C-band gear and install ? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Free to Air Satellite Television

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-07-02, 02:58 PM   #1
octopod
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chatham, Ont
Posts: 124
Default C-band gear and install ?

Last year I bought an older 10ft dish with all the acc. off Kijiji, which I never got a chance to try and install, partly due to time and partly due to lack of info. I have a few questions relating to install and also viability of the electronic parts I have.

What came with the dish: a Toshiba TRX-120 receiver/controller, and LMB is a Global Image model# 6939 Temp K 45 Gain 69db, plus actuator, brackets, etc

So what I want or need to know is, are the receiver and LMB any good(don't care about HD) for picking up any channels.

Also how far into the ground should the pipe go, and how much concrete,

the other question I have is if the receiver is no good can I hook up something like a coolsat (lots of old ones cheap when the pirating stopped) through it to use the internal controller to move the dish

Thanks and sorry for being so much of a noob at FTA
octopod is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-07-03, 09:41 AM   #2
classicsat
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,283
Default

That is an analog receiver. I am not too sure there is much there anymore in analog.

Yes, you can get a coolsat or other DVB-FTA receiver and use it with that dish (you may need a new LNB, should upgrade to a C/Ku feedhorn.) You can use the TRX 120 to control the dish motors, or get a G-box/V-box to run the dish from the FTA receiver.
classicsat is online now   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-07-06, 11:04 PM   #3
HDTV101
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,050
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by classicsat View Post
That is an analog receiver. I am not too sure there is much there anymore in analog.

.
There is zip in Analog these days unless you move to Thailand.
HDTV101 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:05 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.