World's Digital OTA TV Standards: ATSC, DVB-T, ISDB-T, DTMB - Page 4 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Over-The-Air (OTA) Digital Television

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2009-02-10, 11:54 AM   #46
recneps77
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Whitby
Posts: 2,815
Default

LCD's last for what seems like forever - unless they're damaged physically (i.e. bump/hit/smash the screen with something) or the backlight goes (just need a new backlight and it's good to go)
While CRT is the "tested and true" technology, I wouldnt stake my money on it lasting longer than my LCD
recneps77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2009-02-10, 11:12 PM   #47
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 23,798
Default

Discussion of actual TVs is best done in 57's forums and threads.

Back to the topic please...
stampeder is offline  
Old 2009-02-16, 03:32 PM   #48
tablo
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 538
Default

Is ATSC standard only the standard that has capablity of subchannels?
tablo is offline  
Old 2009-02-16, 07:07 PM   #49
GeorgeMx
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 738
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tablo View Post
Is ATSC standard only the standard that has capablity of subchannels?
No. Any digital system using an MPEG transport stream can be broken into multiple channels. The number of channels depends on the type of program content (HD, SD) and the total available data capacity of the transport channel. I think all the digital TV broadcast systems around the world use some version of MPEG transport stream. The digital transmitters (DVB-T) in the UK have multiple SD programs but no HD as far as I know.
GeorgeMx is offline  
Old 2009-02-18, 02:29 PM   #50
classicsat
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,242
Default

The UK is getting terrsitral HD in a couple of years. They have it on satellite and I think cable, and I think only one or two channels at best.

Their current digital OTA network is nearly a decade old, and owned by a private company operating under contract from the various broadcasters. They have also for that time primarily been broadcasting widescreen and TVs, including SD sets, have been widescreen. AFAIK, a large propoertion of UK residents receive their TV from antenna, compared to here and the USA, whom tend to subscribe to pay TV services.
classicsat is offline  
Old 2010-02-24, 11:07 PM   #51
RamKat
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 474
Question ATSC Sub Channels Like DVB-T?

Are they multiplexed on demand (like the DVB-T system) or are fixed bit rates assigned to each sub channel?
RamKat is offline  
Old 2010-02-25, 02:43 PM   #52
holl_ands
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,135
Default

Depends on how each station decides to configure their equipment.
If the engineering staff decides to allocate Constant Bit Rates (CBR)
to all sub-channels, then they don't "steal" bits from less busy programs.
In San Diego, this is typically used when there are none or only one
video sub-channel.

But if they configure it for Variable Bit Rates (VBR), busy programs
can "steal" bits from less busy programs.

You can look at the TSReader Output reports for US markets here:
http://www.rabbitears.info/market.php
In San Diego, KNSD and KSWB use Variable Bit Rate (VBR),
and the "unknown" report for KPBS appears to also be VBR.
Rather than reporting a Constant Bit Rate setting, when in VBR
mode, the TSR report shows the station setting a ridiculously
high bit rate (e.g. 90 Mbps!!!)....probably a maximum assigned value.

Statistical Multiplexers have been in use for many years on both Cable and OTA.
Here are some ATSC OTA experiences:
http://broadcastengineering.com/digi...ultiplexing_5/
http://broadcastengineering.com/hdtv...hd-sd-channel/
http://broadcastengineering.com/news...s-pipe-090709/
but KAXT is now down to 12 "SD" video and 3 audio channels:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...php?p=18054979
[PS: Our cable system (QAM is twice the data rate) only carries 13 SD programs.]

A Harmonic White Paper from 2002:
http://www.harmonicinc.com/view_collateral.cfm?ID=51
Note how the MPEG2 coding efficiency has improved over the years,
making it possible to stack more and more programs:
https://secure.connect.pbs.org/confe...tat.Muxing.pdf
The H.264 (MPEG4) coding efficiency curve has only just begun to come down
from 2:1 more efficient than MPEG2 to about 3:1 more efficient....so far....
holl_ands is online now  
Old 2010-02-25, 11:34 PM   #53
RamKat
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 474
Default

Thanks for a as usual complete reply holl_ands
RamKat is offline  
Old 2012-06-07, 05:29 AM   #54
nbound-au
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 40
Default

The current multiplex for the ABC (Australian Broadcasting Corporation) in Australia:

LCN, Channel Name, Res
2, ABC 1, SD (576i)
21, ABC 1 (same as above, links to exact same datastream in the multiplex)
22, ABC 2, SD (576i)
23, ABC 3, SD (576i)
24, ABC News 24, HD (720p)
200, ABC Dig Music, DVB-T Radio
201, ABC Jazz, DVB-T Radio

Currently we use MPEG2, and the original DVB-T standard, with 7Mhz width channels

Last edited by stampeder; 2012-06-07 at 10:40 AM. Reason: quote removed as per my reply
nbound-au is offline  
Old 2012-06-07, 10:37 AM   #55
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 23,798
Default

We shouldn't be quoting posts from almost 4 years ago for replies. Anyways a general information post or update is always welcome for fresh discussion.
stampeder is offline  
Old 2013-04-08, 10:51 AM   #56
adamUK
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 1
Default ROM1 DVB-T (Saint-Pierre et Miquelon) reception in Newfoundland

Hi everyone, I'm new here. Just a question out of interest for you all as I live in the United Kingdom so have no real knowledge myself. Just curious :

After France completed their digital switchover in 2011; the overseas territories including St-Pierre et Miquelon all went digital too using our European DVB-T standard with 576i 50Hz video.

Having done a bit of reading, I found that some Canadian cable providers used to pick up Saint-Pierre et Miquelon 1ère (RFO) via an antenna in Newfoundland with pretty ropey quality and carry it in their offers.

As Canadian providers are allowed to do this, I've read that with the arrival of TNT including all of the public national French channels (France 2, France 3 etc.) in the islands, Viaccess encryption has been deployed to protect the broadcasts. From what I understand though, SPM 1ère remains unencrypted. I was just curious as to whether any of you in the areas of Canada nearest to Saint-Pierre et Miquelon can receive the multiplex in DVB-T? I'm guessing DVB-T equipment is rare over though (I've never seen any ATSC equipment at all myself!)

Also, on a related (but not to OTA reception) note. I've seen that SPM 1ère is still available via Canadian cable and satellite providers via a satellite link provided by SPM Telecom on the islands. What's the quality of this like? I'm guessing the picture must be a little poor owing to transcoding from 576i at 50Hz to 480i at 60Hz?

Thanks to anyone who can give any info.
adamUK is offline  
Old 2013-12-29, 03:17 AM   #57
micah
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: London,Ontario
Posts: 461
Default

Hey everyone,

I moved to Sydney (Australia) so I won't be posting much relevant information over the next year. I'll be following along though to see how you're all doing.

OTA is popular here, so I might just let you know what I get when I'm able to get it.
__________________
Winegard HD 7084P pointed at Paris and a CM7777
micah is online now  
Old 2013-12-29, 09:01 AM   #58
mdawdy
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Old South, London, ON
Posts: 54
Default

Well, when you said Sydney it is good that you also said Australia, or we would think you were merely down east rather than down under. Sounds like one of life's exciting journeys - hope it all goes well.

Please do let us know what is the OTA situation there. It will be interesting to hear along with details of your adventure. I have friends who i have never met in person in Australia from my IronHead motorcycle forum.

Thank you for the help while you were here. All the best in this new adventure,

Mick
mdawdy is online now  
Old 2013-12-29, 02:29 PM   #59
Bark64
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London, On
Posts: 225
Smile

Wow, that is exciting news Micah. Good luck downunder. I've heard from other people that they really like Canadians. I would also be interested to know what channels you can get, how many, quality, Hd or Sd etc.. I will think of you every time I look at my antenna tower! It is still standing btw.
__________________
CM 4221hd, CM 7777, CM 9521A, 30 foot tower, Farthest station KWKB Iowa City, Iowa 525 miles.
Bark64 is offline  
Old 2013-12-30, 08:46 PM   #60
Emerald_Boar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: (SoHo area) London ON
Posts: 713
Default

According to rabbitears.info australia database.

There are just 5 main national channels in each city.
ABC, NINE, SBS, SEVEN & TEN. (maybe subchannels?)
Perth does have an IND channel though.

Oh, have fun micah.
__________________
OTA: DB8 + Y5 2-6 + CM777. FTA: 30W + 72W + 87W + 97W
Emerald_Boar is offline  
Reply

Tags
atsc, hdtv

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:54 PM.

OTA Forum Sponsor


Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.