Official New 8642 PVR from Rogers - Page 4 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Rogers Communications > Rogers Cable TV: HD PVR Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2010-03-10, 08:37 PM   #46
scrooloose
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Grimsby, Ont.
Posts: 3,142
Default

Geez, this is DigitalHome.ca. What are you guys waiting for....someone go out and buy one already!

-Mike
__________________
Pioneer PRO-110FD | Pioneer VSX-92TXH | BELL 9242 | Panasonic DMP-BD35 | XBOX 360 |WD TV Live Hub
scrooloose is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2010-03-10, 10:09 PM   #47
JamesK
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 6,188
Default

Quote:
which says it's SATA
So, how long before we see an article here about modifying them up to a gig or two? ;-)
JamesK is offline  
Old 2010-03-10, 10:10 PM   #48
jvincent
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,429
Default

Someone has to buy one first!
__________________
Android rocks!
jvincent is offline  
Old 2010-03-10, 10:29 PM   #49
secotton
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 200
Default

Fine fine...I'll go and get one tomorrow. It's oly $500. Um....then again, maybe not.

I'm sure doing a hard disk upgrade on one of these would be easier since it's already using the SATA interface. I personally wouldn't want to go over 750Gb / 1Tb for compatibility sake, but even still, I don't see why it wouldn't work.

You might need to duplicate the old disk to the new one just in case there's some code on there that is required to run the box.

Honestly, I am surprised no has gotten one yet. I figured there'd be a few out there that would get one the first second they had a chance to. Then again, maybe for any of those that did get one; they are all playing with their new boxes That, or they decided to sacrifice their 1TB SATA hard drive from their computer to upgrade their boxes and now can't post on Digital Home! LOL
secotton is offline  
Old 2010-03-10, 10:54 PM   #50
mgl
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 29
Default

I'd buy one tomorrow if I could get one with the 500GB drive. I just don't want another PVR with a 160GB internal.

So will the existing 1TB drive that Rogers sell work with the new unit? I know you can choose a different drive, but I kind of like the chassis of the one Rogers sells. I'd rather have the 500GB internal though, since that's enough space for me for now. One fewer thing to plug in or break.
mgl is offline  
Old 2010-03-10, 11:09 PM   #51
cm023
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 339
Default

Any chance on doing an Swap from an 8300 yet? I was going to call around some stores but they will likley have no idea what I am talking about.
cm023 is offline  
Old 2010-03-10, 11:18 PM   #52
Bplayer
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Thornhill
Posts: 770
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgl View Post
I'd buy one tomorrow if I could get one with the 500GB drive. I just don't want another PVR with a 160GB internal.
Depending on the pricing difference it may be more economical to but one with the smallest HDD and replace the internal with a larger HDD. This needs a pioneer to do the internal HDD upgrade.
Bplayer is offline  
Old 2010-03-11, 12:13 AM   #53
TVGuy68
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 86
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by awhite2600 View Post
Just my luck. I broke down and bought an 8300 just a few weeks ago when they were on sale. I should have taken the hint that a price drop would indicate that Rogers was clearing out old stock to make way for a new model. (Although all retailers now have the 8300 back at regular price. )

I'm sure there will be some new features down the road that will require the new box. Perhaps 3D TV, additional channels, remote PVR capability...who knows.

I guess the good news is that the purchase of the 8300 at the sale price will pay for itself after 14 months when compared to renting. I can always move the 8300 to another TV and rent a new box in the future.
Don't feel too bad about buying the 8300HD just think of all the money you will be saving . I could be wrong but I would be surprised if the GUI etc. on the new box will be all that different then the 8300HD, maybe just faster.
TVGuy68 is offline  
Old 2010-03-11, 12:35 AM   #54
The Watcher
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Oshawa
Posts: 215
Talking

You can buy the 8642 PVR at the Home Shopping Channel for $499 sh $16.68 and taxes.

Ontario residents only; If you order more then one item, they will reduce your shipping and

handling charges.
__________________
What we do in life echoes in eternity.

Last edited by The Watcher; 2010-03-11 at 12:36 AM. Reason: forgot the period
The Watcher is offline  
Old 2010-03-11, 06:21 AM   #55
gzero
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NB
Posts: 138
Default

^^ Not only that, but the web site is advertising the 500GB model for $599 as well.
gzero is offline  
Old 2010-03-11, 07:30 AM   #56
JamesK
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 6,188
Default

Quote:
So will the existing 1TB drive that Rogers sell
I thought 500 GB was the largest external drive Rogers sold.
JamesK is offline  
Old 2010-03-11, 07:47 AM   #57
JamesK
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 6,188
Default

Quote:
500GB model for $599 as well
So, you're paying $100 more for just over 3x the capacity. On the other hand, you can buy a 1 TB SATA drive for under $90 and have a 160 GB drive left over for use with something else.
JamesK is offline  
Old 2010-03-11, 08:17 AM   #58
becks
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 1,152
Default

^^^Funny how the description on TSC is for the 8300 though
becks is offline  
Old 2010-03-11, 02:05 PM   #59
gzero
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NB
Posts: 138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesK View Post
So, you're paying $100 more for just over 3x the capacity. On the other hand, you can buy a 1 TB SATA drive for under $90 and have a 160 GB drive left over for use with something else.
If you don't mind having a brand new receiver with a void warranty, that's a great plan eSATA is probably the way to go.
gzero is offline  
Old 2010-03-11, 02:23 PM   #60
leopard
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 57
Default

When the new 8642 PVR is available for swapping..rental that is would a sata hard drive in a esata hard drive enclosure including esata cable would work connected to this new terminal box? Would anyone know or have to wait and see?
leopard is offline  
Reply

Tags
8642, sd auto stretch, sd auto zoom

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:10 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.