DSR 530 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Shaw Direct (formerly Star Choice)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-02-18, 10:40 PM   #1
stecle
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 151
Default DSR 530

I have an opportunity to pick up a DSR 530 from a friend who switched to cable. It would be nice having another HD/PVR but I don't want to get stuck with this unit when Shawdirect moves to MPEG4 soon. I would like to get the thoughts of the board.

Thanks

Steve
stecle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-02-19, 08:41 AM   #2
Installer
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 292
Default

there's already channels it's not capable of receiving. if you can pick it up for under $100 and don't mind replacing it this fall go for it. brand new old stock of these is selling for $129.
__________________
"The quality of your question will directly effect the quality of your answer"
Installer is offline  
Old 2012-02-19, 02:36 PM   #3
stecle
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 151
Default

I appreciate your reply and the great info!

Steve
stecle is offline  
Old 2012-02-20, 01:25 PM   #4
kcowan
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: VancouverBC/PV Shaw Direct 505-530-630, Telus Landline, Rogers PayGo, Panasonic Viera 50", HTPC-HDMI
Posts: 369
Default

I bought a second one for $85 last year. I had to reformat the disk to clean it up, and retune Tuner 2 (all from the hidden menu). Now it works like new.
kcowan is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:58 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.