Motorola DCT 6416 III not powering up - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Cogeco

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-06-20, 09:07 PM   #1
Maximx
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 5
Unhappy Motorola DCT 6416 III not powering up

I have a DCT6416 that I bought used a year ago. Today it died on me.

This morning it was working fine but after I got back from work, it wouldn't power up. Front display is blank and it doesn't do anything when pressing power button. I noticed that when unplugging it and plugging it back, display shows 8888 for few milliseconds and that's it.

Any idea or suggestion are welcomed.

I can open it if needed as it is mine and, of course, out of warranty.

Thanks in advance.
Maximx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-06-21, 12:41 AM   #2
loracweb
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 901
Default

try disconnecting the hard drive as sometimes that can cause issues
loracweb is online now  
Old 2012-06-21, 07:21 AM   #3
Maximx
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 5
Default

will do and advise if it changes anything
Maximx is offline  
Old 2012-06-25, 11:49 PM   #4
Maximx
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 5
Default

I didn't get back yet as the PVR has not been open... I ordered the tool to unscrew the security screws as I didn't want to damage them. More to come this week once opened.
Maximx is offline  
Old 2012-06-29, 05:02 PM   #5
Maximx
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 5
Default

OK, I finally got the tool and was able to open the unit. I did disconnect the hard drive but still no luck. I did verify the power supply and it seems to be good as I have various outputs (2.5V, 3V, 5V, 12V, 30V ,etc...). Of course it was not tested with a load but still seems to be OK. Any other suggestion are more then welcomed.. Anyone has the diagram of both boards??

Power Supply is:
LiteON PB-8600-3
Main board is:
Motorola DCT6412 P3 517928-002 REV. E
Maximx is offline  
Old 2012-06-29, 05:14 PM   #6
loracweb
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 901
Default

It's hard to know really. We have a repair facility in Toronto that can fix most issues. If it can't be reapired the cost is minimal.
loracweb is online now  
Old 2012-06-29, 06:06 PM   #7
Maximx
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 5
Default

How much would it cost for the diagnostic if it is too expensive to repair it??
Maximx is offline  
Old 2012-07-11, 01:57 PM   #8
loracweb
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 901
Default

$15 dollars
loracweb is online now  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:12 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.