1 HDMI port, 2 HDMI devices - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > HDTV: High Definition Television including LCD and Plasma

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2009-12-27, 10:43 PM   #1
Anteater
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 450
Default 1 HDMI port, 2 HDMI devices

Ok, so this is probably one of the more stupid questions asked on here, but is there anything you can do when you have two things to connect through HDMI and only one HDMI port on a TV? Is there a such thing as a HDMI splitter or thing that two things can go into at one time or anything?

Pulling it out of the TV every time I want to switch is too much work for the lazy like me.
Anteater is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2009-12-27, 11:03 PM   #2
Cyclism
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Vancouver - OTA, Pioneer KURO Elite Signature PRO-141FD, 27" iMac, WDTV Live.
Posts: 2,781
Default

What you are looking for is an HDMI switch, and they can easily be found.
Cyclism is offline  
Old 2009-12-27, 11:32 PM   #3
Larry
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ottawa, Ontario (Rogers)
Posts: 1,611
Default

An HDMI switch or an AV receiver that has at least 2 HDMI inputs (you want the best sound don't you - get some decent speakers to go along with it).
Larry is offline  
Old 2009-12-28, 12:37 AM   #4
cavu
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Geographic Centre of North America
Posts: 491
Lightbulb

Check monoprice dot com
__________________
CAVU
92-inch Infocus Theatre
cavu is offline  
Old 2009-12-28, 08:00 AM   #5
JamesK
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 6,123
Default

And of course, when you get a new A/V receiver, you'll want some nice new speakers and sub-woofer. ;-)
JamesK is online now  
Old 2009-12-28, 01:03 PM   #6
the hawk
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 388
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NeonFire372 View Post
...is there anything you can do when you have two things to connect through HDMI and only one HDMI port on a TV?
Just about any current gen A/V receiver will have multiple HDMI inputs with an output to feed your HDTV or you can use an HDMI switcher. If going the latter and you're a stickler for PQ than I'd recommend an Oppo HM-31. You can get it in the GTA for a little over $100. Not as cheap as some of the ones on monoprice but it is a very well regarded, quality unit.
__________________
Sony KDL-60EX500, Onkyo TX-SR806, Oppo BDP-83, PS3, XBOX 360 w/HD-DVD, Energy Veritas 1.8, AC300 & RVSS, SVS PB13-Ultra
the hawk is offline  
Old 2009-12-28, 02:24 PM   #7
ScaryBob
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,133
Default

Quote:
1 HDMI port, 2 HDMI devices
As mentioned, you need an HDMI switch. A Google search will turn up some for about CD$30-$50. You should also be able to find HDMI cables for under $10.
__________________
At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline  
Old 2009-12-28, 02:45 PM   #8
Anteater
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 450
Default

I found one on eBay for $16...not sure on the quality but the seller's feedback is pretty much comprised of that one item and no negatives.

Is there any decrease in picture quality with a HDMI switch?
Anteater is offline  
Old 2009-12-28, 02:53 PM   #9
Michael TLV
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 1,121
Default

Greetings

If it works right, there should be no quality difference ...

But if it has issues, you should see it right away ... big glaring issues.

regards
__________________
Michael @ TLVExperience
ISF/THX Video Systems Instructor
Michael TLV is offline  
Old 2009-12-28, 11:29 PM   #10
dennism3
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 531
Default

Get a switch with remote, not manual switch.
dennism3 is offline  
Old 2009-12-29, 12:33 AM   #11
cavu
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Geographic Centre of North America
Posts: 491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NeonFire372 View Post
I found one on eBay for $16...not sure on the quality but the seller's feedback is pretty much comprised of that one item and no negatives.
Why would you go to an unknown source when you can get an extremely highly recommended unit from monoprice for very little more??
__________________
CAVU
92-inch Infocus Theatre
cavu is offline  
Old 2010-02-04, 11:59 AM   #12
kcowan
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: VancouverBC/PV Shaw Direct 505-530-630, Telus Landline, Rogers PayGo, Panasonic Viera 50", HTPC-HDMI
Posts: 369
Default

I have found a passive HDMI splitter for under $8 and an active splitter for $35. What are the pros/cons of passive vs. active?

I am splitting a home theater output to two TVs, both within 6 feet.
kcowan is offline  
Old 2010-02-04, 04:19 PM   #13
ScaryBob
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,133
Default

I've had problems with a passive HDMI splitter. An active splitter is typically better.
__________________
At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline  
Old 2010-02-05, 08:33 AM   #14
kcowan
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: VancouverBC/PV Shaw Direct 505-530-630, Telus Landline, Rogers PayGo, Panasonic Viera 50", HTPC-HDMI
Posts: 369
Default

Can you expand on what types of problems? I would have expected an active splitter to be for long runs, i.e. more than 10 feet, or an unbalanced split such as one leg at 20 feet and the other at 6 feet.
kcowan is offline  
Old 2010-02-05, 10:44 AM   #15
JamesK
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 6,123
Default

^^^^
Like any other passive splitter, there is only so much signal power that must be divided between devices. This means in a perfect 2 way splitter, each device will only receive 1/2 the power. This reduced power may cause problems.
JamesK is online now  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:40 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.