Best DIY Antenna For Cambridge & Kitchener, ON? - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Over-The-Air (OTA) Digital Television > Antenna Research & Development

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2009-08-22, 06:37 PM   #31
peano
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,688
Default

Does TVfool still show analog? That may be why.
peano is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2009-08-22, 11:15 PM   #32
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 23,437
Default

See the recent posts in this thread about changes at TVFool (post your questions about TVFool in there):

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=103476
stampeder is offline  
Old 2010-03-05, 03:50 PM   #33
embomer
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Default What do I need???

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...b7c8319b0fc7a8

What do I need to build in order to get the best....if any...reception?

Thanks.
embomer is offline  
Old 2010-03-05, 10:26 PM   #34
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 23,437
Default

You forgot to say which city/town you are in, and the neighbourhood name or nearest major street corner.
stampeder is offline  
Old 2010-03-06, 10:08 AM   #35
embomer
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Oops

Kitchener On

Warren Road and Forest Hill Drive
embomer is offline  
Old 2010-03-06, 10:31 AM   #36
epicDistortion
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Kitchener
Posts: 30
Default

ebomer: You look to be in better shape than me. I'm working on a dual bay gray hoverman that I intend to mount on my roof. I'll let you all know what I get from it.

Last edited by epicDistortion; 2010-03-06 at 10:36 AM. Reason: I didn't see he'd posted the tvfool info :S
epicDistortion is offline  
Old 2010-03-06, 10:58 AM   #37
epicDistortion
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Kitchener
Posts: 30
Default re: what do I need

I've re run my report and I appear to have improved reception results? They look very similar to ebomers. I put my antenna at 30 feet which is close to the height of my roof.

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...b7c84707e3b799

I've given up trying to find heavy guage wire for my antenna. I'm going to try and find some of the 1/8" copper tubing to use instead. I may even have it built this weekend. I'm not sure I'm ready to get on the roof and mount it even though it is a balmy +3 degrees this weekend.
epicDistortion is offline  
Old 2010-03-06, 01:34 PM   #38
300ohm
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Somewhere in Delaware on the flat side
Posts: 7,338
Default

Quote:
I've given up trying to find heavy guage wire for my antenna. I'm going to try and find some of the 1/8" copper tubing to use instead.
1/8" copper tubing is even rarer. It was used sometimes on old timey pressure switched shallow well systems that didnt have pre-pressured tanks. But, a 10ft roll of 1/4" copper tubing should be found at your local Home Depot that will do fine.
__________________
My builds/plans (not the latest models) are located here.
300ohm is offline  
Old 2010-03-08, 08:53 AM   #39
epicDistortion
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Kitchener
Posts: 30
Default

Thanks for the advice 300ohm. Unfortunately I didn't read it in time. Because I couldn't find 1/8 copper tube I bought some 10 AWG wire for the elements. I got my DBGH put together roughly and did a test from my living room. I was able to pull in 3 more analogue channels than I could with the single bay, but no digital yet.

I still have work to do on it though and expect the results to be better when it's complete. I need a proper balun (ordered through our favorite forum sponsor), I built a quick coax-loop balun using a 3-way splitter I found in my bin of parts. I only attached this to the phase lines by wire-wrapping. I expect it to be quite lossy. I need to build some spacers to keep the phase lines a consistent 20mm apart (on the Y-axis) and add some stability. I also need a reflector.

Looking at the way this build went together I am wondering if it might be easier to use copper tube for the elements. I could drill a hole for attaching the phase lines which would make it easier to assemble and make it possible to solder the connection, which I wasn't able to do with the current build.
epicDistortion is offline  
Old 2010-03-08, 01:49 PM   #40
300ohm
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Somewhere in Delaware on the flat side
Posts: 7,338
Default

Quote:
I need to build some spacers to keep the phase lines a consistent 20mm apart (on the Y-axis) and add some stability.
An old Bic pen cut up and holes drilled in it the size of the wire works. Using cut up grey plastic gutter ferrules would be even better for outdoors.
__________________
My builds/plans (not the latest models) are located here.
300ohm is offline  
Old 2010-03-12, 06:39 AM   #41
epicDistortion
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Kitchener
Posts: 30
Default Progress

I tried making spacers by drilling holes in pieces of zip ties. worked pretty well, but I ended up going up to a 10ga pair of wires for the phase lines and have had better luck keeping them straight.

I put the DBGH with no reflector in my attic aimed roughly west and ended up getting about 12 analogue channels (about 2 were clear, some were fuzzy, and most were unwatchable) and I got 2 digital stations! CH 11.1 and 36.1, both from hamilton. 11.1 came in at about 82% and 36.1 came in at about 72% strength. Can't wait to get it on the roof.
epicDistortion is offline  
Old 2010-03-12, 07:37 AM   #42
GT40
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by embomer View Post
Oops

Kitchener On

Warren Road and Forest Hill Drive
You're not that far from me.
With a 4228 style antenna I was able to pull in about 15 HD channels and penty od analog channels - basically the stronger Toronto and Buffalo channels.
I'm going to try a DBGH later this spring to see if it does any better.
Have any of you tried an industial supplier for the copper rod (ie brafasco) I'm pretty sure they carry 1/8 copper rod.
GT40 is offline  
Old 2010-03-12, 08:55 AM   #43
epicDistortion
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Kitchener
Posts: 30
Default

I saw on their website that metal supermarkets sells copper rod of different sizes and hardnesses, but I don't know enough about metals to know if it could be bent without breaking. There is a store here in town out at Victoria and Forwell road.
epicDistortion is offline  
Old 2010-03-12, 09:03 AM   #44
Marbles_00
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hamilton: Garth and Rymal
Posts: 600
Default

There's also a metal supermarkets on Sheldon. I've almost gone there myself to order stuff, and pickup on the way home from work.

The C110 copper should be good for bending. They advertise different sizes (not sure if they have them in stock). Here is a datasheet on C110 copper:
http://www.husseycopper.com/Alloysheets/C11000.pdf
__________________
Mayhem Creations-"The Art Of Emotional Creation"
sites.google.com/site/maycreates/Home -for viewing all my DIY projects
Marbles_00 is offline  
Old 2010-03-12, 02:21 PM   #45
GT40
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 15
Default

You aren't going to have any problems bending 1/8 copper unless it's an exotic like beryllium copper or tellerium copper.
Worst case scenerio, you can cut it and solder the joints together.
GT40 is offline  
Reply

Tags
antenna, reception

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:45 AM.

OTA Forum Sponsor


Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.