Ipad 4g question? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > Smartphone and Tablet Computing including Android, Blackberry and iOS devices

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-03-07, 11:09 PM   #1
kevsim
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 155
Default Ipad 4g question?

So i am one of the millions that preordered a new ipad today.

My question is i ordered the 4g 32gig version.. But at the checkout page it didnt ask me which carrier i wanted(roger,bell, or telus) Mylast ipad 3g came with a carrier sim card..am i to assu me we have to add that to the cost as well???

Anybody else take the plunge today as well?

I skipped getting an ipad2 because i was waiting for the retina display. Can't wait!
kevsim is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-03-08, 12:14 AM   #2
NeilN
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: North York
Posts: 1,809
Default

Yeah, picked up a 64GB Black WiFi model (upgrading from an original 32GB iPad). On the rare occasions I'll want net access on the road I'll use my iPhone as a hotspot. Looking forward to the boost in speed and of course, the display.
NeilN is offline  
Old 2012-03-08, 08:36 AM   #3
kevsim
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 155
Default

I got the 4g for the wifi hotspot feature, now i just hope our carriers allow it.
kevsim is offline  
Old 2012-03-08, 08:41 AM   #4
normancw
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 322
Default

I ordered one about 1hr later (16GB 4G) and got a choice of Bell, Rogers, or Telus SIM while I was checking out (free). Already have an original iPad (3G) and my wife has a iPad 2 (4G). Decided to go with 4G for travelling to the US (I get an AT&T SIM with a no contract data plan).
__________________
Sony 60EX645 | Sonos S5 | PS3 | Wii | Apple TV2 | Xbox 360 | 52W3000 | Yamaha RX-V620 | Mirage Omnisat 6
normancw is offline  
Old 2012-03-08, 11:57 AM   #5
jshel101
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,783
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by normancw View Post
my wife has a iPad 2 (4G).
iPad 2 doesn't have 4G, just the new iPad does.

I am very interest in knowing real world speeds of the new iPad on 4G network from Robbellus. Hopefully on March 16th, people will post their data speeds.
jshel101 is offline  
Old 2012-03-08, 06:06 PM   #6
redzone
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,111
Default

by bell/ rogers definition the ipad 2 has "4g"(HSPA+)

if you mean LTE then yah the ipad2 doesnt have it.
redzone is offline  
Old 2012-03-08, 06:52 PM   #7
normancw
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 322
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jshel101 View Post
iPad 2 doesn't have 4G, just the new iPad does.

I am very interest in knowing real world speeds of the new iPad on 4G network from Robbellus. Hopefully on March 16th, people will post their data speeds.
My mistake - I meant to write my wife's iPad 2 is only WiFi. With the iPad 1, I only used 3G data when travelling in the US (with AT&T).

With the iPad 3, when travelling to the US, most of the time I will tether to my unlocked Nexus with a T-Mobile pre-paid SIM (unlimited at $3/day). However, T-Mobile's coverage can be pretty spotty, in which case I will use the iPad with an AT&T data SIM (3GB at $30 for 1 month).
__________________
Sony 60EX645 | Sonos S5 | PS3 | Wii | Apple TV2 | Xbox 360 | 52W3000 | Yamaha RX-V620 | Mirage Omnisat 6
normancw is offline  
Old 2012-03-08, 08:23 PM   #8
TorontoColin
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto, Wind Mobile, Teksavvy Extreme Cable
Posts: 3,603
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by redzone View Post
by bell/ rogers definition the ipad 2 has "4g"(HSPA+)
I believe the iPad 2 is HSPA (without the +), so not 4G even by Bell/Rogers/Telus standards.
__________________
Rules of the Forum | DHC Help Desk
DHC now supports Tapatalk for mobile devices!
TorontoColin is online now  
Old 2012-03-08, 10:13 PM   #9
PhotoJim
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Regina, SK, CA
Posts: 620
Default

You can use your old iPad's SIM... or just buy a new one if you want to set up a new account.
PhotoJim is offline  
Old 2012-03-08, 10:19 PM   #10
kevsim
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 155
Default

So i can use my rogers sim card from my ipad 1 3g pad in the new one?
kevsim is offline  
Old 2012-03-08, 10:28 PM   #11
TorontoColin
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto, Wind Mobile, Teksavvy Extreme Cable
Posts: 3,603
Default

Yup, though you will only have HSPA+ access (no LTE).
__________________
Rules of the Forum | DHC Help Desk
DHC now supports Tapatalk for mobile devices!
TorontoColin is online now  
Old 2012-03-08, 10:58 PM   #12
Wayne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,127
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jshel101 View Post
I am very interest in knowing real world speeds of the new iPad on 4G network from Robbellus. Hopefully on March 16th, people will post their data speeds.
Why would this be any different than other LTE devices that have been out for many months? In fact I bet once the "new" iPad begins to ship in volume it will slow down the LTE networks since so far there are not that many LTE users out there so current users are getting great speeds. Right now they are driving on a brand new highway with very few cars on the road - once the 4G iPad is out the highway will become much more crowded.
Wayne is online now  
Old 2012-03-09, 11:01 AM   #13
Boodaddy
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 569
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevsim View Post
So i am one of the millions that preordered a new ipad today.
Anybody else take the plunge today as well?
I picked up a 64GB Black WiFi model & will sell my 32GB iPad 2. I have no need for the 4G.
Boodaddy is offline  
Old 2012-03-09, 12:39 PM   #14
WarrenC12
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 250
Default

Based on previous iPads, is it safe to assume they are carrier unlocked?
WarrenC12 is offline  
Old 2012-03-09, 02:50 PM   #15
CanucksRock
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 88
Default

Yes its carrier unlocked.

I preorderd the White 64GB 4G. It was a debate on size - this is my first iPad.

I have a 16GB iPhone 4 that I frequently have to remove stuff from to due to space limitations. So I went with 64GB - will use when travelling instead of taking my MacBook. So I want room for transferring Photos, carrying movies, music, etc.

I have no need for 4G in Canada (can tether to my iPhone) - but I travel to the U.S. a few times a year so the the plan is to get an AT&T SIM and prepaid Data Plan for when I'm there. MUCH cheaper than using my iPhone and paying $10 + $1/MB.
CanucksRock is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:34 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.