Sony TV Rebooting With VIP 2262 PVR And HDMI - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Bell Canada Enterprises (BCE) > Bell Fibe TV

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-06-19, 10:50 AM   #1
scooter62
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 118
Default Sony TV Rebooting With VIP 2262 PVR And HDMI

Have had Fibe TV service for about 1.5 months now; really enjoying the service and no real complaints except this problem which I didn't seem to have at the beginning...started slowly...but seems to be happening more frequently now and and can be a real pain.

Have the VIP 2262 PVR connected to my Sony Z series LCD TV via HDMI cable; will be watching TV and the TV will reboot...and this will often go into a loop doing this.

Only thing I have found that sometimes fixes it is to do a reset on the PVR using the selection in the menu.

Have tried putting the PVR and TV on in different order; doesn't seem to make a difference.

Based on my reading on this forum, I understand that this is probably an HDMI incompatability between the PVR and the TV.

I believe the firmware on my tv is up to date; I had updated it several months ago to the one found on the Sony site; checking recently it still seems to be the current one.

Of course have never seen this issue on my PS3 which is also connected via HDMI. Gonna try swapping the cables to see if it makes any difference; maybe the HDMI cable has gone bad ? I doubt it !

Is my only solution to go to Compenent cables ? Will this make the picture I am seeing inferior ? I believe HDMI is digital and Component is analog.

I would not miss the audio coming via HDMI as I don't use it as I have an optical cable going from the PVR to my Denon...no hdmi capability on the Denon

Thanks.
Scooter62
scooter62 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-06-19, 11:06 AM   #2
nitra
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 453
Default

Component shouldn't be considered inferior to HDMI first and foremost.
HDMI is a very complex protocol, sometimes random things like this happen.
nitra is online now  
Old 2012-06-19, 11:08 AM   #3
scooter62
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 118
Default

Nitra:

Thanks for the response !
Was kind of thinking this on both accounts ;-)


Scooter62
scooter62 is offline  
Old 2012-06-19, 11:35 AM   #4
Dr.Dave
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 6,356
Default

When you say the TV reboots, do you mean the TV powers off and on, or are you talking about the PVR rebooting? Are you using the remote when this happens?

HDMI devices can control each other through CEC, so be sure any features like Bravia Sync are turned off.
Dr.Dave is offline  
Old 2012-06-19, 12:00 PM   #5
scooter62
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 118
Default

Hey Dr. Dave...

The PVR stays on; it is as if someone turns off the tv and then back on, so it is the tv that is cycling.
No, not using the remote at the time it does it.


Thanks.
scooter62 is offline  
Old 2012-06-19, 12:12 PM   #6
rainey
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 323
Default

Funny, this happens to my Sony Bravia KDL series TV. I have had it for a year and it usually happens every 2 months. I do not have Fibe; I have videotron. I believe it is the TV cycling on and off. I spoke to Sony and they said they have no clue.
rainey is offline  
Old 2012-06-19, 12:21 PM   #7
scooter62
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 118
Default

Rainey:

Thanks for the reply. This TV is about 2.5 year old; never seen this problem with it until the Bell Fibe TV PVR was hooked up.

Had my Bell 9200 and 9242 PVR's both hooked up to this TV with the same HDMI cables, and as mentioned previously, a PS3...and never an issue.

Thanks.
scooter62 is offline  
Old 2012-06-19, 12:44 PM   #8
nitra
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 453
Default

I run everything in my setup with HDMI but for Fibe, it's flawless with Component.
nitra is online now  
Old 2012-06-19, 01:13 PM   #9
Dr.Dave
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 6,356
Default

scooter62, did you check if Bravia Sync is turned off?

If that's not it, I would suspect a loose or cracked HDMI cable. Try a different cable and a different HDMI port on the TV, just to eliminate all the possibilities.

Component may be the only solution, which will still give you a very good HD picture.
Dr.Dave is offline  
Old 2012-06-19, 04:49 PM   #10
scooter62
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 118
Default

Nitra/Dr. Dave:

Thank you for the updates.
Was not able to find Bravia Sync; was looking under options.

Thanks.
Scooter62
scooter62 is offline  
Old 2012-06-19, 05:25 PM   #11
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,164
Default

Here's the FAQ on HDMI issues. Item 4 is what we're talking about. It's in your TV options somewhere, or it could be one of the other many issues outlined in the FAQ.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=71112
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2012-06-19, 11:46 PM   #12
Dr.Dave
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 6,356
Default

scooter62, I downloaded a manual for a Sony Z series TV and there's a "SYNC MENU" button on the remote.
Dr.Dave is offline  
Old 2012-06-20, 09:54 AM   #13
scooter62
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 118
Default

Thanks 57 and Dr. Dave !

Found the sync menu button on the remote. Pressed it and said no hdmi devices synced...this is probably because I have removed the hdmi cable connection.

I noticed before that when pressing the power on button on the Fibe remote, the TV would come on as well...is this what we are talking about ? ....this can't be it....just tried the Fibe remote with no hdmi cable....and the PVR and TV still both come on at the same time.


Thanks.
Scooter62
scooter62 is offline  
Old 2012-08-08, 11:37 AM   #14
scooter62
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 118
Default VIP2262 Causing Sony LCD TV To Reboot

Reported this issue previously while using HDMI; switched to component and the problem continues to happen.

It is the TV rebooting, and the PVR stays on.
TV has latest firmware i believe as I downloaded it from the Sony site
and applied it some time ago.

It will work fine for a while and then all of a sudden the TV will start rebooting; once it starts, it seems to continue until turned off and left overnight. Starting it the next day; will run for a while and then it will start again.


1. Is this likely a problem with the VIP2262 or the Sony TV ?

Odd that I did not have this for the 1st week or two, and then it started happening.

2. Is it worth trying switching my two boxes to see if it does it ?
i.e. place the PVR downstairs and try the non pvr STB on the Sony TV
to see if it still reboots.

Thanks.
Scooter62

Last edited by Dr.Dave; 2012-08-08 at 11:52 AM. Reason: Moved to existing thread - no need to start a new thread for the same issue.
scooter62 is offline  
Old 2012-08-08, 01:43 PM   #15
Dr.Dave
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 6,356
Default

If you've disconnected the HDMI from the VIP2262, I can't see any way that that it could cause your TV to reboot over component cables. HDMI is a 2-way digital protocol which has commands to control other devices. Component is just an analog video signal and there's no way for the VIP2262 to control the TV.

It sounds like your TV is at fault. You could try switching the PVR and STB, but I can't see it making any difference.
Dr.Dave is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:38 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.