Rural cell coverage - - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Sasktel

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-07-04, 09:28 PM   #1
ssbtech
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 848
Default Rural cell coverage -

Some family friends have a farm out in south-central Saskatchewan and cannot get coverage on their Rogers phones. They live on the west coast and travel regularly to the farm.

I can't remember if it is Bell or Telus that has an agreement with Sasktel for roaming coverage out in the more rural areas, does anyone here know? They'd like to get phones that will work out at the farm. (Yes there is coverage at the farm, just not their Rogers phones.)

Thanks.
ssbtech is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-07-04, 10:23 PM   #2
TorontoColin
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto, Wind Mobile, Teksavvy Extreme Cable
Posts: 3,641
Default

Bell for sure. Telus probably does as well, by extension.
__________________
Rules of the Forum | DHC Help Desk
DHC now supports Tapatalk for mobile devices!
TorontoColin is online now  
Old 2012-07-05, 01:02 AM   #3
ssbtech
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 848
Default

I thought it might be Bell. Thanks!
ssbtech is offline  
Old 2012-07-06, 04:24 PM   #4
PhotoJim
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Regina, SK, CA
Posts: 620
Default

Both Bell and Telus will use SaskTel's towers.
PhotoJim is offline  
Old 2012-07-06, 04:39 PM   #5
ssbtech
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 848
Default

Thanks. I'm surprised Rogers doesn't have the same sort of agreement.
ssbtech is offline  
Old 2012-07-06, 04:46 PM   #6
Dr.Dave
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 6,730
Default

Usually there's only one roaming agreement. (Bell and Telus have the same network.)

Sasktel users roam on the Bell/Telus network; Bell and Telus users roam on the Sasktel network in Saskatchewan.
Dr.Dave is offline  
Old 2012-07-06, 04:53 PM   #7
ssbtech
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 848
Default

Ah, I see. So basically Belus beat Rogers to the finish line essentially.
ssbtech is offline  
Old 2012-07-06, 06:02 PM   #8
Dr.Dave
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 6,730
Default

Bell, Telus and Sasktel had CDMA, so they weren't compatible with Rogers GSM. They basically just updated their old roaming agreements for HSPA+.
Dr.Dave is offline  
Old 2012-07-06, 06:06 PM   #9
ssbtech
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 848
Default

Good to know, thanks. I'll pass that info along as they're looking at switching plans.

I guess there's not much money to be made from cell users out there so I don't see Rogers covering that area any time soon.
ssbtech is offline  
Old 2012-07-26, 04:04 PM   #10
dawks
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 116
Default

Rogers runs their own network in Saskatchewan (which sucks, 3G coverage only in Regina/Stoon, EDGE everywhere else).

Bell/Telus (pretty much same company as far as mobility is concerned?) were smart enough to just partner with Sasktel rather than putting up their own towers.

Sasktel is a terrible company, but I'm happy with my Bell phone service. Its much better than Rogers (horrible coverage (in SK), horrible speeds (in SK), horrible plans).
dawks is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:58 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.