Rogers Atlantic Simsub Discussions - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Rogers Communications > Rogers Cable - Atlantic Canada

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2011-10-04, 09:46 PM   #1
TheHulk
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 732
Default Rogers Atlantic Simsub Discussions

My HD channels are now all sim-subbed, it was one of the few reasons I never left Rogers. I thought they had to provide an HD OTA channel in market to do this, or have they changed the rules?
__________________
Hitachi 51 GWX 20B | Sony STRDE845 Receiver | Rogers NB 6208 PVR + 2500 | Proson V6 Speakers | 16 x 22 Basement HT
TheHulk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2011-10-05, 12:08 AM   #2
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,491
Default

After the OTA changeover to digital (most HD), most providers are now simsubbing just about anything. If there is no HD OTA channel in your area and it's being subbed, then contact Rogers and the CRTC, but be aware that global subbing is happening with most providers.

Also, some providers get their signals from other providers, so if they're subbing, then Rogers can do little and will claim so and the CRTC will likely agree with their philosophy. For example, Rogers gets some of their channels in Atlantic via Bell, therefore if Bell is subbing, then the same signals on Rogers will be subbed.

PS. Due to the way Bell does its subbing (mostly nationally), sometimes there is no local OTA channel, however you will get the simsub anyway because it's a national simsub. Bell has CRTC approval for this method.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2011-10-05, 12:19 PM   #3
TheHulk
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 732
Default I was afraid of that

None the less, a letter to both will be sent, I know it's most likely a waste of time but I'm not a take it lying down kinda guy.

This sucks, not that I'm a big lover of american adds, it just seems, and maybe its just in my head but the picure quality of the sim-sub isn't as good and missing the timing of the adds swiching over and back is annoying.
__________________
Hitachi 51 GWX 20B | Sony STRDE845 Receiver | Rogers NB 6208 PVR + 2500 | Proson V6 Speakers | 16 x 22 Basement HT
TheHulk is offline  
Old 2011-10-05, 12:58 PM   #4
woodsie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 256
Default

Don't forget the common missing previews of next week's episode of your favorite show when they flip the subsim over to a new feed way too soon.
woodsie is offline  
Old 2011-10-05, 05:16 PM   #5
Danster
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincoln.NB Pop 465,123
Posts: 5,778
Default

^^^^..also when they forget to switch back between shows, you miss the first portion or the last portion of the un-simsubbed channel.
__________________
Home Theatre: Yamaha HTR-6190, Klipsch Speakers, SANYO PLV-Z4, TOSHIBA HDDVD, LG BD555C, Cerwin Vega HTS12 Sub, VIP2300, XBox 360, HTPC.
Danster is offline  
Old 2011-10-05, 06:18 PM   #6
woodsie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 256
Default

Common theme: We have 2nd class broadcasting (err..re-broadcasting) in Canada..
woodsie is offline  
Old 2011-10-05, 07:37 PM   #7
TheHulk
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 732
Angry

It's truly a sad state of affairs we Canadian's put up with in TV, we pay way more than top dollar for the service only to be at the becon call of canadian brodcasters who do very little to make our service better other than to tag along and profit.
__________________
Hitachi 51 GWX 20B | Sony STRDE845 Receiver | Rogers NB 6208 PVR + 2500 | Proson V6 Speakers | 16 x 22 Basement HT
TheHulk is offline  
Old 2011-10-09, 08:04 PM   #8
kirjtc2
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 677
Default

I'd like to thank Rogers for simsubbing the Amazing Race tonight. Even though it was delayed on CBS by over half an hour due to football.

I never wanted to see the rest of 60 Minutes anyway.
kirjtc2 is offline  
Old 2011-10-10, 02:30 PM   #9
woodsie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 256
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kirjtc2 View Post
I'd like to thank Rogers for simsubbing the Amazing Race tonight. Even though it was delayed on CBS by over half an hour due to football.

I never wanted to see the rest of 60 Minutes anyway.
Indeed this is the ONLY example of the "positive" of subsimming.
woodsie is offline  
Old 2011-10-10, 03:37 PM   #10
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,491
Default

I thought post 8 was sarcasm. Oh well.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2011-11-21, 08:05 PM   #11
kirjtc2
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 677
Default

Hey, another botched simsub!

ABC Boston is not airing Dancing with the Stars tonight due to the Patriots game.

The CTV simsub kicked in anyway.
kirjtc2 is offline  
Old 2011-11-26, 11:05 PM   #12
TheHulk
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 732
Default I'm confused

So its Saturday night 11 pm, watching Big Bang on Fox East in Atlantic Time Zone and it's simsubbed by CTV but their not showing it on their feed at the same time, is that legit?
__________________
Hitachi 51 GWX 20B | Sony STRDE845 Receiver | Rogers NB 6208 PVR + 2500 | Proson V6 Speakers | 16 x 22 Basement HT
TheHulk is offline  
Old 2011-11-27, 06:44 PM   #13
TheHulk
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 732
Default Sunday, this time football

So TSN is simsubbing the CBS feed, previous game to this one, and the New England, Philly game is on but I'm halfway through the first quarter aind I'm watching Sportscenter and City is showing the game on their channel, wtf?
__________________
Hitachi 51 GWX 20B | Sony STRDE845 Receiver | Rogers NB 6208 PVR + 2500 | Proson V6 Speakers | 16 x 22 Basement HT
TheHulk is offline  
Old 2011-12-01, 12:38 PM   #14
canam778
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 24
Default I Want The Real Channel!

If I am paying for HD ch.523, WBZ in Boston; I want WBZ in Boston.
The simsub of Sunday`s Patriot`s game was delayed 35 minuites as some idiot forgot to switch back. Missed most of the 1st Quarter. Not a happy camper!
canam778 is offline  
Old 2012-04-08, 08:13 PM   #15
canam778
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 24
Default Rogers: STOP Simulcasting

Time after time Rogers forgets to switchback to the US channel and it's originating signal. Instead I'm forced to watch, Global or CTV on the designated US HD channel.
At this very moment, following the Masters Golf, Rogers has forgot to change ch. 523 back to CBS Boston. Now, instead of watching 60 Minutes, I'm watching(not) The Good Wife on Global.
This action is Mickey Mouse by Rogers. I'm fed up.

Last edited by 57; 2012-04-08 at 11:37 PM. Reason: Moved to existing thread
canam778 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:20 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.