Linksys Wireless G - fast enough ? - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > Home Computing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-06-11, 01:23 PM   #16
ScaryBob
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,133
Default

Agreed, but wireless N will work well if a decent speed (signal) can be obtained. Dual band may be better in congested areas since the 5GHz band is lightly used. I've had pretty good luck using Linksys products for media. However, don't expect top results from USB dongles and routers with internal antennas. They are OK at short range but devices with external antennas will do better (or you can mod the E2500 by adding antennas.)
__________________
At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-06-11, 03:00 PM   #17
tandem
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 101
Default

If you have the ability to run cable, I say go for it.

I run a wireless interface on my BSD router for the internal clan but it is only used for cell phone and occasional laptop use. All the other devices run on our wired network which really is set and forget.
tandem is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-06-12, 11:41 AM   #18
Foxenhimr
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Barrhaven, Ottawa
Posts: 67
Default

OK, so it sounds like, "technically", the G router is capable of delivering the speed I'll require. I will be streaming HD content, so will definitely hardwire the HTPC, and probably the ARC 2112CI.

I have never heard of "DDWRT" before, but whatever it is, it sounds like my WRT54 will "do it"...will look into this...
Foxenhimr is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-06-12, 01:19 PM   #19
Wayne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,230
Default

This may not (yet) affect the OP but some older routers cannot handle faster WAN speeds. For many years I used an older Linksys WRT54G as my main router. When I upgraded to Rogers Ultimate internet (then 50 Mbps down, now 75 Mbps down) the maximum speed through my router was only around 20 Mbps. It turns out that these routers can only handle a maximum of 22 Mbps on the WAN side. Something to keep in mind.

Wireless can be flaky for streaming HD signals but your home may be fine - that can depend on many things including how congested your neighbourhood is with wifi networks and other devices on the same frequencies. CAT6/5E/5 wiring is the way to go, next I would try powerline or MOCA devices.

The other reason to use N rather than G is for faster data transfers between PCs or other devices. G may be sufficient for your 18 Mbps internet connection but if you want to speed up transfers of multi-gigabyte files then N is very nice to have.
Wayne is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-06-12, 01:32 PM   #20
JamesK
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 6,213
Default

^^^^
To get max throughput on N, make sure the access point is configured to use 2 channels, instead of 1.
JamesK is online now   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-06-12, 02:26 PM   #21
TorontoColin
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto, Wind Mobile, Teksavvy Extreme Cable
Posts: 3,648
Default

As continuing with your G router costs you nothing, I'd recommend you see how it works as is, and then experiment with alternate firmwares or new routers if you find your router isn't up to the task.
__________________
Rules of the Forum | DHC Help Desk
DHC now supports Tapatalk for mobile devices!
TorontoColin is online now   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-06-12, 10:42 PM   #22
Tikker
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SaskTel
Posts: 1,002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxenhimr View Post
OK, so it sounds like, "technically", the G router is capable of delivering the speed I'll require. I will be streaming HD content, so will definitely hardwire the HTPC, and probably the ARC 2112CI.

I have never heard of "DDWRT" before, but whatever it is, it sounds like my WRT54 will "do it"...will look into this...
if you're going to use ethernet, then pretty much any old router will work just fine for you


via the LAN ports, the linksys will push 70-80mbps which is tons for streaming
Tikker is offline   Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:04 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.