Firefox 3.5 Has Arrived! - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > Home Computing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2009-07-01, 02:49 PM   #16
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 23,962
Default Benchmarks Are Starting To Come In

CNet compares Firefox 3.0, Firefox 3.5, Safari 4 and Chrome 2 on the same Windows PC:

http://crave.cnet.co.uk/software/0,3...9302846,00.htm
stampeder is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2009-07-01, 02:52 PM   #17
scampbell
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Port Carling, Ontario
Posts: 815
Default

I'm finding it to be a lot faster, especially opening multimedia content.
scampbell is offline  
Old 2009-07-01, 10:02 PM   #18
tablo
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 538
Default

Wait, so they are saying that it is the fastest Firefox, not the fastest browser? It's kind of confusing me.
tablo is online now  
Old 2009-07-02, 11:37 AM   #19
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Default Mozilla Firefox 3.5 Users Clamoring For Bug Fix

The blogosphere is burning up with Firefox 3.5 users clamoring for a bug fix release from Mozilla that is expected in the next several weeks.

Quote:
"It's seriously bugged is what it is," posted Jeremy in a July 1 post on hothardware.com." "My Firefox load time went from a heartbeat or two to 50-60 seconds. First time, second time, didn't matter if it was pre-fetched or not. Numerous other people having the same issue as well judging from their forum.
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. My comments and opinions are my own and not those of the current site owners.
I have disabled private messaging so for personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website or via twitter.
hugh is offline  
Old 2009-07-02, 11:39 AM   #20
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Default

Mozilla Firefox 3.5 Users Clamoring For Bug Fix

It sounds like most folks here are okay but for those (like myself) who have not upgraded, you may want to wait a few weeks for V3.51. Yeah you wait a few weeks but you may save yourself some grief.
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. My comments and opinions are my own and not those of the current site owners.
I have disabled private messaging so for personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website or via twitter.
hugh is offline  
Old 2009-07-02, 11:50 AM   #21
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 23,962
Default

Anyone here on XP have slow loading like in that article?
stampeder is offline  
Old 2009-07-02, 12:06 PM   #22
mickk
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 517
Default

i'm not experiencing any bugs with it. this might be just the some computer's causing the issues.
mickk is offline  
Old 2009-07-02, 12:17 PM   #23
scampbell
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Port Carling, Ontario
Posts: 815
Default

I'm on XP and don't really notice a difference in the initial loading time. Once it is up and running, loading new pages is much quicker than it used to be.
scampbell is offline  
Old 2009-07-02, 11:24 PM   #24
JesseJ
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Calgary, Shaw Digital HD Plus, 3416 & Expander
Posts: 6,313
Default

Real fast.
__________________
SHAW 2012 HD Count: +8 (51 Total not counting SC or SNETWorld)
JesseJ is offline  
Old 2009-07-03, 12:04 AM   #25
Nuje
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: A charted un-desert isle
Posts: 2,465
Default

Session manager doesn't work when I upgrade - none of my previous or saved sessions are there.
Nuje is offline  
Old 2009-07-03, 07:03 AM   #26
ExISPtech
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Default Wow.

Way better then the previous version (I had 3.1). I use Firefox at work, but unfortunately our Intranet is coded in a way that only IE6 was able to handle de Java script (menus, links...)

Thank you Mozzila... for now I am a happy tab browser
ExISPtech is offline  
Old 2009-07-03, 07:00 PM   #27
sevenGLR
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 164
Default

the best improvement is the obvious one. The "Open a new tab" tab.

The worst change is I can no longer drag and drop a URL from the URL bar to create a bookmark on the bookmarks toolbar
sevenGLR is offline  
Old 2009-07-04, 10:47 AM   #28
M_Guy
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 110
Default

I upgraded to Firefox 3.5 this week and honestly don't notice any difference in load times from 3.0.11 that I was previously running. I am running 3.5 on two different machines (one XP and one Vista).
M_Guy is offline  
Old 2009-07-04, 10:55 AM   #29
sadchel
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 256
Default

it now takes me about 3-4mins for 3.5 to load
__________________
cheers
sadchel
sadchel is online now  
Old 2009-07-04, 12:26 PM   #30
Canterbury Tail
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 343
Default

Loads just the same speed for me.
Canterbury Tail is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:45 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.