Adding Larger Internal HDD to Rogers 8642 PVR - Read Post 1 - Page 9 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Rogers Communications > Rogers Cable TV: HD PVR Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-01-27, 05:30 PM   #121
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,214
Default

watchkeeper

1. Your post was moved to this existing sticky, please read post one and the link there, along with other earlier posts. A 1TB SATA WD Black is recommended. (around $140 now?)

2. You cannot use an eHDD without a working iHDD. There's also a sticky on eHDD.

3. Here's the SA FAQ which contains a post on repair info:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=17719

4. Here's a post useful for those "new" to the forum - FAQs, Search Tips, Optimization, etc

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=57741
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-01-29, 10:59 AM   #122
roadcarver
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Default WD10EALX

I can confirm that the WD - WD10EALX works with the 8642 PVR.

A couple of questions:

How do I open that 'debug' terminal to see the actual HDD space left?

Is there a way to stop a currently recording program from recording further?
roadcarver is offline  
Old 2012-01-29, 02:45 PM   #123
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,214
Default

The diagnostics no longer contains the information on HDD space. Go to List, Preferences, press "B" for Space remaining.

Tune to the channel, press Stop. Or go to "list - scheduled recordings, highlight programme, delete" or something like that.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2012-01-29, 03:58 PM   #124
roadcarver
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks 57 for the help and instructions.
roadcarver is offline  
Old 2012-02-18, 02:57 PM   #125
Mr.Nobody
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 38
Default

I received a Western Digital 500GB Caviar Blue (WD5000AAKX - SATA 6 Gb/s - 3.5 Inch - 7200rpm - 16 MB cache) as part of a barebones computer kit. Not needing 500GB of space in a computer, after testing the drive with a WinXP installation and running some tests (everything ok), I thought I'd swap this new drive with the 160GB drive (WD Caviar Blue) in my PVR.

The install was easy and seemed to go perfectly. However, after test recording 2x 30-minute HD programs, the 'Recording Space Used' screen reported 4% of the drive was filled. That's not right.

I've now cold-booted twice more, and warm-booted twice more, but no change.

Here's pg18 and pg28 from the diagnostics:



Can someone confirm for me that the 'Capactiy' and 'Free Space' of the AVFS shown above is not as it should be -- it's reporting less for each than in the ITFS column.

Any suggestions on what I should do next?

This seems to be the same issue reported by "Poloman" in Post#23 in this thread, who had a Costco-bought 500GB 8642HD:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poloman View Post
I recently bought the 500gb version of the 8642(hd3) and I am having issues with the % remaining on the receiver.

Have any of you that have gone to the 1tb drives actually added up the # of hrs of content on the drive to see if you are actually using the entire drive???

The reason I ask is because as I said I have the 500gb version but the firmware thinks its a 160gb.

The reason I know(think) this is the case is because:

1) the drive shows up on page27 as 499gb
2) 1 hr of HD content recorded uses 5% of space....s.b. 1.6%
3) 1 hr of HD content on the 160gb hdd would be exactly 5%

Any insight would be appreciated.

Thanx.

Last edited by Mr.Nobody; 2012-02-18 at 03:41 PM.
Mr.Nobody is offline  
Old 2012-02-18, 04:09 PM   #126
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,214
Default

As you've noticed and as reported earlier in this thread, the 8642 doesn't do a good calculation when very little space is used. Since it's showing as a 500 GB HDD, you should be fine. Perhaps you can report back once you have many more hours of HD recorded.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2012-02-18, 04:14 PM   #127
Mr.Nobody
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 38
Default

^ I will do.
Mr.Nobody is offline  
Old 2012-02-28, 11:28 PM   #128
Mr.Nobody
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 38
Default

Everything's good. 9 days later, I finally filled the new 500GB WD 5000AAKX Caviar Blue drive.

Recording only on HD channels, it had stored 75 recordings comprising 90+hrs by the time it reached 100% capacity.



Cisco's 8642HD product brochure says the 500GB can record 62hrs of HD programming and BestBuy's product page for it says "up to.. 60GB", so that seems to indicate that Rogers content delivery is ultra compressed.

Checking the diagnostic pages now, the only change was on Pg18: the AVFS free space was down to 0. After deleting a recording or 2, the AVFS free space # changed to 11580. Not sure how that's calculated, but it doesn't really matter.

I can't imagine ever filling all 500GB again!

Current retail price on this drive is around $90... while 1TB drives are around $110 (a comparative bargain!). But, I found an old TigerDirect email from summer 2011 - the same 500GB drive's price was $39.99 then!
Mr.Nobody is offline  
Old 2012-03-07, 09:03 AM   #129
Cybr9
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11
Default

Tried upgrading my 160gb to 1Tb but chickened out as the green tamper evident tape is stuck on very well and looks impossible to remove without destroying it - I guess that is the intent LOL. As my box is under warranty, do not want to do this. Any ways of removing this tape without destroying it?
Cybr9 is offline  
Old 2012-03-07, 02:22 PM   #130
icemankent
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 192
Default

I have two of these - which I had been using for about 2 weeks before I did my upgrade.
In both cases, the heat of the hard drive caused the glue on the tape to loosen, and the tape came off all by itself.
__________________
Pioneer Kuro 151FD | Pioneer VSX-1326-K | Paradigm Speakers | PS3 Slim+Fat | 2,Cisco 8642 | Panasonic TC-P65VT50

Last edited by 57; 2012-03-07 at 02:48 PM. Reason: Unnecessary Quote Removed
icemankent is offline  
Old 2012-03-09, 05:26 PM   #131
Cybr9
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11
Default

Well, I got brave and I carefully tweezed off the tamper evident seal; came off intact except for a few specks of green left behind . The rest of the installation of my new 1TB WD Caviar Black was a breeze. Plugged it in, the hard drive immediately started to be formatted and was done before I knew it .
Tested by recording a show and all looks well.

Thanks to all the informative posts and posters on this site that made it easy!
Cybr9 is offline  
Old 2012-03-29, 09:00 PM   #132
Dolfan
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: GTA
Posts: 21
Default WD1002FAEX on sale for $119.99 until 5:59 AM EST March 30th

Dell hot deals has the WD Caviar Black 1TB WD1002FAEX on sale for $119.99 until 5:59 AM EST March 30th.
Dolfan is offline  
Old 2012-03-30, 12:23 PM   #133
ecarlino016
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Guelph, Ont
Posts: 265
Default

This is not an external HDD idea I had but Ive posted it here as it applies to the HDD as a modification.

I have had an interest in modifying the 8642 and I was wondering if anyone had done this. My wife was complaining of the ticks of the 500gb within the new 8642 that I bought.

Has anyone used any external HDDs that were comprised of a 2.5" Solid State drive? Im interested in knowing what drive may be used as I would like to swap out my internal 500gb.

I am aware of the differences between 3.5" and 2.5" formfactors and the costs involved but Im thinking this may be a future trend taking into account issues of power consumption and noise pollution.

Thank you for any input.
EC
ecarlino016 is online now  
Old 2012-04-02, 11:19 AM   #134
craig_1
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Whitby, Ontario
Posts: 60
Default

Drives made by Crucial seem to have amazing read/write performance when compared with others we have tested. However, we did encounter an issue with a specific raid controller and these drives at their current firmware level. Apparently there WILL be a patch / update to the firmware from Crucial at some point.

I have not tried these with any PVRs.

The drive in question is the Crucial M4 512GB Sata 3 drive.

Last edited by 57; 2012-04-02 at 11:23 AM. Reason: Unnecessary Quote Removed
craig_1 is offline  
Old 2012-04-03, 06:25 AM   #135
Dolfan
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: GTA
Posts: 21
Default

Installed my WD Caviar Black 1TB WD1002FAEX last night. Install was seamless and easy. It installed the latest firmware (Software: 3.0.0.1612, UI Version: 3.1.5.24.04.09.11/28392), which is what was running on the old HD.

One interesting outcome has been that I had paused live TV last night and had a couple of instances where I could not get it to stop fast forwarding or rewinding when I hit the keys. Really strange as I did not have that when I had the old 160 GB drive and 500 GB Extender attached.... Strange
Dolfan is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:48 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.