Xplornet High Speed Satellite Service - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Digital Industry Forums > Internet, Landline and Wireless Phone

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2005-08-18, 10:24 AM   #1
Jeffy
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 384
Default HiSpeed Internet by 2-way ka-band satellite

There are many people that are outside the range of DSL and Cable. They have had little choice for Internet access other than good old fashioned dial-up. But now, with the launch of Anik F2 and the recent availability of High Speed Internet by 2-way satellite (doesn't touch your phone line at all), anyone in North America has access to high speed (but high latency, not very good for gaming or VOIP) Internet.

Telesat Canada has annointed Barrett XplorNet as the main Canada-wide ISP. Up in northern Canada, they've annointed NetKaster. In the USA, it is WildBlue.

Here are the links:
Southern Canada: http://www.lincsat.com/e/index_e.asp
Northern Canada: http://www.netkaster.ca/
USA: http://www.wildblue.com/

Cost to start-up:

Xplorer is as much as Cdn$975 to start. Cdn$699 just for the equipment plus a $75 start-up fee. Installation about Cdn$200.

NetKaster is only Cdn$399 to start. Cdn$250 for the equipment, but (basically) you have to pay an extra $5 per month for rental of the interior modem. Installation about Cdn$150.

WildBlue is about US$480 (~Cdn$584) to start. US$299 for the equipment and US$180 for the installation.

Monthly charges:

The monthly charges are all in the same range - about Cdn$60 per month at the low end for 512kbps service.

As far as I know, the equipment is exactly the same from all the various ISPs.

These numbers might change at any time so recheck if you care.

<RANT ON>

So, why do people in most of Canada (southern Canada) have to pay about THREE times more for the equipment - $700 (or even $770 w. fee) vs. $250 - than the people living way up north. Even the USA is cheaper.

THREE TIMES MORE !!!!! This sucks.

Honestly, I don't know what the real price should be, but when a supplier in one area is about three times the price of a supplier in another area (an area with generally a much higher cost of living), then it makes one wary. I don't care what the price is, but I don't like being hosed.

Even their special "$275" discount is smoke and mirrors once you read the fine print. For most people (the normal $60 per month folks, as opposed to the $199 per month folks), it wouldn't be $275; it would be $125 and that consists of waiving a $75 fee that they had never previously mentioned, and a $50 discount off of one month's service <twirling finger in air mouthing the words 'whippity doo duh'>.

The purpose of this posting is to alert the public to the price differential in the hope that shedding light on the difference might assist Barrett Xplornet with reevaluating their pricing strategy. If they can find a way to offer a better start-up price, then maybe I will be able to finally have access to High Speed Internet.

As it stands now, I'm repelled by their approach. And thus, I'm still stuck with dial-up.

Shame on Telesat Canada for setting up what appears to be a series of monopolies.

<RANT OFF>

Last edited by Jeffy; 2005-08-18 at 11:36 AM.
Jeffy is offline  
Old 2005-08-18, 02:45 PM   #2
speedadmin
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13
Default

I believe that http://www.netkaster.ca/ are only renting/leasing their equipment and their customers don't own any of it, thats why their pricing "appears" to be cheaper. But in the long run it'll end up costing more. Wildblue, of course, in only available in the the USA and prices are almost always cheaper there.

The only "real" price difference is between Anikast and Telesat. They're basically the same company but Anikast is for the folks who have/had DirecPC(like me). The reason that ex-DirecPC customers get a better deal than Telesat customers is that Bell didn't want to lose their customers to D-Way.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffy
Honestly, I don't know what the real price should be, but when a supplier in one area is about three times the price of a supplier in another area (an area with generally a much higher cost of living), then it makes one wary. I don't care what the price is, but I don't like being hosed.
They will charge what ever the market will bare....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffy
As it stands now, I'm repelled by their approach. And thus, I'm still stuck with dial-up.

Shame on Telesat Canada for setting up what appears to be a series of monopolies.
There are really only 2 monopolies, thats Anikast/Telesat and D-Way. Within a year or so I believe Anikast/Telesat will dominate the Canadian satellite
internet industry. However in 2 years Wi-max will be widely available in rural areas like yours and mine so you can wait till then if you're still "repelled by their approach". For me I think that its a good price (I know its different for everyone) and like you its either 56k dial-up or a 2mbit connection for me. Plus, I rather pay the piper now than later, considering they are not even close to running 100% capacity and wont be for a while so the speeds are really good. By the time they start over booking the sat, Wi-Max should be here.

Last edited by hugh; 2005-08-28 at 08:50 AM. Reason: Remove Unecessary Quoting: Please don't quote the entire previous post. It wastes bandwidth and makes reading more difficult.
speedadmin is offline  
Old 2005-08-18, 05:13 PM   #3
Jeffy
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 384
Default

Barrett Xplornet pricing:

Most of the equipment cost is the probably-very-expensive Ka-band transceiver mounted on the dish. The inside modem is basically an off-the-shelf Cable Modem and it can't be worth much more than $100 or so (if that).

NetKaster sells the outside gear (dish + ka-band transceiver) for $250 and they rent you the cheap Cable Modem for what seems to be a $5 delta per month. Their prices seem quite reasonable and I would jump on board with them in an instant if were allowed.

Thanks for the lead on Anikast - they have what seems to be a very reasonable offer. I wish they would make it available to anyone. I'd jump on board with them if I were allowed.

The monopoly that I really don't like is that I'm only 'allowed' to purchase from Barrett Xplornet (basically they have been given an exlusive monopoly) and they're charging hundred of dollars more than anyone else for the equipment.

I don't like being hosed.

Choose one:
1) Stick with dial-up for now.
2) Get hosed to the tune of several hundred bucks.
3) Move to Resolute (waaay up north).

Sucks to be me, eh?

So I think it is important to let everyone know that Barrett Xplornet is charging way more than anyone else. Perhaps if other people are as upset as I am, then within a few months they'll be forced to get their prices in line with other providers (in spite of having an exclusive monopoly).

PS: Cable TV is only one mile away from my front door. I'm going to lobby them as well to 'go the extra mile' for me and my dozen neighbours. And like you said, WiMax is coming soon (but there are always delays and delays and more delays...)
Jeffy is offline  
Old 2005-08-25, 08:21 PM   #4
Jeffy
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 384
Default

I got to see and try out the Xplornet system today.

The 'cable modem' isn't just a cheap cable modem. It is a special box that is much like a cable modem, but not exactly the same.

The Ka-band hardware looks less expensive than I thought. The contraption is not large at all.

It needs two coaxial cables (reportedly one for transmit and one for receive).

Very interesting that they can power the transmitter via the RG-6 coaxial cable, a transmitter that can reach all the way out to a geostationary satellite. Probably be done before, but first time I've seen one. Hard up against 10 on the kool scale.

Installation wouldn't be that complicated. Much simpler than a Bell 9200 for example. $200 for installation seems very generous (which may be a good thing in the larger picture). Shouldn't take more than a couple of hours for an experienced pro.

I tried the system (512kbps version). Typed in www.cnn.com and waited. And waited. Oh, here it comes. Slowly. A bit more. A bit more. Probably took ten seconds. Hmmm, not THAT impressive. Faster than dial-up, yes. But hardly screaming fast.
Jeffy is offline  
Old 2005-08-27, 12:26 PM   #5
speedadmin
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffy
I tried the system (512kbps version). Typed in www.cnn.com and waited. And waited. Oh, here it comes. Slowly. A bit more. A bit more. Probably took ten seconds. Hmmm, not THAT impressive. Faster than dial-up, yes. But hardly screaming fast.
Yep.... thats why I have the 1000/256kbps package....
speedadmin is offline  
Old 2005-08-27, 10:06 PM   #6
Jeffy
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 384
Default

But the math is that Xplornet (with my cnn.com test) was only 'several' times faster than my present 37kbps dial-up connection. It wasn't even ten times faster let only being anywhere near 512kbps.

With your "1000" (1Mbps) service, how many minutes does it take to download a 3MB file?

The ideal answer would be "one-half minute, or 30 seconds". An acceptable answer would be "under a minute". Are you getting your 3MB MP3 files in less than a minute?

Curiously yours.
Jeffy is offline  
Old 2005-08-29, 10:30 PM   #7
Wayne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,133
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffy
PS: Cable TV is only one mile away from my front door. I'm going to lobby them as well to 'go the extra mile' for me and my dozen neighbours. And like you said, WiMax is coming soon (but there are always delays and delays and more delays...)
Get someone a mile away who is within line of site to share the cost of cable internet and a wireless router and make a soup can or other antenna. Voila - cable high speed from one mile. If you have an old satellite dish you can get much farther - these guys got 125 miles http://www.engadget.com/entry/1234000970052590/
Wayne is online now  
Old 2005-08-29, 11:13 PM   #8
Jeffy
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 384
Default

Good idea, and the Swat Team will bust down their door instead of mine.

(Joking!!)

It's not quite Line-Of-Site between A and B, but it is a good idea just the same. It's only about 3,000 feet the other way (across the lake) and it is LOS. And I'm pretty good with antennas... ....hmmmm...
Jeffy is offline  
Old 2005-09-14, 10:27 AM   #9
rob1
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: North of TO
Posts: 963
Default

My install is scheduled for this Saturday morning....

I'll post my comments sometime over the weekend.


Cheers
rob1 is online now  
Old 2006-02-25, 04:33 PM   #10
Spidinator
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Just Oustside KAMLOOPS B.C.
Posts: 213
Default

Was wondering if anyone who has signed up for this service has used it for online gaming and stuff. I seem to have read in another post that it wouldnt be possible due to the high ping or something like that. Anyone confirm or deny this?
Spidinator is offline  
Old 2006-02-25, 08:38 PM   #11
superham
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 119
Default

Did you ever notify the delay in a conversation via satellite between a news reader and a journalist outside of the country??? A signal from earth needs about 0.5 seconds to reach a satellite. Internet satellite is a good broadband connection for Internet surfing and downloading, but forget about online gaming or voip.

http://www.dslreports.com/faq/2001

http://www.dslreports.com/faq/2025

http://www.dslreports.com/faq/2026
superham is offline  
Old 2006-02-26, 12:14 AM   #12
macspectrum
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ontario
Posts: 101
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spidinator
Was wondering if anyone who has signed up for this service has used it for online gaming and stuff. I seem to have read in another post that it wouldnt be possible due to the high ping or something like that. Anyone confirm or deny this?
the latency (delay) is too long for internet gaming
I have "pinged" the Anikast gateway and get times from 450ms - 750ms which is far too long for any useful online gaming.
macspectrum is offline  
Old 2006-02-26, 04:32 AM   #13
Spidinator
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Just Oustside KAMLOOPS B.C.
Posts: 213
Default

alright so that is out, but in comparison to adsl or cable can you really notice a big difference?
Spidinator is offline  
Old 2006-02-26, 10:51 AM   #14
superham
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 119
Default

Internet Satellite is a good high speed broadband connection and the web pages and downloads load fast after they get started, but they will always take time to get started cause of high latency (pings).

ADSL and cable connections get pings below 100ms, even as low as 20ms!!! Itís why you canít be successful on online gaming with a satellite connection because someone will kill you before you do anything.
superham is offline  
Old 2006-02-26, 12:31 PM   #15
Spidinator
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Just Oustside KAMLOOPS B.C.
Posts: 213
Default

thanks for the info guys, much appreciated
Spidinator is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:36 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.