Ramped up security? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Sasktel

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2011-08-30, 02:36 PM   #1
Blackloz
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Regina,SK & Minot, North Dakota
Posts: 1,161
Question Ramped up security?

I noticed that in the last little while Sasktel has really ramped up there security when you call in(which is a good thing) Anyway I called in today to upgrade my internet and they asked for my dob & first 3 digits of my ssc# which was fine and all I gave my answers and upgraded my internet then after I got off the phone it occured to me that I don't recall ever giving them my ssc# in the first place so how do they know what it is? Unless there running credit checks on me without my knowledge?
Blackloz is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2011-08-30, 02:49 PM   #2
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,701
Default

Your SIN should never be used as a form of identification. You should always refuse. One time someone asks for the first 3 digits, the next time the last 3, etc. I believe only government, banks and employers are allowed to request for obvious reasons (taxes)
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2011-08-30, 03:10 PM   #3
Blackloz
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Regina,SK & Minot, North Dakota
Posts: 1,161
Default

Im just wondering how they knew what the first 3 digets where to compare with what I gave them as the answer?
Blackloz is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2011-09-24, 12:39 AM   #4
wilburyan
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 25
Default

they had your SIN on file because you would have provided it to them for a credit check.
wilburyan is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2011-11-02, 03:21 PM   #5
mike70sk
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 458
Default

do you have cell phone contact them them as well? sometime they use your SIN for credit.
mike70sk is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2011-11-02, 06:36 PM   #6
Blackloz
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Regina,SK & Minot, North Dakota
Posts: 1,161
Default

I do have a cell with them so maybe thats it.
Blackloz is offline   Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:23 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.