Forget 25, 50, or 170mbps, try 1 Gb internet! - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Digital Industry Forums > Internet, Landline and Wireless Phone

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2010-12-05, 08:21 PM   #1
Fry1989
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 543
Talking Forget 25, 50, or 170mbps, try 1 Gb internet!

The max speeds above are for Bell, Rogers, and BellAliant respectively, but BT Group in the UK is now testing 1 Gb internet

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-11911478

Your thoughts?
Fry1989 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2010-12-05, 08:49 PM   #2
NeilN
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: North York
Posts: 1,834
Default

Use up your monthly bandwidth allowance in less than 15 minutes. Wheee!
NeilN is online now  
Old 2010-12-05, 09:57 PM   #3
Steve604
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Maple Ridge BC
Posts: 950
Default

I talked to shaw when I upgraded to warp, they are currently testing 1 GB,
__________________
Media Room: Panasonic 65", 7.1 Klipsch, Onkyo TX-NR626, Gateway, HDPVR, Xbox One/360, PS3, 42" Samsung, SNES/N64/PS2
Steve604 is offline  
Old 2010-12-06, 02:13 PM   #4
Mozza
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 1,083
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve604 View Post
I talked to shaw when I upgraded to warp, they are currently testing 1 GB,
... but you know Canadian providers will slap the cap on FAST.

I'm so glad my ISP doesn't have/enforce their caps... yet. I'd take slower speed for no ceiling, to be honest.
Mozza is online now  
Old 2010-12-06, 02:45 PM   #5
lex_rx
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Stone's throw from the Parliament
Posts: 219
Default

I believe Soho West houses in Kanata are equipped with FTTH. Just not sure what speeds they're getting.
lex_rx is offline  
Old 2010-12-06, 04:33 PM   #6
Fry1989
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 543
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NeilN View Post
Use up your monthly bandwidth allowance in less than 15 minutes. Wheee!
HA!

IDK if they have Caps in the UK, they don't in the US, yet. Personally, IDK why you'd need net THAT fast. As for Shaw, that's interesting, if true.
Fry1989 is offline  
Old 2010-12-07, 12:00 AM   #7
bigoranget
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 3,588
Default

That's not true, many ISP's in the US have caps, they are just A LOT more reasonable then in Canada. For example I have friends that have caps on Comcast. I believe they are at least 250GB+ a month though.

Here the ISP's design their packages to maximize the amount of people that will go over and scare them into purchasing "assurance" policies (aka extra bandwidth). And the best part is, many people fall for it.
bigoranget is online now  
Old 2010-12-07, 12:21 AM   #8
Steve604
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Maple Ridge BC
Posts: 950
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mozza View Post
... but you know Canadian providers will slap the cap on FAST.

I'm so glad my ISP doesn't have/enforce their caps... yet. I'd take slower speed for no ceiling, to be honest.
I've never had my cap enforced,
I often double my cap, shaw is pretty lenient
__________________
Media Room: Panasonic 65", 7.1 Klipsch, Onkyo TX-NR626, Gateway, HDPVR, Xbox One/360, PS3, 42" Samsung, SNES/N64/PS2
Steve604 is offline  
Old 2010-12-07, 09:29 AM   #9
Kramer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: N.B.
Posts: 189
Default

How much does bandwidth cost for ISPs these days? Pennies on the dollar? Whatever, it isn't much and these caps have turned into cash cows for them. No way they ever do away with them. I'm sure if they thought of it back then, they would have put caps on dial-up services.
Kramer is offline  
Old 2010-12-07, 10:36 AM   #10
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Default

No reason why FibreOP couldn't eventually deliver those types of speeds.
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. My comments and opinions are my own and not those of the current site owners.
I have disabled private messaging so for personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website or via twitter.
hugh is offline  
Old 2010-12-07, 12:13 PM   #11
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 23,972
Default Full 1 Gbps likely not possible with home gear yet

1Gbps bandwidth would only be good if your home devices could actually use it. Don't mistake a Gigabit ethernet device for one capable of through-putting 1Gbps (the ethernet 1000TX/SX spec limits it to between 60-80% of that at the best of times).

So, until the new crop of 10Gbps ethernet devices hit the market and you upgrade all your NICs, routers, etc. you need to calculate whether 600-800Mbps is even possible with your home gear, let alone whether it is worth the money for such a plan. A true networking geek would bond two Gigabit ethernet devices to use up such a connection's full speed potential.

Is it worth it today? Maybe so, most likely not. In the future? Sign me up!!!
stampeder is offline  
Old 2010-12-07, 02:36 PM   #12
Fry1989
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 543
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve604 View Post
I've never had my cap enforced,
I often double my cap, shaw is pretty lenient
Looks like I may be switching to Shaw then
Fry1989 is offline  
Old 2010-12-07, 02:41 PM   #13
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Default

FWIW, Shaw is clamping down. If you wish to discuss see this thread

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=131223
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. My comments and opinions are my own and not those of the current site owners.
I have disabled private messaging so for personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website or via twitter.
hugh is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:15 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.