Panasonic DVD-S77 - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > Home Theatre Corner

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2005-12-31, 09:26 PM   #31
morkys
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Rogers Cable
Posts: 402
Default

Hey Media Room...I am also in Ajax. Just sold my TX100 and picked up a new TX200. I hooked up an S77 to my TX100 via a DVI cable and an HDMI>DVI adapter. Worked fine.

What I meant to say is, the S77 ONLY outputs 720p on HDMI and DOES NOT output 720p on component. We found that out. Not a major problem. The person will be getting an HDMI to DVI cable. Myself on the other hand, I am using the DVI cable with the adapter to connect to my TX200.

morkys is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2006-01-04, 11:05 PM   #32
Neilcamp
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Nanaimo, BC
Posts: 275
Default

I just picked up an S-77 as an open box item at FS. They seem to be getting hard to come by. They're not on the FS or BB website any longer and there were only a couple of new in the box ones at FS tonight.

I hope to use it when I finally pull the trigger on a Panny plasma (50" but commercial or consumer...) but in the meantime does anyone know if it will work with my Toshiba 51H83. I know I will need an HDMI-DVI adapter but I'm worried about the "age difference" of the hardware.
__________________
Up - 51H83/HTR-5550/Point 5/RP-62/6208-HD
Down - 50PHD8UK/HTR-5840S/Micra 6/DVD-S77/6412-PVR
My DVD Collection
Neilcamp is offline  
Old 2006-01-05, 12:08 AM   #33
ten7ryder
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 45
Default

I'm intrested in getting one of these players but have read a lot of users over at
AVS forum with macroblocking issues, lip synch issues. Anyone here experience any of these problems, and if you did, what and how did you get rid of or minimise the problems?

BTW, the S77 will be hooked up to my Sammy dlp HLR4264
ten7ryder is offline  
Old 2006-01-05, 12:22 AM   #34
rkh
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 86
Default

I got a S77s for Christmas hooked up to my 60" Sony SXRD.
I have had no negative issues what so ever with it. The picture is
rock solid.

If you configure the brightness to +8 and the contrast to -3 then
the DVD Player passes Better Than Black and Whiter Than White codes
to your TV. You then adjust your TV using DVE, Avia or THX optimizer
to then dial in the expanded video signal.
__________________
---
Build a man a fire and you warm him for a day.
Set a man on fire and you warm him for a lifetime.
rkh is offline  
Old 2006-01-05, 04:53 PM   #35
MediaRoomManiac
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ajax, ON
Posts: 299
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ten7ryder
I'm intrested in getting one of these players but have read a lot of users over at
AVS forum with macroblocking issues, lip synch issues. Anyone here experience any of these problems, and if you did, what and how did you get rid of or minimise the problems?

BTW, the S77 will be hooked up to my Sammy dlp HLR4264
If you do not like Macroblocking and it annoys the hell out of you, don't buy this player. If you have lip sync issues, the player gives you the option of adding a video delay to sync with the audio. I have my delay set to 20ms, you will have to try it out to see what works best for you.

Other than that, the player displays impressive PQ, has great features, is very fast (load, play, ff, fr, etc..), and has tonnes of tweaking ability.

I would buy the player from a store like BB or FS, or a place where you can return it to and then give it a try.. if you don't like it, return it and go for a different player.

And that's correct morkys.. upconversion only occurs via HDMI and not any other output. Component will output 480p max.

Another great player to consider is the Oppo, it also uses the Faroudja chipset and output via DVI, does not include its own cable and does not support DVD-Audio (which I want). Other than that, it was rated as pretty much #1 in players under $300 for PQ over DVI, the component output from what I've read is horrible and not even worth considering.

Please don't hesitate to ask me any questions about this player.
__________________
Sony KDL46HX800, BDPS470|Pio 1020|PS3 80G|Athena AS-F1s, C1|Energy VMinis, V10|Moto VIP1232|HOne|APC UPS
MediaRoomManiac is offline  
Old 2006-01-05, 11:32 PM   #36
ten7ryder
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MediaRoomManiac
If you do not like Macroblocking and it annoys the hell out of you, don't buy this player. If you have lip sync issues, the player gives you the option of adding a video delay to sync with the audio. I have my delay set to 20ms, you will have to try it out to see what works best for you.

Other than that, the player displays impressive PQ, has great features, is very fast (load, play, ff, fr, etc..), and has tonnes of tweaking ability.

I would buy the player from a store like BB or FS, or a place where you can return it to and then give it a try.. if you don't like it, return it and go for a different player.

And that's correct morkys.. upconversion only occurs via HDMI and not any other output. Component will output 480p max.

Another great player to consider is the Oppo, it also uses the Faroudja chipset and output via DVI, does not include its own cable and does not support DVD-Audio (which I want). Other than that, it was rated as pretty much #1 in players under $300 for PQ over DVI, the component output from what I've read is horrible and not even worth considering.

Please don't hesitate to ask me any questions about this player.
Thanks for the input guys. Guess I will just have to bite the bullet and go buy
it and try it out. I've also considered getting the Oppo, but could not find any local retailers that carry it as I hate buying stuff online. If I remembered correctly, I thought the Oppo comes with both DVI and DVI to HDMI cables?
ten7ryder is offline  
Old 2006-01-06, 11:53 PM   #37
morkys
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Rogers Cable
Posts: 402
Default

As far as macroblocking goes, I think you need to play chapter 22 of a Bug's Life. I saw the S77 play on my TX100 and it looked good.
morkys is offline  
Old 2006-01-07, 06:03 PM   #38
f o r b i d d n
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Alberta
Posts: 5
Default

There are plenty of S77's available through London Drugs. Make sure it's an LD with an AVS dept. before heading down.
f o r b i d d n is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:32 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.