A/V Receiver with ATSC Tuner? Digital Audio for Zone 2? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > Home Theatre Corner > A/V Receivers and Amplifiers

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2011-02-22, 02:00 PM   #1
mfowlie
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Angry A/V Receiver with ATSC Tuner? Digital Audio for Zone 2?

My Denon receiver (4308CI) has gone again (second time in 6 months) so I'm looking to replace it. But since I have gone OTA I want a receiver that can tune my ATSC HD feed (so I don't have to keep switching inputs on the TV)

In addition, the receiver needs to support digital audio to the zone two - it seems most receivers do not allow a audio connection via HDMI or Optical to be played on a second zone.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
mfowlie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2011-02-22, 02:09 PM   #2
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Default

I've never heard of an A/V Receiver with a built-in ATSC tuner
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. My comments and opinions are my own and not those of the current site owners.
I have disabled private messaging so for personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website or via twitter.
hugh is offline  
Old 2011-02-22, 04:34 PM   #3
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,161
Default

The OP may be asking if the AVR can pass the OTA video signal to the TV from an external ATSC tuner and many newer AVRs can do that via HDMI for example. This would mean only one input on the TV since the AVR would do the switching. See the following FAQ on AVR features. As mentioned above, there are no AVRs with ATSC tuners that I know.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=76082

As for an AVR that handles digital audio outside the main zone - those are pretty rare, if any. You need to connect the analogue audio cables from each device to enable zone 2 on most (all?) AVRs.


See the following useful post - FAQs, Search Tips, Optimization, etc:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=57741
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Reply

Tags
atsc, ota hdtv

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:11 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.