Asus Unveils First Quad-Core Tablet, Eee Pad Transformer Prime - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > Smartphone and Tablet Computing including Android, Blackberry and iOS devices

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-02-20, 06:24 PM   #16
Digital_Frank
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North of the Lake
Posts: 123
Default

Browser just locked up and it re-booted... What a piece of poop!
I will be contacting Asus in the morning....
__________________
Smart shoppers always read the fine print.
Digital_Frank is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-02-20, 06:28 PM   #17
CenturyBreak
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burlington, ON
Posts: 493
Default

First try a better browser. When the first ICS update came out, I was disappointed that the user agent string was no longer available in Settings. I downloaded Dolphin HD and the stock browser now gets about as much use as my iPad 2.
CenturyBreak is offline  
Old 2012-02-20, 07:08 PM   #18
Digital_Frank
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North of the Lake
Posts: 123
Default

Cool, I will try it now... Right now I am forcing myself to leave the iPad alone, it sure seems to run better. This is the third update ina week...
__________________
Smart shoppers always read the fine print.
Digital_Frank is offline  
Old 2012-02-20, 07:57 PM   #19
Digital_Frank
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North of the Lake
Posts: 123
Default

Dolphin is a nice browser... You would think the built in browser would be the best... nope.
__________________
Smart shoppers always read the fine print.
Digital_Frank is offline  
Old 2012-02-20, 09:56 PM   #20
Digital_Frank
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North of the Lake
Posts: 123
Default

Just rebooted using Dolphin... I am very frustrated. I don't think it is the browser. It is a crappy product....
Asus used to used to have good products. I am taking this pos back.
__________________
Smart shoppers always read the fine print.
Digital_Frank is offline  
Old 2012-02-21, 05:08 PM   #21
Danster
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincoln.NB Pop 465,123
Posts: 5,677
Default

I got the update shortly after my post yesterday and like you, I haven't any crashes or reboots. I do have the odd popup telling my if I want to close the browser or wait.
__________________
Home Theatre: Yamaha HTR-6190, Klipsch Speakers, SANYO PLV-Z4, TOSHIBA HDDVD, LG BD555C, Cerwin Vega HTS12 Sub, VIP2300, XBox 360, HTPC.
Danster is offline  
Old 2012-02-21, 06:20 PM   #22
Digital_Frank
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North of the Lake
Posts: 123
Default

Mine rebooted this morning when using Dolphin. Asus will be getting back to me in 48 hours...
__________________
Smart shoppers always read the fine print.
Digital_Frank is offline  
Old 2012-02-22, 10:13 PM   #23
Digital_Frank
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North of the Lake
Posts: 123
Default

Asus has not contacted me in 48 hours. Eee Pad Transformer Prime has rolled over 3 times today, and camera has random lines the preview. When it crashed and rebooted the line a went away.

I hope Asus can help....
__________________
Smart shoppers always read the fine print.
Digital_Frank is offline  
Old 2012-02-22, 10:38 PM   #24
Tikker
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SaskTel
Posts: 972
Default

weird, I've been on mine non-stop for the last week or 2 and I've not had any issues at all (other than self inflicted foolishness)
Tikker is offline  
Old 2012-02-23, 08:21 AM   #25
Digital_Frank
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North of the Lake
Posts: 123
Default

After it rebooting 3 times yesterday, I did a factory restore. Hope this helps...
__________________
Smart shoppers always read the fine print.
Digital_Frank is offline  
Old 2012-02-23, 04:38 PM   #26
Digital_Frank
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North of the Lake
Posts: 123
Default

So far, the factore restore seems to of fixed it. Nothing has rebooted today...
Hope this fixes it..
__________________
Smart shoppers always read the fine print.
Digital_Frank is offline  
Old 2012-02-23, 05:34 PM   #27
Danster
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincoln.NB Pop 465,123
Posts: 5,677
Default

I wonder why some people have more troubles than others. Don't they all have the same hardware/software combo?
__________________
Home Theatre: Yamaha HTR-6190, Klipsch Speakers, SANYO PLV-Z4, TOSHIBA HDDVD, LG BD555C, Cerwin Vega HTS12 Sub, VIP2300, XBox 360, HTPC.
Danster is offline  
Old 2012-02-23, 10:38 PM   #28
Digital_Frank
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North of the Lake
Posts: 123
Default

.15 should be put in a few days to address the rebooting problem.
Mine has been reboot free for 1 day since the factory reset.
Time will tell.
__________________
Smart shoppers always read the fine print.
Digital_Frank is offline  
Old 2012-02-24, 02:50 PM   #29
Digital_Frank
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North of the Lake
Posts: 123
Default

.15 is out...
__________________
Smart shoppers always read the fine print.
Digital_Frank is offline  
Old 2012-02-24, 05:31 PM   #30
Danster
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincoln.NB Pop 465,123
Posts: 5,677
Default

I haven't had any reboots under .14 but the browser still freezes once in a while. Hopefully .15 fixes that as well. At least, ASUS is making firmware updates unlike when I had bought my ASUS A730 pocket pc.
__________________
Home Theatre: Yamaha HTR-6190, Klipsch Speakers, SANYO PLV-Z4, TOSHIBA HDDVD, LG BD555C, Cerwin Vega HTS12 Sub, VIP2300, XBox 360, HTPC.
Danster is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:07 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.