Loss of HD signal - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Videotron

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-01-10, 10:35 AM   #1
rainey
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 329
Default Loss of HD signal

Last night I noticed continual loss of the HD signal. Screen would go black for about 1 sec come back for about a minute and then black again. When I switched to the corresponding SD channel and then back to the HD channel it was fine. This happened on different channels US and Canadian.

Has anyone noticed this?
rainey is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-01-10, 04:24 PM   #2
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,697
Default

Did you check your signals strength and S/N ratio at the time? Often if the weather is cold there is contraction of the metals and sometimes the connections outside are not as good as they were in summer. If you have a marginal signal, it can explain the issue. And yes, it can affect different channels differently. The higher QAM frequencies are usually affected first.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=17719
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-05-13, 09:18 AM   #3
silverdragon
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 57
Default

Is your hd box plugged into your TV via HDMI?

Another possibility can be simply a bad syncro between your TV and receiver if the problem becomes recurring. In those cases you need to shut everything down, unplug your receiver from the wall, unplug the HDMI cable, and plug your power cable back in. Wait for the boot THEN plug the HDMI cable back in (once you see the time your receiver is booted)

It happens more often with boxes that are left on during the night, but it could happen with any box that is plugged via HDMI, its one of these boxes failings.
silverdragon is offline   Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:12 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.