CLOSED — Shaw Gateway: Code update to iS2 & iS2+ - Page 89 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Shaw Communications > Shaw Cable HD tuner and HD PVR Discussion > Shaw Gateway

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-04-17, 03:31 PM   #1321
Cio-Pao
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Calgary, AB | Samsung TV's | Gateway with 6 portals
Posts: 23
Default

hello folks, the update we've been waiting for will happen tomorrow (this was confirmed by 3 different persons from the gateway team...but please don't shoot me if the said update doesn't happen tomorrow ).

Also, I've heard that the menu will be a lot quicker, the trick mode is more responsive, more information on galaxy channels will be seen (like artist, album name), installer tool will be different and a lot easier to use for the technician....and of course, more bugs are fixed.
Cio-Pao is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-04-17, 04:43 PM   #1322
Jetranger
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs,ShawGateway&6Portals DCX3400&3200, 5ShawExpanders:3WD,Seagate,iOmega Harmony One
Posts: 3,537
Default

I'm guessing you haven't been following this thread for long as I reported that previously. I'm pretty sure my info is 'up to date' but perhaps you have better sources than I do.
__________________
If you want more then ask for it rather than going hungry. If you want more than I have then you should ask. They're going to park their car over there.
Jetranger is offline  
Old 2012-04-17, 06:45 PM   #1323
sailorickm
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Calgary, AB ShawGateway & 3 Portals, Shaw 1TB Expander, Sony 3D KDL-46HX729, HTSF470, 2 BDPS580
Posts: 165
Default

I wonder if they've changed the secret keypresses that enter into the installer mode?
sailorickm is offline  
Old 2012-04-17, 07:24 PM   #1324
TechGuy8
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Cal Gary
Posts: 335
Default

No, I got into the installer tool a few hours ago.

Make sure your are on the "Channel List" before hitting back, next, back, next.
TechGuy8 is online now  
Old 2012-04-17, 07:49 PM   #1325
Jetranger
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs,ShawGateway&6Portals DCX3400&3200, 5ShawExpanders:3WD,Seagate,iOmega Harmony One
Posts: 3,537
Default

I think he meant; will it change with the next code since it will be a 'dashboard'. I think the process will be the same but we will know next week when it does come out.

There is a new code going out to Shaw testers tomorrow and that might be what is confusing the issue here. The general public won't get the 'update' until next week.
__________________
If you want more then ask for it rather than going hungry. If you want more than I have then you should ask. They're going to park their car over there.
Jetranger is offline  
Old 2012-04-17, 08:04 PM   #1326
sailorickm
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Calgary, AB ShawGateway & 3 Portals, Shaw 1TB Expander, Sony 3D KDL-46HX729, HTSF470, 2 BDPS580
Posts: 165
Default

Hmmm, for a minute there I thought TechGuy8 let it slip that he's an employee who has the update already!!! ;-)

The fellow who mentioned a "big update" in June; I wonder if that's the one that will enable DLNA and WiFi?
sailorickm is offline  
Old 2012-04-17, 08:24 PM   #1327
Jetranger
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs,ShawGateway&6Portals DCX3400&3200, 5ShawExpanders:3WD,Seagate,iOmega Harmony One
Posts: 3,537
Default

I'm checking on the new 'Dashboard' access. There will be a 'bump' to the system this Thursday, the 19th. Then starting on the 24th, next Tuesday, the latest public code, 7.0.1b.17, will be pushed to us.

As with any software update to this system, it can take up to 30 minutes once it starts and you will be prompted to 'restart' once it has completed the download. Since this will likely happen in the middle of the night, many will not see the 'restart' message and the system will reboot itself as long as there are no scheduled recordings at the same time.

Now, as to the 'big update', yes, that is the one that should have DLNA included but we won't know the actual release date until just before it happens since there are just too many variables. There will be at least one more release before that one and it should have a lot of fixes that we are looking for that aren't already in the code to be sent next week.

EDIT: Accessing the new 'Dashboard' will be the same as getting into the 'Installer Tool' is now.
__________________
If you want more then ask for it rather than going hungry. If you want more than I have then you should ask. They're going to park their car over there.
Jetranger is offline  
Old 2012-04-18, 03:10 AM   #1328
mmmbiscuits
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Vancouver un55d8000,shaw gateway
Posts: 31
Default Shaw Gateway Incorrect Guide

Is there a reason why I have seen (more so recently) incorrect shows listed than actually displayed?

My time is correct and everything for the most part is working perfectly except from time to time it just displays the incorrect title of a program.

For example there's a soccer game on ch254 and it's displayed as highlights or something, or Champions League today and tomorrow listed as English Premier League which to the many who know what I'm talking about is completely different.

Anyone?

Thanks,

I looked very hard to try to find a previous question/answer in the forum but couldn't find any.
mmmbiscuits is offline  
Old 2012-04-18, 02:57 PM   #1329
sixpac
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 101
Default

Jet, if and when DLNA gets enabled on the gateway do you know what exactly it will bring to us on this system?

Thanks
sixpac is offline  
Old 2012-04-18, 03:18 PM   #1330
Jetranger
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs,ShawGateway&6Portals DCX3400&3200, 5ShawExpanders:3WD,Seagate,iOmega Harmony One
Posts: 3,537
Default

I don't, actually, because Shaw keeps changing how they are planning on implementing it, from what I hear. There are several ways it could function and there are security issues with some of them and they of course want to get it right. I would think that once we get closer to the release of DLNA that I will hear how it should work and what it will and won't do. I have a WHS and a 12TB homebuilt server I'd love to tie into my Gateway but I can't move anything around until I know what will be possible or required when it is available.
__________________
If you want more then ask for it rather than going hungry. If you want more than I have then you should ask. They're going to park their car over there.
Jetranger is offline  
Old 2012-04-18, 05:47 PM   #1331
sailorickm
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Calgary, AB ShawGateway & 3 Portals, Shaw 1TB Expander, Sony 3D KDL-46HX729, HTSF470, 2 BDPS580
Posts: 165
Default

It would be cool if a DLNA TV (or computer) could access recorded shows on the gateway without a portal, but I doubt we'd ever see that!
sailorickm is offline  
Old 2012-04-18, 10:08 PM   #1332
Cudtz
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Canada:Sony,Samsung,Panasonic TV's.Gateway + 3 Portals,Tube TV -HD Box(moto),VAIO,PS3,BR,Sling,Cisco
Posts: 38
Lightbulb

I agree, access via dlna capable devices that are not portals would be nice, and really a smart move I think. The Rogers commercials with the TV anywhere and the family watching on the tablet comes to mind; also the use of xbox 360 with Telus TV. If it was done through an app, I don't see why it couldn't be locked to specific gateways. (have it set up like VOD with either your email or shaw username and the serial number of your gateway box. On the gateway under settings, add a tab for registered devices, including portals. With the option to label each device (as well as show the MAC adresses of all the non portal devices registered with the Gateway, just for extra confirmation).

1 possible example (Brackets represent submenus under each label. Customizable labels. Portals would be automatically locked in - could change label and portal number but nothing else. DLNA devices could be individually labelled, but MAC adress would be locked once registered or paired with the Gateway.)
Bedroom (Portal 1)(Serial no 1)
Kitchen (Portal 2)(Serial no 2)
Porch (Tablet - IOS or Android) (MAC Adress 1)
Bedroom 2 (Portal 3) (Serial no 3)
Media/Games Room (PS3) (Mac Adress 2)

I realize others may have had the same idea. Either way I look forward to the dlna and wifi capabilities; whenever it arrives.
Cudtz is offline  
Old 2012-04-18, 11:26 PM   #1333
sailorickm
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Calgary, AB ShawGateway & 3 Portals, Shaw 1TB Expander, Sony 3D KDL-46HX729, HTSF470, 2 BDPS580
Posts: 165
Default

I'm looking forward to the DLNA even though my two BD players and my TV (all Sony) all have wireless DLNA. They connect to my wireless router. It's only "g", not "n", but seems to handle the largest resolution avi files I have tried.

I haven't actually thought of any use for the wifi in the gateway itself! Is there any benefit? Is it meant for communication to the gateway, or does it have a full router/firewall etc for access to the outside world?

The gateway is in an enclosure with the power panel and the cable POI, etc. It's in my daughter's bedroom in the basement. The wireless router is in the den on the main floor.
sailorickm is offline  
Old 2012-04-20, 12:25 AM   #1334
Flash604
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Abbotsford, BC
Posts: 162
Default

Streaming to computers, tablets, phones, etc. is a possible future expansion. It would be through an Arris app that you would have to install on the device, and would be within the confines of your house. Shaw has it low on their priorities, they did not think it was as highly desired as many of the other possible expansions.
Flash604 is offline  
Old 2012-04-20, 12:30 AM   #1335
sixpac
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 101
Default

Low on the list? Are they nuts?.. that is high on my list and I am sure highly desired by much of their customers.

First on my list is actually getting more HD channels.. Shaw is seriously lacking in that department (coming from Bell last November).
sixpac is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:06 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.