Shaw Direct HDPVR 630 Owners Discussion thread for owners ONLY! - Page 102 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Shaw Direct (formerly Star Choice)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-04-26, 01:53 PM   #1516
cyberham
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 788
Default

If all these failures of the 630 are accurate, then the 630 is unprecedented in modern electronics for its poor quality. For products of normal quality, extended warranties are not necessary. This is why the stores push them so hard: they are generally pure profit.
__________________
Openbox S9, Digiwave 36x39", Avenger PLL321S-2, SG-2100 motor, 8' mini-tower, StarChoice 40x44", DGL900D LNB, microHD
cyberham is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-04-28, 10:32 AM   #1517
Kartan
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 75
Default

You guys realize that the multiple receiver fee is purely for having more than one unit on your account right? The fee is not for extended warranty, however, Shaw provides a limited warranty on all units on the account if that account has the fee or is on an account that has the fee included.
Kartan is offline  
Old 2012-04-28, 10:56 AM   #1518
GaryE
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: OTTAWA
Posts: 1,565
Default

So I only have one receiver and get charged a $2.49/month fee. Why? I thought it was an extended warranty after I started developing problems with my old 530. Had to switch that thing out about 4 times before getting the 630. This fee started showing up after about the 2nd exchange.
__________________
~Gary
Rogers SA8300 HD/PVR w/ 1TB eHDD | Sharp Aquos 46" 120Hz LCD TV
GaryE is offline  
Old 2012-04-28, 12:44 PM   #1519
gzink
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: BC Interior
Posts: 1,143
Default

I will look it up again but pretty sure part of the fee description is a 'lifetime warranty' on all receivers. Has been beneficial to me.
gzink is online now  
Old 2012-04-28, 01:39 PM   #1520
cyberham
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 788
Default Multi-receiver Fee

Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryE View Post
So I only have one receiver and get charged a $2.49/month fee...This fee started showing up after about the 2nd exchange.
The multi-receiver fee is about $5.99/month, I believe. Read Post #1513. If it is truly an incorrectly charged multi-receiver fee, you should get a refund of all those multi-receiver fees paid, plus a month of free service to apologize for the mistake. This is what they did for me.
__________________
Openbox S9, Digiwave 36x39", Avenger PLL321S-2, SG-2100 motor, 8' mini-tower, StarChoice 40x44", DGL900D LNB, microHD
cyberham is offline  
Old 2012-05-10, 02:26 PM   #1521
meandher57
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Kingston, Ontario
Posts: 122
Default

Any chance the extra fee on your bill is the 1.5 percent Local Program Fund? Just asking...
meandher57 is offline  
Old 2012-05-10, 03:51 PM   #1522
gzink
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: BC Interior
Posts: 1,143
Default

There is a single receiver warranty fee.
As I understand it.
gzink is online now  
Old 2012-05-10, 06:11 PM   #1523
TheHans
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: The Okanagan, B.C.
Posts: 421
Default

I've also heard that there is a single warranty fee. My theory would be that when you had to get replacements, they kind of back-dated the warranty and began charging you. I'm thinking it's this as I've heard of this in the past on a forum here somewhere. Specifically that you can back-date the warranty if you need a replacement, but aren't under warranty at that time. I'm presuming this would only be the case for people without multiple receivers, as in that case you have no choice but to pay the multi-receiver charge that gives you a warranty automatically.
TheHans is offline  
Old 2012-05-10, 07:14 PM   #1524
sgldda
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
Default Something different

Just to break this depressing thread up a bit I thought I'd drop in with my huge disappointment with PVRs in general. Why don't these sophisticated units have PiP capability?! With 2 SAT rcvrs and an HDD to source from, it seems rather sad they can't display more than a single video frame at a time.

Duh!

sgldda is offline  
Old 2012-05-10, 10:17 PM   #1525
mellaby
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Calgary/Mesa
Posts: 326
Default

The Hans, I have the single receiver fee(2.49 per month). It's worth every cent ( I have a 630 PVR which has been replaced twice).
mellaby is offline  
Old 2012-05-11, 08:27 AM   #1526
ScaryBob
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,133
Default

Quote:
Why don't these sophisticated units have PiP capability?!
The Bell 9200 does. It was discontinued about 2 years ago. The majority of current BDU PVRs appear to be designed to cut costs, not provide features. That includes the HDPVR 630.
__________________
At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline  
Old 2012-05-11, 03:24 PM   #1527
TheHans
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: The Okanagan, B.C.
Posts: 421
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mellaby View Post
The Hans, I have the single receiver fee(2.49 per month). It's worth every cent ( I have a 630 PVR which has been replaced twice).
Mellaby, I couldn't agree more! We have multiple receivers, so we get charged anyway. But even if we didn't, after all the replacements we've had I think it would be foolish not to pay this charge. It's a shame that the 630s act up so much that you need the warranty, but it's my "deal with the devil" because I love the 630 despite its quirks.
TheHans is offline  
Old 2012-05-12, 08:26 AM   #1528
d_source
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 578
Default

I've had 4 rcvrs for a couple almost 3yrs and have been paying the 5.99 fee and have never had to exchange any of my 200/500 and now 600 series rcvrs. So for me it's been a waste. I understand why they do it (to protect their own interests) but by the time i'll need to use warranty, i'll already have paid off a new unit.

I love my 630s as well. WAY more user friendly that the new Rogers PVR. That thing is a piece of garbage compared to the 630. does less, just has more capacity. People complain that the 630 only came with 320GB storage when it came out. Well the Rogers box only came out with 500GB when it came out 2 yrs later. Again, thankful i'm with Shaw vs Robbers.
d_source is offline  
Old 2012-05-12, 02:24 PM   #1529
mellaby
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Calgary/Mesa
Posts: 326
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheHans View Post
Mellaby, I couldn't agree more! We have multiple receivers, so we get charged anyway. But even if we didn't, after all the replacements we've had I think it would be foolish not to pay this charge. It's a shame that the 630s act up so much that you need the warranty, but it's my "deal with the devil" because I love the 630 despite its quirks.
Ya, I just can't watch TV without a PVR (even with it's quirks).
mellaby is offline  
Old 2012-05-18, 07:39 PM   #1530
itpro007ca
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hastings,ON,Canada
Posts: 118
Default Recent pvr630 purchase -working good

I started with Shaw Direct(then Star Choice)back in 2002,went from the dsr401,to 2 dsr505s(only minor problems: had to swap out a corrupt 401[no signal]one time,1st 505-went through 3,1st wouldn't take new guide,then the 2nd had a problem,but the 3rd has been great for yrs!)and now a pvr630.

So far,after just over a week,no problems.

The only minor issue is that I've had to force 480i override in the 630's menu,as the video kept getting compressed horizontally on SD channels,and then bumping my Sony Bravia KDL46SL140 into 'widescreen full' mode,which forced 480i ota to go widescreen.

Other than that,I like it so far.
itpro007ca is offline  
Reply

Tags
failure, favourites, hard drive, hdpvr630, reboot, shaw direct

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:31 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.