Rogers 8642 & 9865 HD PVR External SATA Drive discussion - See Post 1 First - Page 10 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Rogers Communications > Rogers Cable TV: HD PVR Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-04-27, 10:34 AM   #136
LetItRide7777
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vaughan, ON - Rogers Cable - 8642HD PVR - Panasonic 50" Plasma - TX-SR 606 - KEF KHT2005.3 HT
Posts: 31
Default

I received the new firmware yesterday and all my recordings on my external drive have been deleted. Also, the 8642 wasn’t recognizing the external drive. It has been working flawlessly with the old firmware. I followed the instructions for startup of an external drive and the 8642 did start to recognize the external drive as capacity went from 86% to 11%. However, I then experienced issues with the 8642 where I wasn’t able to see any channels, just a black screen. I was able to see the Info of the channel. Called Rogers they said they were not able to connect to my box. During our conversation, I advised them that the latest firmware deleted my recordings on the external drive. They quickly pointed out that it was not purchased by them and I should unplug it as it may be causing the issue. I powered down and unplugged the external drive. Rebooted the 8642 and my channels were working again. I had to go through the start up instructions several times again until the 8642 finally recognized the drive. We had so many hours of recorded programming that the family was going to watch. Went through the same issue around the same time last year when there was a firmware upgrade for the 8300 box.

I will be following along these forum for suggestions and reading up on other people experiences… hopefully they will resolve the bugs soon.
LetItRide7777 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-04-27, 11:37 AM   #137
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,329
Default

Sorry to hear. Just as an FYI, the lost recordings and black screen are discussed in the "new IPG" sticky here. You may wish to read that thread, or at least the link in post 1 to see all the "issues".

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=150889
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2012-06-13, 11:14 PM   #138
Shaner47
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Hi recently purchased a seagate 3.5 inch 1TB harddrive ESATA with a netstar Cx case. I have the rogers NEXTBOX HD PVR followed all the instructions posted in the 8300. I didn t recieve any message that it found the drive at all the STB was loading was what I assume was the guide. The HD still shows the same around 50%, just wondering if I should record about 10 hours and see if the space on the drive drops or return it. Any help would be appreciated
Shaner47 is offline  
Old 2012-06-14, 05:44 PM   #139
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,329
Default

Make sure the connection is good, do another reboot, record 10 hours and see...
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2012-06-21, 07:36 PM   #140
Shaner47
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Reset again and it worked thanks
Shaner47 is offline  
Old 2012-08-11, 05:40 PM   #141
yyzlhr
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,262
Default

I want to move my 8642 and my extender to another room. Is there a specific sequence to plug everything back in to avoid having my extender reformatted?
yyzlhr is online now  
Old 2012-08-11, 06:00 PM   #142
MooBaloo
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 108
Default

Just make sure you plug in the extender's cables and let it spin up before you plug in your 8642's power and you should be fine.
MooBaloo is offline  
Old 2012-08-11, 08:51 PM   #143
yyzlhr
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,262
Default

Great Thanks!
yyzlhr is online now  
Old 2012-08-21, 12:17 PM   #144
sammey
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ottawa, Canada, CISCO 9865 x 3, Cisco 4642 x 1, SA 3200 x 1, Veteran, Canadian Forces & RCMP
Posts: 158
Default PVR Extender Compatibility

Can someone tell me which PVR Extenders are acceptable/compatible to use on a Rogers 8642 (AKA Nextbox). I would prefer to purchase from a source other than Rogers.

Last edited by 57; 2012-08-21 at 05:19 PM. Reason: Moved to appropriate thread.
sammey is offline  
Old 2012-08-21, 01:28 PM   #145
alebowgm
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,503
Default

Anything that works for the 8300 will work for the 8642. Just go back in this thread and 8300 eHDD threads and take a looksy... at recent posts and posts 1 of each thread..
__________________
CM4228, CM4220HD, Samsung LNT3242H, AccessHD DTA1080D, RCA DTA800, CM7775, Samsung DTB-H260F, Samsung LN40B750

Last edited by 57; 2012-08-21 at 05:19 PM. Reason: clarifications added since post moved.
alebowgm is offline  
Old 2012-08-23, 11:37 AM   #146
Dioneo
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: GTA IV
Posts: 1,768
Default

Rogers is pricing their 1TB extender at $149.99 now...
__________________
Long live the console war! Buy 'em all! Just don't give Sony any of your Personal info!
Dioneo is offline  
Old 2012-09-19, 09:47 PM   #147
timlocke
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Guelph
Posts: 614
Default

That is not bad...for Rogers. I sourced a NextStar 3 enclosure and a 1Tb WD caviar drive from Tiger last week and that came to almost exactly $149 with tax.
timlocke is offline  
Old 2012-09-28, 04:57 PM   #148
DCor
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Barrhaven (Ottawa), On. Canada. (3 blocks north of Strandherd Dr. & 2 east of Claridge Dr.)
Posts: 119
Default My latest ExHd experience

I had been using my Vantec NST-360SU enclosure with a WD5000AACS Caviar Green HD eSata'd to a Cisco 8642 160Gb pvr. Everything ran great for months, then I rec'd a SARA update a couple weeks ago and lost all my recording. I tried many reboots to no avail.
After finally giving up, and losing some fairly precious recording to me, I re-formatted the ExHD. It never seemed to work properly again, at times it would cause a translucient pink hue to the screen!
I then decided to get the IPG "upgrade"! The 8642 wouldn't even recognize the ExHD.
Thankfully I had a spare WD5000AAKS Caviar Black HD lying around. Popped it into the Vantec, did a hard reboot, formatted it, and it has been working quite well so far.
I guess this newer software requires a quicker drive to keep up, even though the software seems so much slower!!
DCor is offline  
Old 2012-09-28, 09:56 PM   #149
jawnlaw
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Same thing happening here ... Vantec NexStar CX.. lost it all.. and the 8642 won't re-accept it... tried sata and usb... will try new drive in it soon and update...
the hd in the enclosure was a WD 5000AAKS Blue Caviar...

What format do they have to be before attaching to 8642 ? i have a WD 6400AAKS i'm gonna try. but it's been used as a back up drive on a pc prior....

Last edited by jawnlaw; 2012-09-29 at 07:28 AM.
jawnlaw is offline  
Old 2012-09-29, 09:58 AM   #150
DCor
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Barrhaven (Ottawa), On. Canada. (3 blocks north of Strandherd Dr. & 2 east of Claridge Dr.)
Posts: 119
Default

@jawnlaw

The ExHD I am running now, used to be a main OS drive in a Win7 tower.
I just formatted it via the 8642 with the new IPG/VVV software.

I been doing alot of recording/playback, and just trying to get used to the new IPG in general.....not a troulbe yet with the ExHD!
DCor is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:29 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.