. Being VERY much frustrated that it wouldn't work I tried to first prove that the TV wasn't the problem. I ran out to Fry's and bought a Toshiba HDMI DVD player just to prove that the TV was ok. When I got home on a hunch I swapped out the HDMI cable that came with the S77 for the one that came with the Toshiba DVD player. Voila! S77 came up perfectly via HDMI! Needless to say, the Toshiba DVD player went right back to Fry's. Not sure if the cable that came with the S77 is bad since I have no other components to test it with. At least this is a problem easily solved though!
Kingtrev is offline  
Old 2005-12-28, 12:55 AM   #26
KaneRobot
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Default

I've never been this pissed off with home theater stuff before, I was having the same problem rayzerman & Pete had (and I also have a Sony TV, the KV30HS420). I just got the player today and had the same problem - it didn't work at first, then it did for about 10 minutes...then it stopped and hasn't worked since. If I return the damn thing I have to pay a $30 restocking fee for the site I bought it from (6ave.com). I'm hoping I'll get lucky with a cable switch like Kingtrev was, but I don't have much hope.

Needless to say I'm pretty disgusted with Panasonic right now, I hope I'm getting worked up for nothing, but I have a feeling I'm going to be out a significant amount of money either way and either spend a bundle of cash on a cable that (might) work, or return the player, be out 30 bucks, and still have no DVD player.

Rayzer and/or Pete, did you ever figure out a solution?

Last edited by KaneRobot; 2005-12-28 at 01:21 AM.
KaneRobot is offline  
Old 2005-12-28, 01:36 PM   #27
morkys
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Rogers Cable
Posts: 402
Default

It is hard to find out the real bottom line of the S77 vs the S97. I am doing some research for a friend.
morkys is offline  
Old 2005-12-28, 06:18 PM   #28
KaneRobot
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Default

Update: got a new cable at Best Buy for an outrageous price, but at least I know the cable is the problem. I'm somewhat relieved that I got it working but still annoyed. Naturally I'll take the cable back tomorrow and order it online for much less.
KaneRobot is offline  
Old 2005-12-29, 01:03 PM   #29
morkys
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Rogers Cable
Posts: 402
Default

So the S77 only outputs 720p via HDMI?
morkys is offline  
Old 2005-12-29, 02:06 PM   #30
MediaRoomManiac
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ajax, ON
Posts: 299
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by morkys
So the S77 only outputs 720p via HDMI?
No, it outputs 480p, 720p, and 1080i via HDMI.

It has been suggested to output 720p to your HDTV set because a lot of sets have a native resolution of 720p. However to each his/her own, some swear that 1080i is better than 720p, etc.

Your eyes will be the judge.
__________________
Sony KDL46HX800, BDPS470|Pio 1020|PS3 80G|Athena AS-F1s, C1|Energy VMinis, V10|Moto VIP1232|HOne|APC UPS
MediaRoomManiac is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:21 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.