Web/App Scheduling (Anyplace Home Edition) Please read post 1. - Page 4 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Rogers Communications > Rogers Cable TV: HD PVR Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2011-05-17, 01:14 AM   #46
ksargent
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 119
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sesinger View Post
Go the Quick Start menu, select Self Service, and then Name My Box
Yes, this is correct; I had already selected "Living Room" as my PVR name when that choice on the QSG first became available a few months back, and when I logged into the Remote TV Manager, that is indeed what it was named.
ksargent is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2011-05-17, 09:36 AM   #47
whitbyterry
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Whitby, Ontario (Rogers Cable), LG 42PC3D, 8642HD
Posts: 526
Default

I think there is a bug with shows that you set to record always and that are not scheduled. My wife has some of those in the list and I noticed oddball programs listed instead. Perhaps they are programs airing at the time her shows would normally record. That could cause some problems for people who decide to delete those programs and then miss shows.
whitbyterry is online now  
Old 2011-05-17, 09:55 AM   #48
David Susilo
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: in my home theatre
Posts: 3,540
Default

In terms of actual deletion of the programs on each individual PVR, the programs are actually deleted. However, everytime I reopened the iTouch app, the deleted programs re-appeared. Anything I can do to stop this from occuring?
__________________
THX, ISF, Control4 Certified Professional; CEDIA Certified Instructor; CEDIA Certified Designer
David Susilo is offline  
Old 2011-05-17, 09:57 AM   #49
cybercat
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nepean (Tanglewood), ON, Canada
Posts: 165
Default

Sounds like the devices are not "synching up" quite right....

- Bill H.
cybercat is offline  
Old 2011-05-17, 09:59 AM   #50
David Susilo
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: in my home theatre
Posts: 3,540
Default

Any way I can reset this?
__________________
THX, ISF, Control4 Certified Professional; CEDIA Certified Instructor; CEDIA Certified Designer
David Susilo is offline  
Old 2011-05-17, 02:37 PM   #51
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,410
Default

In the FAQs it talks about the unit taking up to 24-48 hours to "synch" if I recally correctly.

http://www.rogersphonemanager.com/Di....php?id=116-5B Items 6, 7.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2011-05-17, 03:06 PM   #52
David Susilo
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: in my home theatre
Posts: 3,540
Default

Thanks for the link, 57.

Yikes, taking 24-48 hours to sync... what's the point of having it then? LOL! Within 48 hours I can just go home and delete whatever needed deletion and got instant confirmation from the individual boxes.
David Susilo is offline  
Old 2011-05-17, 03:42 PM   #53
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,410
Default

Well it is "up to". Perhaps that's why it's unavailable between 2AM-6AM per the FAQ - synching??? So, if you make the change at 7AM, you need to wait until 7AM then next day - 24 hours later. If you make the change at 1AM, perhaps it would be visible at 7AM - 6 hours later... This is speculation on my part.

I'm sure the main purpose is to schedule a single recording that you find out about while travelling, or need to schedule because you're travelling more than 14 days (manual recording limit). Beyond that, I'm sure it's a lot easier to do your scheduling/deleting at home (excepting multiple deletions) Note that the "restrictions" you can place on certain channels, programming, etc are not available via the Remote TV manager - they warn people not to give "others" (children I assume) the rights to your remote manager functionality.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2011-05-17, 11:17 PM   #54
NeilN
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: North York
Posts: 1,827
Default

Re: synching - I think this only occurs when the PVR falls off the network for some reason. I scheduled a 2:35 a.m. recording at 12:30 a.m. this morning and it recorded fine.
NeilN is offline  
Old 2011-05-18, 07:52 AM   #55
timberland29
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 81
Default Error message

Any one else getting this error message:

Unable to retrieve account information

When logging into the ios app? Thanks in advance.
timberland29 is offline  
Old 2011-05-18, 07:54 AM   #56
David Susilo
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: in my home theatre
Posts: 3,540
Default

Experiencing the exact same thing at the moment.

e
David Susilo is offline  
Old 2011-05-18, 08:34 AM   #57
JamesK
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 6,139
Default

I sent an email to Rogers about this and received this reply:

Quote:
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us, we appreciate your use of
online customer service.

Please be advised that Rogers had previously announced that Remote TV
Manager would be available on April 17 but the launch date has been
postponed.

Please note that Remote TV Manager is now available for iPhone users.
Remote TV Manager allows you to manage your HD PVR remotely through an
iPhone mobile application.

For any further questions or concerns, please feel free to respond to
this email, contact our Customer Care department by phone at
1-888-764-3771 from 6AM-2AM(EST) 7 days a week or contact our Live
Support group by clicking the link provided below as they are available
to serve you from 8am-Midnight(EST), 7 days a week.
__________________
But what is the speed of dark?
JamesK is online now  
Old 2011-05-18, 09:55 AM   #58
Streets
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
Default 8642 PVR not supported yet

I got the same thing, unable to retrieve account info using the iPhone app. I have an 8642, which is not supported yet, so this is probably the reason. Also, in My Rogers under Cable Television, the Remote TV Manager option is not showing, again probably for the same reason.
Streets is offline  
Old 2011-05-18, 03:02 PM   #59
David Susilo
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: in my home theatre
Posts: 3,540
Default

it works again as of (around) 10am today.
David Susilo is offline  
Old 2011-05-19, 01:05 PM   #60
awhite2600
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: London, ON (Rogers)
Posts: 26
Default

Both the Rogers FAQ and the Apple app store say that you need iOS 4+ in order to use the app. I have a 1st Gen iPod Touch. The maximum supported iOS version is 3.1.3 for this device. Just for kicks I decided to install the app to see if it would work...and it does. I am able to see my PVR, delete recordings, search the schedule - everything works.

I suppose there is a chance that Rogers will upgrade the app in the future and iOS 4 will be required. But for now all is good.
awhite2600 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:26 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.