Asus Eeebox 1021P/ AMD E450/ Radeon HD 6320 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > Home Theatre Personal Computer (HTPC) and Media Extenders

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-06-26, 10:27 PM   #1
adamadamant
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 15
Default Asus Eeebox 1021P/ AMD E450/ Radeon HD 6320

I bought this mini-pc for home theatre use a couple of months back, and while not totally disappointed (I use it primarily for audio, and therefore value its low power/ quietness), I am surprised at its inability to play HD video as streamed from both Netflix and the BBC iPlayer (via unblock-us). It drops frames and the audio is sometimes out of synch.
Reviews, before I bought the Asus PC, all said HD (but expressed in terms of 1080p video) would not be a problem for it. I realise that bit rate also comes into the equation, but BBC HD requires only 3.5 mbps and my internet package is 18 mbps (with Teksavvy cable), which should be more than adequate. Although the results are quite variable, the BBC's own website confirms an actual streaming rate of between 5- 10mbps whenever I test it.
Anybody else had any experience of this set-up? Any thoughts, observations, or explanations would be gratefully received.

Thanks,
Andy.

Ps. All the latest Radeon drivers etc. are installed.
adamadamant is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-06-27, 12:30 AM   #2
Tikker
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SaskTel
Posts: 999
Default

what codecs are installed? it could be something as simple as wrong codec being picked
Tikker is offline  
Old 2012-06-27, 12:22 PM   #3
adamadamant
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 15
Default

Here's a list of the codecs WMP says I have installed:

Type Name Format Binary Version
ICM Microsoft RLE MRLE msrle32.dll 6.1.7601.17514
ICM Microsoft Video 1 MSVC msvidc32.dll 6.1.7601.17514
ICM Microsoft YUV UYVY msyuv.dll 6.1.7601.17514
ICM Intel IYUV codec IYUV iyuv_32.dll 6.1.7601.17514
ICM Toshiba YUV Codec Y411 tsbyuv.dll 6.1.7601.17514
ICM Cinepak Codec by Radius cvid iccvid.dll 1.10.0.13
ICM ffdshow Video Codec FFDS ff_vfw.dll 1.2.4422.0
ICM Xvid MPEG-4 Codec XVID
ICM Lagarith Lossless Codec LAGS lagarith.dll 1.3.27.0
DMO Mpeg4s Decoder DMO mp4s, MP4S, m4s2, M4S2, MP4V, mp4v, XVID, xvid, DIVX, DX50 mp4sdecd.dll 6.1.7600.16385
DMO WMV Screen decoder DMO MSS1, MSS2 wmvsdecd.dll 6.1.7601.17514
DMO WMVideo Decoder DMO WMV1, WMV2, WMV3, WMVA, WVC1, WMVP, WVP2 wmvdecod.dll 6.1.7601.17514
DMO Mpeg43 Decoder DMO mp43, MP43 mp43decd.dll 6.1.7600.16385
DMO Mpeg4 Decoder DMO MPG4, mpg4, mp42, MP42 mpg4decd.dll 6.1.7600.16385
MPEG/DVD Filters

Type Name Binary Version
video ffdshow Video Decoder ffdshow.ax 1.2.4436.0
video LAV Video Decoder LAVVideo.ax 0.50.1.0
video ATI MPEG Video Decoder atimpenc.dll 12.4.0.20405
video Microsoft DTV-DVD Video Decoder msmpeg2vdec.dll 6.1.7140.0
audio ffdshow Audio Decoder ffdshow.ax 1.2.4436.0
audio LAV Audio Decoder LAVAudio.ax 0.50.1.0
audio Microsoft DTV-DVD Audio Decoder msmpeg2adec.dll 6.1.7140.0
adamadamant is offline  
Old 2012-06-27, 05:00 PM   #4
NineBall
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Whitby, ON
Posts: 274
Default

Codecs won't help. Netflix has known problems with GPU accelerated playback because of their Silverlight implementation (Microsoft and Netflix point fingers at each other). BBC probably falls under the same category. Your nettop then has to do software decoding which crushes the CPU and results in jerky playback. As for being capable of HD content, it is as long as it can be hardware accelerated (which any locally stored media should have no problem with).
NineBall is offline  
Old 2012-06-27, 11:30 PM   #5
adamadamant
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 15
Default

Thanks for your reply. At the time I bought the Asus, I was looking at make v. buy options, but as I mentioned in my OP, I was primarily concerned with quiet audio, and the Asus certainly fitted/ and still fits the bill.
The whole topic of HD (OTA v. TV cable/ Fibe v. various on-line streaming options) seems to be surrounded by a large dose of marketing bollocks and obfuscation. No service provider of video seems to be upfront about their streaming rates, with the consequence that the consumer is often left trying to make rational decisions in an irrational vacuum.
adamadamant is offline  
Old 2012-07-03, 12:38 AM   #6
Tikker
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SaskTel
Posts: 999
Default

yup

frustrating isn't it?

worst part of the whole thing is that the easiest way to get it all accomplished is the grey/semi questionable ways
Tikker is offline  
Old 2012-07-03, 04:04 PM   #7
recneps77
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Whitby
Posts: 2,815
Default

Did you update the graphics drivers?

I have a t56n (e350 equivalent) and it handles netflix no problem. Perhaps the ones I've been watching were lower bitrate..
Can you name a specific title you're having issues with? I'll give it a try on mine and see.
recneps77 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:26 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.