Thunder Bay Tel introducing TV October 2010 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Digital Industry Forums > Television Industry / Channels and Providers

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2010-08-27, 03:25 PM   #1
Thunder
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 255
Default Thunder Bay Tel introducing TV October 2010

I spoke to the TBAY TEL folks here in Thunder Bay and they are getting ready to roll out their Cable TV which will have HDTV included apparently. My question for those of you in other parts of the country is, how did this affect your bills and channel selection with Shaw? Did things improve a fair amount -- or at all?
Thunder is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2010-08-27, 10:44 PM   #2
Jetranger
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs,ShawGateway&6Portals DCX3400&3200, 5ShawExpanders:3WD,Seagate,iOmega Harmony One
Posts: 3,558
Default

I know there are some smokin' deals from Shaw in Manitoba because of MTS but, here in 'Shawville' (Calgary), the addition of Telus TV didn't seem to make much of a difference to available channels. I will say it does seem to have 'smartened up' the Customer Service Reps when you ask if they have any 'loyalty offers' available. Some of the PVR offers seem to be better now too but these can still be on an individual case by case basis it seems. JMO
__________________
If you want more then ask for it rather than going hungry. If you want more than I have then you should ask. They're going to park their car over there.
Jetranger is offline  
Old 2010-08-28, 03:00 AM   #3
jb_008
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sault Ste. Marie, On
Posts: 111
Default

Do you know how they will be providing it? Like will they be reselling Shaw or will they be running their own lines. Also will they be doing coax or will they be smart and go fibre?
jb_008 is offline  
Old 2010-08-28, 08:20 AM   #4
DSgamby
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 4,393
Default

This is TBaytel. I doubt it will be fibre.

On their wireless. Only the Blackerries can go online. All regular cell phones are calls and text only.
DSgamby is online now  
Old 2010-08-28, 10:32 AM   #5
Thunder
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 255
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jb_008 View Post
Do you know how they will be providing it? Like will they be reselling Shaw or will they be running their own lines. Also will they be doing coax or will they be smart and go fibre?
Just to answer the first part of the question. TBAY TEl has their own lines. I guess the question will be the same as Shaw, what can the lines handle and what will it do to the rest of the servives.
Thunder is offline  
Old 2010-08-28, 12:01 PM   #6
Zod
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 715
Default

We have telus tv here in Edmonton, and I don't think it causes shaw to blink. Prices still keep going up.

That being said, I've heard rumors that shaw will cut you a deal if you call and saying you're thinking of leaving for the competition.
Zod is offline  
Old 2010-11-06, 08:03 PM   #7
cyclist44
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 706
Post

Its now November is tbaytel still looking at lauching cable service. I am looking for options. I have been with Bell TV since Oct 31,2003. Before that I was a long time Shaw Cable subscriber. Right now I am looking for options.
cyclist44 is offline  
Old 2010-11-06, 09:58 PM   #8
cyclist44
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 706
Post

It funny that Zap It shows a listing for Tbaytel Digital Cable even though it doesn't exist yet.

Here is the link http://tvlistings.zap2it.com/tvlisti...upId=0005554:X

It looks a lot like Bell TV's listings except for the US east Networks coming from Buffalo instead of Boston
cyclist44 is offline  
Old 2010-11-10, 09:59 AM   #9
Dr.Dave
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 6,487
Default

According to a cartt.ca article, TbayTel is currently in a soft launch of its Microsoft Mediaroom TV service, with a commercial launch planned in November to 60% of its market in Thunder Bay. They plan to cover 82% of the Thunder Bay market by the end 2012, representing approximately 7400 homes passed. They are aiming for an eventual 25% TV market share. TbayTel is also experimenting with FTTH technology to help increase its TV footprint.

They will offer HD, whole home PVR and VOD services including free local VOD content, such as news, sports and community events, as well as a “live interactive dashboard” which includes the local weather, movie listings, and lottery numbers.

My suggestion is that if you really want the service now, you can call and ask if it's available to your location yet.
Dr.Dave is offline  
Old 2010-11-10, 04:01 PM   #10
cyclist44
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 706
Post

I spoke to somebody at tbaytel on monday November 8th and they said that digital cable is very close to launching. She told me that it will be launched before the end of the year.
cyclist44 is offline  
Old 2010-11-22, 07:49 PM   #11
cyclist44
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 706
Post

Apparently Tbaytel Digital TV has been Launched. Does anybody out there have it. Just wondering how it is. Anybody care to coment?
cyclist44 is offline  
Old 2010-11-22, 08:00 PM   #12
DSgamby
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 4,393
Default

http://tbaytel.net/residential/digitaltv/

http://tbaytel.net/residential/digitaltv/programming/

The following links are to pic files that
Basic Programming
http://tbaytel.net/images/residentia...rogramming.jpg

Digital Theme Packs
http://tbaytel.net/images/residentia...heme_packs.jpg

HD Theme Packs
http://tbaytel.net/images/residentia...heme_packs.jpg

Premium Movie Packs
http://tbaytel.net/images/residentia...ovie_packs.jpg

Specialty Channels
http://tbaytel.net/images/residentia...ty_choices.jpg

Download Channel Lineup & Descriptions (PDF file)
http://tbaytel.net/media/digitaltv/D...l%20Lineup.pdf

No RDS or NHL CI.

TBaytel has Whole Home PVR
Quote:
Whole Home PVR

A Personal Video Recorder (PVR) gives you the ability to record and control live TV. Your recordings are stored on your Master Set Top Box and can be shared with other TVs in your home.

* Whole Home Access – set or view recordings from any connected TV in the home
* Record Live TV – record up to four programs at once
* Control Live TV– pause, rewind or fast forward what you’re watching
* Remote PVR – set recordings from the Tbaytel website (smartphones included)

:
Whole Home Access

Whole Home Access features extend PVR capabilities from one TV to all the TVs in your home so you can watch your favourite shows anywhere. Now you can begin watching a movie in your living room, continue viewing it in the kitchen, and watch the end of it from the comfort of your den. You can even watch different recorded shows in different rooms of your house, so there’s no more fighting over the remote control; everybody can watch what they want, when and where they want. It’s the ultimate in choice and control.
Remote PVR

Quote:
No more rushing home to set your PVR recordings. With Remote PVR, you can program your PVR from your PC (connected to the Internet) or mobile phone to record a program or series. So whether you’re at home or away, you won’t miss a thing.
http://tbaytel.net/residential/digit...bout/pvr.shtml
DSgamby is online now  
Old 2010-11-24, 03:15 PM   #13
cyclist44
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 706
Question

Does anybody know how signal is being delivered? Is it phone lines, coax cable or fibre optics?
cyclist44 is offline  
Old 2010-11-24, 04:44 PM   #14
Dr.Dave
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 6,487
Default More Links

Digital TV Brochure
http://tbaytel.net/media/digitaltv/D...20Brochure.pdf

Digital TV User Guide
http://tbaytel.net/residential/digit...serguide.shtml

I haven't seen anything mentioned about FTTH so I assume it's Fibre to the Node (FTTN), similar to MTS in Winnipeg or Bell Fibe TV.
Dr.Dave is offline  
Old 2010-12-01, 09:10 PM   #15
cyclist44
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 706
Post

Has anybody out there had this service installed yet? Just wondering what the installer are actually doing.
cyclist44 is offline  
Reply

Tags
tbaytel, thunder bay

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:16 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.