Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 Discussion - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > Smartphone and Tablet Computing including Android, Blackberry and iOS devices

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-04-18, 10:49 AM   #31
rfielder
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 1,671
Default

The Galaxy 10.1 arrived yesterday. Very nice. 16Gb, 4G, but I am not setting up a 4G account just now.

Tried copying an .mkv file to the tablet and playing it, and it did not play well. Then again, it may have still been copying, so will try again later. The playback was not smooth at all, not watchable.

Very nice display. Had to turn off the auto brightness, since it was constantly going dark-bright-dark-bright-etc.

Lots to learn with Android! I now have one Android 2.3 device and one Android 3 device, and they are quite different.
rfielder is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-04-18, 11:29 AM   #32
Classof83
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 914
Default

If you already have a smartphone, you can add the tablet as a data shared device for a relatively low price if you're with Rogers (and maybe others too). That's what I did. I have 6 GB to use across both devices, and the meter shows the overall used between both devices, which is good. I might have to upgrade to 10 GB, as my usage it approaching 6 GB / month, and I'd like to use more!

.MKV files are usually HD quality sources, so they do require a lot of processing power, which the tablet might not have for certain clips. I did get some clips off of YouTube in HD though which I did transfer over to the tablet, and they looked great on there... really stunning quality.
Classof83 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-04-19, 10:07 AM   #33
rfielder
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 1,671
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Classof83 View Post
If you already have a smartphone, you can add the tablet as a data shared device for a relatively low price if you're with Rogers (and maybe others too).
I am with Rogers, and both my partner and I have iPhone 3Gs's. I have tethered a laptop to my phone before through USB. However, my iPhone no longer works on 3G.

Besides, I anticipate using this tablet on Wifi only, at least for now. I was just surprised, since nothing in the Rogers literature for the deal indicates that the tablet would be anything but a basic Wifi model.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Classof83 View Post
.MKV files are usually HD quality sources, so they do require a lot of processing power, which the tablet might not have for certain clips. I did get some clips off of YouTube in HD though which I did transfer over to the tablet, and they looked great on there... really stunning quality.
I have an el-cheapo 7" tablet ($69 new!) that plays all the hidef .mkv files I have put onto it. That tablet has a microSD slot, so it is much easier and faster to get video, photos, etc onto it. If that tablet can play hidef video, I expect the Galaxy 10.1 to do at least as well.....

Been too busy to play with the Galaxy as much as I would like to. We are in Belleville this week for a dance workshop, so it will be Sunday evening at the earliest before I can get back to it, and we will likely be crashing and recoving by then. Saturday is going to be a very, very long day - we both teach at the workshop, plus we are the event DJs, so we are the first to arrive and the last to leave.....
rfielder is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-04-19, 10:13 AM   #34
rfielder
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 1,671
Default Transferring files to the Galaxy 10.1

I must be missing something.

First, there does not appear to be any sort of file manager on the Galaxy Tab 10.1 that can see my network. I had to download a new file manager. Am I missing something with the default applications?

Second, the only way to get files onto the Galaxy is to copy them across the Wifi network?

When plugged into a USB port, my system does not see the tablet at all. I had hoped it would look like an external hard drive so I could copy files to the tablet, but no luck there. Should my system see the tablet when attached via USB cable?

I see there are dongles that will plug into the Galaxy's port, some of which have SD or microSD readers. Would that be a faster way of moving files to the Galaxy?

A bit of background - we use the 7" el-cheapo tablet to watch videos at times. Primarily when at the gym and doing 30 minutes of cardio on a machine. That works well, and the distance is about right for the size of screen. I would like to do the same with the Galaxy 10.1, but it means being able to move files onto the tablet, then removing them and replacing them with new ones as the shows are watched. I have been watching old Top Gear episodes (I have all series from 1 through the current 18), and will be starting to watch Farscape (I have all four seasons plus the Peackeeper Wars finale). My GF is into Dexter and Revenge.
rfielder is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-04-19, 10:24 AM   #35
Gangrel
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 84
Default

AFAIK, there's no file manager you can use on the Tab to see your network, at least by default. I would guess there's something in the market though.

As for the USB thing, I dont have mine in front of me, but i'm pretty sure when you plug it in, you need to go to the settings drawer in the lower right, and you should see something in the notification bar that says "turn on UMTP mode" or something like that. You need to hit that.

Kinda confusing, because my Nexus S pops up a screen autmoatically when I plug it into my computer......... but the Tab doesn't.

Last edited by TorontoColin; 2012-04-19 at 06:20 PM. Reason: removed unnecessary quote
Gangrel is online now   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-04-19, 11:05 AM   #36
rfielder
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 1,671
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gangrel View Post
As for the USB thing, I dont have mine in front of me, but i'm pretty sure when you plug it in, you need to go to the settings drawer in the lower right, and you should see something in the notification bar that says "turn on UMTP mode" or something like that. You need to hit that.
Thanks, I will try that.

Found the Galaxy Tab 10.1 for Dummies book on Kobo, have started reading it. On my 7" tablet....kind of ironic! The 7" tablet is nicer for reading in terms of holding and screen size, but both my iPhone and Galaxy have far superior screens. Such is life......

Did install a file manager that sees the network. I am not sure if it keeps copying files when you put the unit into sleep mode (is that the right term?). One of the folders I need to copy over has many, many smallish files. To be precise, just over 62,000 files in 28 folders occupying about 136Mb. All small text files, this is reference material that I keep at hand.

Just found some neat and inexpensive accessories on dx<dot>com, who I have dealt with in the past. May take a while for them to get here, but the cost savings justify the wait.....
rfielder is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-04-23, 09:36 PM   #37
ljfbl11
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Default How do I get the Rogers live tv app to work?

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have the samsung galaxy 10.1 and I have the whole home pvr nextbox along with internet and phone and I've downloaded the app and I have a My rogers account as well as the 3.2 version yet everytime I try to log in it keeps saying You must be logged in to Your home service which I am though and an error number 101. about a week ago I tried it and it said unable to connect right now. I don't get it has anyone else with the same tablet been able to get it working with just the wifi or do You need a data plan because nowhere does it state that.
ljfbl11 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-04-24, 03:03 AM   #38
TorontoColin
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto, Wind Mobile, Teksavvy Extreme Cable
Posts: 3,648
Default

I believe you need a Rogers data plan, though it might work over Rogers home internet. Do you have Rogers cable internet?
__________________
Rules of the Forum | DHC Help Desk
DHC now supports Tapatalk for mobile devices!
TorontoColin is online now   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-04-24, 10:07 AM   #39
Gangrel
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 84
Default

You do not need a Rogers wireless plan to get Live TV to work. However, you DO need one for the On Demand app.


Makes no sense to me, but that's what it is.......
Gangrel is online now   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-04-24, 10:52 AM   #40
Classof83
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 914
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gangrel View Post
AFAIK, there's no file manager you can use on the Tab to see your network, at least by default. I would guess there's something in the market though.

As for the USB thing, I dont have mine in front of me, but i'm pretty sure when you plug it in, you need to go to the settings drawer in the lower right, and you should see something in the notification bar that says "turn on UMTP mode" or something like that. You need to hit that.

Kinda confusing, because my Nexus S pops up a screen autmoatically when I plug it into my computer......... but the Tab doesn't.
I use Samsung Kies to transfer files back and forth when I connect my tablet to my PC via USB.
Classof83 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-07-28, 09:44 PM   #41
hansk
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 22
Default Questions re: promotional Tab 10.1

I'm thinking of selling the Galaxy Tab 10.1 I received from Telus for a recent signup. (THIS IS NOT A SALES SOLICITATION, so please don't contact me to purchase it!! I know where to sell it.) I have some questions:

- is this device unlocked or is it tied to Telus?
- would the buyer be undertaking any contract obligations?
- does it make any difference if I unseal the box? It's still second hand.

I'll call Telus on Monday with the same questions, but the office is closed right now, and I'm interested in people's experience.
hansk is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-09-06, 01:00 PM   #42
snfraser
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 37
Default ICS

In case anyone is interested, my WiFi only GTab just started downloading Ice Cream Sandwich this morning OTA.
snfraser is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-09-06, 01:29 PM   #43
johnvan
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 119
Default

Thanks, just started the download myself after reading your post.
johnvan is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-09-06, 01:34 PM   #44
rfielder
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 1,671
Default

Been on vacation in the Atlantic provinces, just home late last night. The ICS update notice arrived while I was away, but I was hesitant to let it happen when using some hotel's Wifi.

Download started last night, and install this morning. So far, so good.

One thing - all my apps are not in any order that i can figure out. Definitely not alphabetical order, and no way to change how they are sorted. And I can find no way to control what order the apps are in.

Anyone else run into this?
rfielder is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-09-06, 10:25 PM   #45
snfraser
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 37
Default

It seems you can have 'customizable' or 'alphabetized' app order. From the menu in the apps view you can change 'view type'. My default was 'customized'.
snfraser is offline   Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:42 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.