Rogers 8642 & 9865 HD PVR External SATA Drive discussion - See Post 1 First - Page 9 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Rogers Communications > Rogers Cable TV: HD PVR Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-02-22, 06:45 AM   #121
Cybr9
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11
Default

Hey guys I'm thinking of building an extender as instructed in this thread, but then when I consider the costs of buying one vs making one, i don't think it's worth it.

The Rogers 1000mb extender currently sells for $179.99; http://www.rogers.com/web/content/pe.../HDPVRextender ;you do not need to worry about compatability, buying extra cables, warranty, etc..

To make one, a 1tb WD caviar black currently sells for 139.99 and a decent enclosure 39.99 for a total of $179.98, and one runs the risk of compatibility problems, buying extra cables, etc., so it does not seem it's worth it to go to the extra trouble of building one versus buying.

Is there other advantages of building vs buying?
Cybr9 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-02-22, 09:46 AM   #122
whitbyterry
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Whitby, Ontario (Rogers Cable), LG 42PC3D, 8642HD
Posts: 526
Default

At that price, it does not make sense unless you are a real techie. The price has dropped quite a bit if it is that cheap now.
whitbyterry is online now  
Old 2012-02-22, 10:06 AM   #123
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,546
Default

The price of HDDs has gone up a lot in recent months - see link below. They used to be a lot less expensive and I believe Rogers used to be more, so there used to be a significant difference. If there is now little/no difference, sure go for the Rogers.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=147884
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2012-02-22, 10:55 AM   #124
alebowgm
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,527
Default

Although it is worth noting that some people (cant remember if it was the 8300 thread or the 8642 thread) have said they have ran into compatibility problems with the Rogers drives in the past...
__________________
CM4228, CM4220HD, Samsung LNT3242H, AccessHD DTA1080D, RCA DTA800, CM7775, Samsung DTB-H260F, Samsung LN40B750
alebowgm is offline  
Old 2012-02-26, 08:29 AM   #125
robinwood
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 317
Default my externals that work

I have been running my old blue vantec with i gig wd black drive on the 8642 for about a year since the catastrophe with the 8300 and another iomega extender on the a 2nd 8642 which seem to be fine as well - no new guide yet on mine in mississauga hope we do not have to start from scratch again
__________________
robinc-pn58c6400 strdn1030,sony ps3 ,energy spkrs,,1 x 8642 +ext,1x9865 harmony one location miss
robinwood is offline  
Old 2012-02-26, 05:29 PM   #126
wozman
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London Ontario, Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020FD, Panasonic TC-P55ST60, Pioneer VSX-1326-k, HTPC, PS3, PS4
Posts: 107
Default

Coming from an old 8300 to an 8642, my 8300 used to have the 1tb extender attached to it but it went belly up October 2010, with Rogers firmware upgrades etc. I basically stopped using it, finally got my hands on a new 8642 and hope for better success.

What steps do I follow when trying to connect my Rogers extender to the 8642? I followed the same steps as the diagram indicated to do for the 8300, however when I turned on the 8642 there was no option to do a "format" was it done behind the scenes? Usually there would be a display telling u to press "a" button and wait 5mins etc.

How do I know if it is connected properly? Since my 8642 PVR internal hard drive was empty I can't really tell,

Any info greatly appreciated

Last edited by 57; 2012-02-26 at 05:41 PM. Reason: Language
wozman is offline  
Old 2012-03-01, 04:50 PM   #127
wozman
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London Ontario, Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020FD, Panasonic TC-P55ST60, Pioneer VSX-1326-k, HTPC, PS3, PS4
Posts: 107
Default 8642 HDPVR not reporting % space properly

I own a new 8642 HD PVR with a Rogers (1TB Seagate) External PVR Extender. I connected the device the other day (noticed that the 8642 still had the old firmware) recognized that the drive was there, asked to format it....which I did. Mind you there are no recordings on my "new PVR" from Rogers.

The other day I noticed that I was introduced to the new Firmware (getting the 8642 ready for the Home NextBox2.0 I believe) I am not that much a fan of this so far, but it is what it is.....

One thing that I have noticed, is when I am recording HD programing, my percentage bar of space used, is treating it as a 160GB drive, not as a 1TB plus drive....which I find really odd, is this just a quirk or bug, or has it not registered my PVR Extender when the stupid firmware recently got upgraded.

I am at a lost of words and have had it up to here regarding all of this, It all started with my 8300 (which I still own) when Rogers updated the firmware on them back in 2010, and my PVR Extender was useless with all the recordings being un-usable weekly, it was like clock work. I figured if I got the new 8642 (seemed like there was people with better success here on the message boards with that model) that my issues would go away.....

And now I got this problem, with "PVR not reporting % space properly"

A) should I unplug the Extender, and record a few shows on the PVR first, and get it up to say 30%-50% used then try to connect the PVR Extender?
B) is everything fine, and that its a "bug" with the new firmware that will self correct down the road.

I find it pointless to call Rogers Tech. cause they don't know a thing about there products compared to the people here on this fine forum of Digital Home.

Can anyone advise me what to do next?

Thanks

Last edited by 57; 2012-03-01 at 05:36 PM. Reason: Moved to existing thread.
wozman is offline  
Old 2012-03-01, 05:35 PM   #128
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,546
Default

As discussed in post 1 of this thread, the 8642 often doesn't calculate proper % when not much is recorded. Do a reboot. Then set the unit to record about 10 hours of HD. The space should then make sense. If it were only using the iHDD, then it'd be about 30-50% full, if it's using both, it'd be roughly 7% full...

The drives may also show somewhere in the diagnostics, although they are different with the new firmware.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2012-03-01, 11:21 PM   #129
wozman
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London Ontario, Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020FD, Panasonic TC-P55ST60, Pioneer VSX-1326-k, HTPC, PS3, PS4
Posts: 107
Default

I will give it a go, basically your saying record away, and hope by the time I get 10hours of recording in, it "self corrects" and gets down to 7%-10% that would make sense.

So I take it, its a firmware issue......with the new layout, hopefully thats all it is.

I will leave the External Extender connected and see what happens, and report back.

Thanks 57
wozman is offline  
Old 2012-03-08, 07:37 PM   #130
viper359
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 461
Default

When I first got the new firmware, I had the same issue, cold reboot didn't fix it, but, after a couple days of recording, it just self adjusted, and everything is reporting as normal.

Seems to just work itself out.
__________________
Elite Kuro|Oppo BDP-80|Denon 890|Xbox 360|Paradigm Mon7's| Polk PSW 125 Sub
viper359 is offline  
Old 2012-03-09, 12:01 AM   #131
wozman
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London Ontario, Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020FD, Panasonic TC-P55ST60, Pioneer VSX-1326-k, HTPC, PS3, PS4
Posts: 107
Default

Thanks 57, (and Viper)

I got my recordings up to 70% full, and rebooted the night before, next day, I turned on the TV, and it detected the External drive, and dropped my recordings all the way down to 8% full.....

Thanks all.....Hope it all holds up now, and doesn't cause problems like the 8300 did 2 years ago, when they updated the firmware on them.
wozman is offline  
Old 2012-03-09, 06:46 PM   #132
viper359
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 461
Default

wozman:

No problem. I have only read maybe one person who stated they lost their recordings with the firmware update. Everyone else seems to have had no issue. Like you, I switched from the 8300 because of the constant lost recordings. I don't work the typical 9-5 work week, and as such, can go 8 days without viewing tv, so I need the stuff I record to be there when I finally finish my work week.

Since upgrading to this PVR, its been rock solid. Never lost any recordings, even with a power failure a few times.
__________________
Elite Kuro|Oppo BDP-80|Denon 890|Xbox 360|Paradigm Mon7's| Polk PSW 125 Sub
viper359 is offline  
Old 2012-03-16, 10:33 AM   #133
Icebound
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13
Default Undeclaring defeat!!

Back on page 7 of this thread, I declared defeat.... but it is now a few weeks later and we rise from the ashes.

I took my Macally enclosure and removed the electronics.... which contains the power and SATA interface to the drive as outputs.... and has your choice of eSATA, USB, and Firewire as inputs (plus the power input, of course). (Using the Macally eSata interface from the 8642 did not work.)

I found an eSata to SATA adapter cable at Canada Computers and that is now connected DIRECT from the 8642 (eSata) to the WD1001FALS drive (SATA), bypassing the Macally electronics.

Same place, I found a short sata power extension cord.... (a "two-from-one" splitter actually... I just use the one branch). This is used to connect the SATA power output from the electronics (now external to the enclosure) to the drive, to give it power. Because the "extension cord" expects to be plugged into another plug and not a drive.... it has a couple of plastic "pins" on either side intended to clip onto the the other plug. The plastic pin has to be carefully cut off on one side, so that it will not interfere with the fit into the drive.


Works like a charm.
The drive itself remains in the enclosure, and a little home-made case from some old plexiglass houses the external electronics. Fortunately, the plug from the power button on the front of the Macally case has enough extra length to reach the external electronics, so that works, too.

And the best news is that I did not destroy the enclosure. If I ever want to use it as intended again, I just need to re-install the electronics back into the case (4 screws), and we are back in business.

Only thing is to make sure not to lose the back trim-plate in the meantime, which is now redundant. This back-plate also held the "inner" rail of the enclosure from sliding out of the "outer" shell... so I had to fashion two small bars to do the same thing.... This leaves the back of the enclosure completely "open" for the eSata-to-SATA cable, plus the wiring from the external electronics to the drive.

...
Icebound is offline  
Old 2012-03-30, 07:53 AM   #134
Dolfan
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: GTA
Posts: 23
Default Apricorn DVR Xpander - 500 GB eSATA

Hi,

Newbie to this forum, but I did a search and was unable to find a reference to the Apricorn DVR Xpander - 500GB eSATA model ADVRX-500.

Just wanted to let everyone know that I have been successfully using it for a few years on the 8642 (used it for a while on my 8300 too before I upgraded).

I can't remember having any issues with it, but to be honest, I won't be using it for much longer as I just ordered a WD Caviar Black WD1002FAEX yesterday to replace it (tired of so many boxes on my shelf).

Dolfan
Samsung HPS5033| Harmon Kardon AVR147 | Cisco 4250 | PS3| Wii | Harmony One
Sony 40EX500 | Cisco 8642| Xbox360
Dolfan is offline  
Old 2012-04-07, 08:14 AM   #135
Latitude
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Default

Hi,

Just a message as a confirmation of an easy external HDD addition to my 8642 HD Videotron PVR (or ENP in French).

As some told it, just connect it (don't forget to put the enclosure ON), make a hard reboot, wait for the Format prompt for less than one minute, press on A, wait for the confirmation message telling that the PVR works with the new eHDD and enjoy your 165 hours of recording....

At this point everything works fine.
Thanks to all those who helped me to do the right choices in this forum.

My equipment :
Vantech NST300-SU BK enclosure
1TB Seagate ST1000DN003 HDD
Remember : the HDD must be all but "green". Ask your dealer, they know what it is.




* All recorded programs are 1 hour long or more.

Phil
Latitude is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:09 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.