Such a thing as a GH/Yagi Hybrid? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Over-The-Air (OTA) Digital Television > Antenna Research & Development

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-07-05, 04:46 PM   #1
darexl
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hannon, Ontario
Posts: 3
Question Such a thing as a GH/Yagi Hybrid?

A question out of topic a bit.
Do you know if anybody experimented with GH-Yagi hybrid antenna?
I mean somethin like Yagi in mounting but with all directors and reflector built as classic GH (or possibly as ZZ4)?
darexl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-07-05, 05:56 PM   #2
ota_canuck
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dunnville, Ontario on the Grand River, North shore Lake Erie
Posts: 2,409
Default

Do you mean something like this but with a GH/SSH instead of the dipole?

__________________
3D SSH III with ZZ4 refl. http://imageshack.us/user/jmsdigital
ota_canuck is offline  
Old 2012-07-06, 10:56 PM   #3
300ohm
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Somewhere in Delaware on the flat side
Posts: 7,360
Default

I've played around with directors for the GH. (that's how I discovered the NAROD, heh) It seems like the best directors for the GH is another GH element, and you need like 5 to make a noticeable difference in gain. This of course makes the build fairly difficult and pricey.
__________________
My builds/plans (not the latest models) are located here.
300ohm is offline  
Old 2012-07-08, 09:13 PM   #4
darexl
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hannon, Ontario
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for quick answer guys.
Yes, something like that. I tried to build it with 3 GH elements (classic 7") but of course with 3, my reception did not improve much. Yes, it is a lot of work and it is difficult to keep consistent in construction. I used 2.5" spacing between elements and 5" from active element to reflector (aiming for real channel 23 - ION is a bit elusive in Hamilton area).
In spite of construction, size and cost issues, I wonder if there is a potential here?
darexl is offline  
Old 2012-07-08, 11:11 PM   #5
Damon Hill
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 21
Default

Here's a Yagi design that kind of suggests what you're thinking of:

http://ronsmithaerials.com/catalogue/menu.html

Also, a "grid Yagi" sounds similar:

http://home.comcast.net/~ross_anderson/GridYagi.htm

Though both would have terrible wind and ice loading!


--Damon, who is having a terrible time finding SMA connectors and cables locally so he can finish a quad curtain antenna
Damon Hill is offline  
Old 2012-07-09, 04:59 PM   #6
darexl
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hannon, Ontario
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks,
I am allowed to play with attic only so environment is not an issue
Mounting of 10 or more GH elements 2.5" apart on the other hand could cause a bit of a challenge
darexl is offline  
Old 2012-08-04, 08:36 PM   #7
zdcyclops
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
Question Great minds think a like

I had sort of the same idea except to make the antenna bi- directional with UHF on the front side and VHF on the rear with its own down lead and an AB switch to pick which side you used. Is this workable or would a set of elements behind the reflector/directors fudge the gain on the front side?
zdcyclops is offline  
Old 2012-08-04, 11:04 PM   #8
300ohm
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Somewhere in Delaware on the flat side
Posts: 7,360
Default

Quote:
to make the antenna bi- directional with UHF on the front side and VHF on the rear
Actually, you can do that now WITHOUT the A-B switch with the original GH with straight NARODs for a range of about 3 vhf-hi channels.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=99907

Notice the channel 7 and 8 gain is stronger on the backside for the 28" straight NAROD.

UHF gain from the front and VHF-hi gain from the rear could be further optimized on it, but there hasn't really been any demand for it.
__________________
My builds/plans (not the latest models) are located here.
300ohm is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:59 PM.

OTA Forum Sponsor


Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.