ON - Oakville, Burlington, Milton, Halton - OTA - Page 65 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Over-The-Air (OTA) Digital Television > OTA Reception Results

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2011-10-06, 05:21 PM   #961
filper
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,895
Default

CFTO seems to be very low power.

I can rarely get it anymore.
__________________
simplicity is genius...
filper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2011-10-06, 05:40 PM   #962
Jase88
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 4,555
Default

There must be something wrong with your setup--or exceptionally strong local RFI--if you can't get CFTO in Oakville. It's a strong station for me, and I'm in Kitchener.
__________________
DMX 68' tower, HyGain HAM 5 rotator, Antennas Direct 91-XG & C5, Channel Master 7777 preamp, Siemens surge protection
Jase88 is offline  
Old 2011-10-06, 06:48 PM   #963
rob50312
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: derry + winston Mississauga
Posts: 1,393
Default

filper CFTO is weak.If your antenna is not directly facing the CN tower you will have trouble.Do you have a VHF antenna ?
__________________
CM 4248 at Buffalo,XG43 at Toronto,M4 at Buffalo,CH 11 yagi at Ham.
rob50312 is offline  
Old 2011-10-06, 07:08 PM   #964
goforit
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hamilton Mtn.
Posts: 1,550
Default

From my location cfto is very strong, and that's using 4221HDs aimed at BUF.
__________________
91XG (47'), YA-1713 (42'), CPA-19; Denon AVR-1312
goforit is online now  
Old 2011-10-07, 09:31 AM   #965
micpoets
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Burlington, ON
Posts: 5
Default

I am getting CFTO CityTV and FOX clearly as well as Cool TV in total all 27 channels are coming very nice without any issues.
micpoets is offline  
Old 2011-10-07, 04:50 PM   #966
filper
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,895
Default

I have a dual CM4221HD array that was professionally installed with a CM drop amp.

You can see the CN Tower and across the lake from my roof.

I am 5' higher than anything me around and the Toronto (lower) antenna is 30' off the ground.

Original scan was 40 channels including a few from Rochester.

It just doesn't make sense.
__________________
simplicity is genius...
filper is offline  
Old 2011-10-07, 05:13 PM   #967
Jase88
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 4,555
Default

filper, have you done a complete scan with your tuner?! Not just a "add digital channels" partial scan?!?

I've discovered that some tuners will skip scanning a channel, if the tuner had previously detected an analog signal (or another signal) on that channel. This allows the scan to proceed faster, but has the obvious consequence of missing changes (such as those that occur during a digital transition).

From what I understand, your installer does professional work, and it doesn't seem likely that your location or equipment could be the issue. To eliminate the setup, you could do some testing with a cheap set of rabbit ears and a balun. Amplification wouldn't be required, and you should get results even indoors.
__________________
DMX 68' tower, HyGain HAM 5 rotator, Antennas Direct 91-XG & C5, Channel Master 7777 preamp, Siemens surge protection
Jase88 is offline  
Old 2011-10-07, 05:37 PM   #968
filper
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,895
Default

I don't think it's anything to do with the installation, and actually I tried the powered Philips antenna I used to use before the professional install to compare results.

CFTO reception is on the light side of marginal. In fact it was the station we have always had the most trouble with.

He's how the array was fine tuned. The front of the house is on the left side, it is due South.
__________________
simplicity is genius...
filper is offline  
Old 2011-10-07, 06:50 PM   #969
rob50312
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: derry + winston Mississauga
Posts: 1,393
Default

Filper I bet if you disconnect antenna facing buffalo ,CFTO would come in.Multipath signals and your tuner cant lock onto a clear signal.Or get a VHF antenna and use a UVJ to combine with your UHF signals from your current antennae.
__________________
CM 4248 at Buffalo,XG43 at Toronto,M4 at Buffalo,CH 11 yagi at Ham.
rob50312 is offline  
Old 2011-10-07, 10:57 PM   #970
goforit
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hamilton Mtn.
Posts: 1,550
Default

For a ganged set-up, the antennas can interfere with each other if too close (e.g., cancel signals)...
__________________
91XG (47'), YA-1713 (42'), CPA-19; Denon AVR-1312
goforit is online now  
Old 2011-10-08, 12:15 AM   #971
Jase88
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 4,555
Default

I think the separation is fine. Probably just an illusion of closeness created by taking a photo from below.
__________________
DMX 68' tower, HyGain HAM 5 rotator, Antennas Direct 91-XG & C5, Channel Master 7777 preamp, Siemens surge protection
Jase88 is offline  
Old 2011-10-08, 10:14 AM   #972
filper
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,895
Default

The CM4221HD's are at least 12" apart.

We did a full scan twice on two different TV's for digital only the day of the installation and both antennas were fine tuned for maximum reception. Both sets found 40 digital channels.
__________________
simplicity is genius...
filper is offline  
Old 2011-10-08, 12:22 PM   #973
filper
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,895
Default

Do you think switching from a 4 way drop amp to a 2 way would help ?

There is a 3db difference between the CM3412 and the CM3414.
__________________
simplicity is genius...
filper is offline  
Old 2011-10-15, 08:07 AM   #974
filper
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,895
Default

CFTO 'returned' on Wednesday.
__________________
simplicity is genius...
filper is offline  
Old 2011-10-15, 10:39 AM   #975
Tom.F.1
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 1,979
Default

Hi filper, I don't think changing amp would help, it only amplifies the signal it gets.

IMHO, Adding a VHF antenna would help, and you might get rf 7 from buffalo.
Tom.F.1 is offline  
Reply

Tags
antenna, merger, signal

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:47 PM.

OTA Forum Sponsor


Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.