Splitter question - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Bell Canada Enterprises (BCE) > Bell Satellite TV Hardware Installation Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-02-17, 01:13 PM   #16
Pinza
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 9,688
Default

Almost. As I said in the post above, all you need is a DPP Twin and the DPP Separator, along with an F81 (barrel connector 3Ghz).

The DPP Twin, will replace BOTH existing Legacy LNBF's and will give you 91 & 82, the Dish will not require any adjustments as long as you do not move it while changing the LNBF's, just 2 screws.

Remove the SW44 and sell that plus the LNBF's and Power Supply/Inserter to recover some if not all the cost of the DPP Stuff.
Pinza is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-02-17, 01:22 PM   #17
soulpole
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 14
Default

Oh yeah, forgot about the f-81 which i might already have at home. One question about the lnb is that it looks like it has only 3 connections on it where my current one has 4. Sorry if I sound like a noob, as this dpp stuff is all new to me. Im used to the sw44 and sw21 terms
soulpole is offline  
Old 2012-02-17, 01:27 PM   #18
Pinza
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 9,688
Default

The DPP Twin LNBF has 2 x OUTPUTS, these are the ones you will use. The other "F" connector is an INPUT, this is not used by Bell TV.



The 2 together are OUTPUTS.
Pinza is online now  
Old 2012-02-17, 01:36 PM   #19
soulpole
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 14
Default

Thanks Pinza, much appreciated. Just a little confused with these new switches and lnb's.

Going to probe ebay and kijiji and see whats around locally
soulpole is offline  
Old 2012-02-17, 01:41 PM   #20
Chickenman
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 73
Default

What would the input on the lnb ever be used for ?
Chickenman is offline  
Old 2012-02-17, 01:51 PM   #21
Pinza
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 9,688
Default

For a 3rd orbital location from a separate Dish/DP or DPP LNBF.
Pinza is online now  
Old 2012-02-17, 01:55 PM   #22
m3repair
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: GTA (Greater Toronto Area) , ON
Posts: 461
Default

Sorry Pinza I didn't read Post 9 clearly enough, eyes not so good without the glasses.

Anyways to answer the last posters question, The original intention of the input port was to take the output of a Dish Pro Single LNBF from another orbital location (so in dish-network land you would have 119 and 110 (for us 91 and 82) and you would have another satellite added such as 61.5 or 148 usually used for international or HDTV channels.

crs75 your post about using the back feed cable and just installing a F81 and just a DPP Twin is even better, much simpler as well if he isn't allowed to drill or add any more wires into the wall

Last edited by m3repair; 2012-02-17 at 02:11 PM. Reason: not thanking the correct person
m3repair is offline  
Old 2012-02-17, 02:00 PM   #23
Pinza
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 9,688
Default

That was not my post.

Credit where it is due, it was posted by crs75.

I am sure I did post that solution years ago, when we first started using DPP Twins, before Bell approved them but on this occasion it was crs75 that posted that solution, I was merely thanking him for the most straight froward non complex solution I have seen on this Forum for a hell of a long time.
Pinza is online now  
Old 2012-02-17, 02:12 PM   #24
m3repair
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: GTA (Greater Toronto Area) , ON
Posts: 461
Default

I think what makes this worse Pinza, Is I had my glasses on

CRS75 credit for you has been given, quick, clean, and simple solution!
m3repair is offline  
Old 2012-04-09, 07:41 PM   #25
Nicks
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 7
Default DPP Twin Input

I am going to be using two dishes. One for 91 and one for 82. Can I feed one of the dishes into the input on the DPP Twin or do I have to switch to an SW44 setup. Just trying to save a little work. Thanks
Nicks is offline  
Old 2012-04-09, 07:48 PM   #26
Pinza
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 9,688
Default

You cannot mix DP/DPP with Legacy equipment. If the LNBF's you plan on using are Legacy, then you will have to use SW44's etc.
Pinza is online now  
Old 2012-04-09, 09:20 PM   #27
Nicks
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Thank you.
Nicks is offline  
Old 2012-07-03, 12:18 AM   #28
monkeyhunk
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: ON
Posts: 531
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinza View Post
That my friend, is the most sensible post I have read on this Forum in years. Thanks.

Yes this is a perfect option and even as a DIY project, following your directions it will be easy. Total cost for DIY is just a DPP Twin & Separator.
DIY project? That's SOP for me. I get at least one of those MPEG swaps every week or two. My only complaint is that Bell likes to book them as warranty or repair calls, but we can usually raise enough hell to get them coded for more time.

I'd almost say I'd take those all day long but you more often than not get some real rats' nests with accounts old enough to have 9200's or even 9242's.
monkeyhunk is offline  
Old 2012-07-03, 05:50 AM   #29
Pinza
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 9,688
Default

With the use of a Toner that all installers should carry it is a breeze.

If it takes more than an hour you did not prove the lines first but jumped headlong into it, IMHO.
Pinza is online now  
Old 2012-07-04, 10:46 PM   #30
monkeyhunk
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: ON
Posts: 531
Default

I know that. What I'm saying is it just being a complete mess, lines spliced and cobbled together, crap flying everywhere. You've been there.
monkeyhunk is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:04 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.