Starchoice / Hauppauge / recording HD - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > Home Theatre Personal Computer (HTPC) and Media Extenders

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2008-11-01, 03:30 PM   #1
tvmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: tarana
Posts: 620
Default Starchoice / Hauppauge / recording HD

I have a Starchoice DSR505, and have been using SageTV as a HTPC.

Is there any way to record the DSR505's HD channels using any of the Hauppauge cards (1600/1800) without any hardware modifications?

The only way I can think of doing it is with component cables, but then that's not pure HD, and I'm not even sure if the Hauppauge cards use component cables.

thanks
tvmaster is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2008-11-01, 03:41 PM   #2
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,652
Default

Moved to the HTPC section of the forum. See the following link on recording HD, which also contains a link to the Hauppauge...

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=14099 Recording HD

Search tips, etc in the link below:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=57741 Useful post for those new to the forum
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2008-11-06, 04:02 PM   #3
Civuck
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 319
Default

Use the Hauppauge HD PVR. Connects to your PC via USB and records any component video source up to 1080i.

C.
Civuck is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2008-11-07, 02:55 PM   #4
Wayne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster View Post
The only way I can think of doing it is with component cables, but then that's not pure HD, and I'm not even sure if the Hauppauge cards use component cables.
The HD-PVR has component inputs and this is "pure" HD - there is no reason why component is not as good as HDMI or DVI. The highest res for HDTV signals is 1080i which comes over component.

The benefit for you is that this device works very well with SageTV but you need a reasonalby fast CPU to play back the H.264 files that it produces.
Wayne is offline   Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:56 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.