Bell TV Pricing and Programming Packages Discussion - Page 26 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Bell Canada Enterprises (BCE) > Bell Satellite TV

Digital Home Helpful Information

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-05-02, 12:55 PM   #376
moosefan
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Halifax
Posts: 264
Default

I just made changes to my old themes online with self serve without any problem. They actually opened up the ability to choose new theme packs which wasn't the case last week. Last week you could only remove packs under the old programming.
moosefan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-05-02, 02:31 PM   #377
Stan Dev
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: West Vancouver
Posts: 369
Default

It is indeed very confusing why some of us under the old plan can still view and change our programming online, while others can't. But Bell often baffles.

For what it's worth, I'm using Firefox from a Mac (Bell's website has always acted flakey for Safari), and I can still access the "Change programming" feature, including the option to either change to the new G-B-B plan or change the selections in my existing plan.
Stan Dev is offline  
Old 2012-05-02, 05:59 PM   #378
Bayguy
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 646
Default

Stan FWIW I cant download Bell bills with FireFox so I have to use Safari!

Havent tried the pgm changing page.
Bayguy is offline  
Old 2012-05-02, 09:54 PM   #379
Davage
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 115
Default

I tried to use Firefox to change programming, and I got the same. I wonder if it is something to do with the exact packages that I subscribe to. I have some of the VERY old packages, such as the Sports1 package that includes TSN, TSN2 and the Sportsnet channels.
Davage is offline  
Old 2012-05-02, 10:39 PM   #380
Thussy
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
Question Can Bell match Rogers deals?

Hi guys,

Short story: I have Rogers for free 1 year through the builder, and am looking to switch to Bell for the below reason. Does Bell do anything to match these sorts of deals?

Long story:
I just moved into a new home and had the house wired with Cat6 throughout, including to the televisions.

I'm using Atlona HDbaseT baluns to the televisions with a Gefen matrix, and have Roomie Remote setup with IP2IR repeaters ready to go to control all my video sources in the basement, and shoot them to the rooms.

I had trialed it out on my current place's Bell HD box, and it all worked beautifully.

Fast forward, moved into the new place, setup my Rogers HD box (free for 1 year with the builder), and it can't do the HDCP handshake. Try their new Nextbox 2.0 stuff, and once again, no luck. I'm going to try the HD PVR as a last chance, in hopes of it pulling throught, but I'm not holding my breath.

Appreciate any input! (Edit by 57: regarding the Bell Deals, not regarding the HDCP issue discussed in another thread)

Last edited by 57; 2012-05-03 at 12:12 AM. Reason: Avoiding duplicate discussions.
Thussy is offline  
Old 2012-05-02, 11:49 PM   #381
jovini
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 32
Default

Just tried to adjust my programming, and it worked. (It didn't a few days ago) Sports 1 (Old) is still there.

jovini is offline  
Old 2012-05-03, 12:22 AM   #382
reidw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Stratford, PE.
Posts: 3,067
Default

Just completed a programming change involving the old packages. Dropped More Variety HD. No problems. Save about $5.00 before taxes. Confirmation e-mail was received immediately.

Frankly I don't get it. Why is Bell letting old customers continue to change their old packages? Perhaps they are having second thoughts about offering Good/Better/Best? Might this be a failed experiment that is about to be dropped?
reidw is offline  
Old 2012-05-03, 09:29 AM   #383
gmd
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Gloucester, ON
Posts: 791
Default

I wouldn't be surprised. Lots of people have been complaining.

Maybe it's time for a new marketing department?

-gmd
__________________
SC: 8-Feb-02>21-Jul-09 (TFO) | EVu: 23-Jan to 03-Feb-07, back 20-Jun-09
Bell, French packages, pls! Long live OTA!
gmd is offline  
Old 2012-05-04, 11:15 PM   #384
rogue17
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,038
Default

Bell basic in Quebec will go up by $1 along with the $2 increase.
Internet and phone will both go up by $1.
rogue17 is online now  
Old 2012-05-07, 03:53 AM   #385
SportsFan
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Nanaimo, BC
Posts: 900
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slash View Post
So I called into Bell to try and get a complete list of channels that I would loose if I switch to the new packages (already knowing that CTS and FAN 590 are gone when I switch living in SK).
Hmm, those two don't say "* Varies by local region" in the latest brochure like CHEX, CHEK and the networks do. What else will we lose if we switch to the new packages?
SportsFan is online now  
Old 2012-05-13, 09:00 AM   #386
moosefan
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Halifax
Posts: 264
Default

Looks like Bell has reinstated their downgrade programming as of next billing date policy. Dropped some programming this morning under the old programming and got the message that the changes will take effect June 9. It was nice when the changes took place immediately.
moosefan is offline  
Old 2012-05-13, 09:27 AM   #387
reidw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Stratford, PE.
Posts: 3,067
Default

@moosefan: Just be grateful that you can downgrade again without having to argue with a CSR.
reidw is offline  
Old 2012-05-13, 01:47 PM   #388
rogue17
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,038
Default

reidw
Quote:
Just be grateful that you can downgrade again without having to argue with a CSR.
Oh that is so true.
rogue17 is online now  
Old 2012-05-18, 06:52 AM   #389
sixer
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 310
Thumbs down

I still can't change my packages on-line either and I'm on the old package. Shame on Bell for not allowing us existing customers to compare and their price increase on time-shifting for old package is another attempt to push us to new plans.
sixer is offline  
Old 2012-05-18, 07:29 AM   #390
reidw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Stratford, PE.
Posts: 3,067
Default

@sixer: Funny but I had no trouble changing (dropping) an old HD theme pack last week. FWIW, I've never had a problem using Bell TV's self-serve website when I've wanted to make changes. I wonder if the problems many here seem to having may be related to either setting in your browsers or perhaps to your settings in Norton or other Internet security software. Might be worth investigating before blaming ma Bell.

Now as for the price increase in time-shifting. I think it's a matter of fairness. While there's no easy way to compare the old theme pack prices with the new GBB, is it really fair that those of us on the old timeshifting should pay less than those on the new offering? I think Bell TV is just trying to "level" the field for their old and new customers.
reidw is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:26 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.