XBMC media Center for PC - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > Home Theatre Personal Computer (HTPC) and Media Extenders

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2008-05-07, 01:27 AM   #1
DJDiggler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leduc, AB
Posts: 1,105
Default XBMC media Center for PC

Anyone who has a modded Xbox probley knows the incredible open source media center software that is XBMC... it is now in the VERY early stages of being ported to windows,linux, and mac!

download the XBMCSetup-revxxxx.exe file here and simply install to any folder. From there your on your own, but some help can be found on the XBMC forum. (and for those who don't know sourceforge is a very well respected opensource comunity... no viruses/malware there).

I've been useing XBMC on my old xbox for years now and it is a great skinable media center... so many incredible skins to be found! I hope progress is quick in getting all the features over to windows.

Find more, (much nicer), skins here, you'll need a Subversion client like TortiseSVN which is free and simple).
__________________
Epson EX71, Tosh HD-A2, Denon AVR590, Athena P4100, Infinity P362,C250,P162. RCA L42WD22, Pio VSX1016, Athena LS50

Last edited by DJDiggler; 2008-05-07 at 01:44 AM.
DJDiggler is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2008-05-07, 07:28 AM   #2
heybirder
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 346
Default

I actually tried this out a couple weeks ago but only for a little. I really like the XMBC software but don't want a XBox in my room. What I'm looking for is a very nice looking "Video Store" interface where I can browse movies by various categories, see a cover picture and have some info (year, plot, actors, etc) displayed. I don't need any pvr functions.

XMBC looked like a good choice but the ported version was confusing to me. I've just started trying to set up MythTV (Mythbuntu) to use its MythVideo portion but I'm not liking what I see.

I just took a peek at one of the skins and I think I'm back on the XMBC bandwagon again. Check it out http://users.edpnet.be/desertstorm/
heybirder is offline  
Old 2008-05-07, 08:57 AM   #3
cm_soo
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sault Ste. Marie
Posts: 204
Default

XBMC is one of the great custom apps I've ever used or known of, the community that made it is incredibly talented.
I run a soft-modded xbox in my home theater set up, we are moving this summer into a larger house and I may very well pick up another used xbox on Ebay and create a second home theater room.

XBMC is truly a great product.

PS: Wow! Just checked out the skin in the link directly above, man, that is awesome, it's going on my machine!
__________________
Shaw 6412, Hitachi 46F510, Onkyo TXSR603B, XBMC, Squeezebox 3, Harmony 628, Garmin GPS Map 60, Cyclods Evolution
cm_soo is offline  
Old 2008-05-07, 11:53 PM   #4
DJDiggler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leduc, AB
Posts: 1,105
Default

Also check out Back-row skin, it's great for a HTPC! (actually good idea download all those in the SVN if you haven't checked out the new skin features latley... some very creative new effects in some).

After playing around with the windows version it seems to woork fine for basic video/music playback. Having mouse problems with some skins but the keyboard always works.
__________________
Epson EX71, Tosh HD-A2, Denon AVR590, Athena P4100, Infinity P362,C250,P162. RCA L42WD22, Pio VSX1016, Athena LS50
DJDiggler is offline  
Old 2008-06-17, 12:54 PM   #5
farfromover
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Calgary,Yamaha RX-V559, Panasonic 50PX600U, Infinity Speakers, PS2 w/300GB HD, DCT 6412, Harmony 880
Posts: 493
Default

What HTPC hardware setups are you guys running with XBMC for windows?
farfromover is offline  
Old 2008-06-17, 01:41 PM   #6
gnunn
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 228
Default

heybirder, MythTV is great for PVR but not so good as a media library. If you are interested in a n open source Linux alternative, Elisa looks very interesting at http://elisa.fluendo.com. No personal experience yet, just something I found because I wanted a better alternative for these functions then MythTV.
gnunn is offline  
Old 2008-06-17, 06:17 PM   #7
I_Want_My_HDTV
.
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, ON
Posts: 6,297
Thumbs up

Just tried out XBMC for windows on XP. I am very impressed with its media playback interface. Unfortunately, it locked up my system after a few minutes of playing around with it.
I_Want_My_HDTV is offline  
Old 2008-06-17, 10:37 PM   #8
DJDiggler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leduc, AB
Posts: 1,105
Default

Yea It's about as beta as you can get right now... the much more developed xbox version is rock solid though, I've been useing it for years as a HT media center to stream off the computer.

Hopefully they can port that reliability over, but I guess the programing environment is totally different for PC... requiring almost a total rewrite of the software.
__________________
Epson EX71, Tosh HD-A2, Denon AVR590, Athena P4100, Infinity P362,C250,P162. RCA L42WD22, Pio VSX1016, Athena LS50
DJDiggler is offline  
Old 2008-06-18, 10:39 AM   #9
I_Want_My_HDTV
.
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, ON
Posts: 6,297
Thumbs up

I also noticed that CPU usage is very high. Video playback uses about 60% CPU on an AMD 5200+ where some other app's use about 10%. Maybe it's running on some type of emulator. Nice interface though. Let's hope the Windows port gets finished.
I_Want_My_HDTV is offline  
Old 2008-06-18, 01:25 PM   #10
TheChad
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 8
Default

I have an old xbox just sitting in the basement doing nothing... where could I find information on doing mods so that I could run XBMC on it?
TheChad is offline  
Old 2008-06-18, 11:50 PM   #11
DJDiggler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leduc, AB
Posts: 1,105
Default

The cheapest and best way is to softmod it... putting in a modchip is risky as you must solder points on the xbox board.

A softmod is totally reversible and you don't even have to open the xbox, (unless you want to add a larger HD, which is a whole other can of worms and unnecessary if you plan to just stream content from a PC etc.)

To softmod you just need a ORIGINAL copy of Mechassault game, (no platinum hits version), and a way to get a special savegame to a xbox memory card, (know someone with a modded xbox or a Action Replay?)

Modding an xbox to run Linux is legit, but the software used to encode programs like XBMC is owned by M$, making the software notlegit so I won't be able to help you there.
__________________
Epson EX71, Tosh HD-A2, Denon AVR590, Athena P4100, Infinity P362,C250,P162. RCA L42WD22, Pio VSX1016, Athena LS50
DJDiggler is offline  
Old 2008-06-19, 12:34 PM   #12
farfromover
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Calgary,Yamaha RX-V559, Panasonic 50PX600U, Infinity Speakers, PS2 w/300GB HD, DCT 6412, Harmony 880
Posts: 493
Default

Google xbox mods, or team xecuter... can't do anything else for you.

I hard modded mine, and it is a very simple procedure to put a chip in it, there are a ton of resources on the net for this type of thing.
farfromover is offline  
Old 2008-06-23, 08:11 PM   #13
farfromover
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Calgary,Yamaha RX-V559, Panasonic 50PX600U, Infinity Speakers, PS2 w/300GB HD, DCT 6412, Harmony 880
Posts: 493
Default XBMC with Vista

Will the XBMC for PC work with Vista? The reason I'm asking is that my BR drive to work I need to run it on Vista (64 bit). I also want to run all my video files through XBMC. Can I run both Vista (64 bit) for my BR drive AND XBMC for all my other video content?
farfromover is offline  
Old 2008-06-24, 12:27 PM   #14
farfromover
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Calgary,Yamaha RX-V559, Panasonic 50PX600U, Infinity Speakers, PS2 w/300GB HD, DCT 6412, Harmony 880
Posts: 493
Default

Did a little more research and found some answers. I can run Vista 32 bit, and also XBMC. XBMC won't handle a BR player directly at this current time due to DRM restrictions. But to play discs directly, I could just use MCE for Windows and my BR drive.
farfromover is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:30 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.