Shaw Direct Complaint and Rant Thread - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Shaw Direct (formerly Star Choice)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2009-08-13, 09:05 AM   #1
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,585
Default Shaw Direct Complaint and Rant Thread

This thread is for frustrated members to air their beefs and grievances over Shaw Direct.

If you have a technical problem that needs solving, please check out other threads, as this one is just for rants and complaints.

Please Note:

Although this thread is for rants and complaints, you are still expected to follow the rules of the forum when you post so No swearing, no oversized fonts, images etc.
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website and have disabled private messaging. For personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website or via twitter.
hugh is offline  
Old 2009-08-13, 11:39 PM   #2
Gods Son
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 15
Default

Every time it rains I have signal issues....not impressed...
Gods Son is offline  
Old 2009-08-14, 03:18 AM   #3
Cinoche
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montréal
Posts: 114
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gods Son View Post
Every time it rains I have signal issues....not impressed...
Did you call to report it?
Cinoche is offline  
Old 2009-08-16, 09:23 PM   #4
Sirius Guy
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 638
Default

Rain should not effect signal unless it is a downpour which is usually short duration. If it does you need your dish repointed.
Sirius Guy is offline  
Old 2009-08-16, 11:32 PM   #5
cablewithaview
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 246
Default

I wish they were more forth coming with info concerning new channels, and launch them in a timely fashion.
cablewithaview is offline  
Old 2009-08-18, 05:49 PM   #6
Gods Son
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 15
Default

Yup, I reported it. They sent a guy out to re-point the dish. Last rainstorm it started acting up again but not nearly as bad as the initial instances....
Gods Son is offline  
Old 2009-08-18, 07:06 PM   #7
dennism3
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 531
Default

Short rant..........$3 increase on $20 package. 15% increase in a bill during a recessionary period! Do I even need satellite TV? Yeah for that interactive weather feature that is hours old!
dennism3 is offline  
Old 2009-08-22, 11:00 AM   #8
Vinyl Guy
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Oakville
Posts: 34
Default price increases...

Hi: I have to agree, the prices keep going up & up. If it were not for the senior at home, I would disconnect the @#$% thing.
Vinyl Guy is offline  
Old 2010-02-21, 12:48 AM   #9
Bent Willi
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 18
Default

Is it possible your dish is pointed thru trees????
__________________
Madeira Park B.C.,
Xplornet KA 1Mbps 256Kbps/KU DW4000 Basic,
Telus ADSL, Starchoice T.V.
Bent Willi is offline  
Old 2010-02-21, 12:17 PM   #10
44fixedit
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: HAIDA GWAII B.C.
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bent Willi View Post
Is it possible your dish is pointed thru trees????
Sounds like your a teck for deadnet KA. That system works good in anywhere outside of earths atmosphere.
44fixedit is offline  
Old 2009-09-14, 06:55 PM   #11
Doppelganger399
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Marystown, NL
Posts: 526
Default Why must I fight Shaw for pre season hockey?

Last year I noticed that Centre Ice subscribers with Bell tv got the Leafs pre season games & when I emailed Shaw Direct they fought me saying Bell tv has never done a pre season game ever finally I emailed the Bell guide & they admitted they were wrong & they started airing them this year shaw is doing it again saying the pre season is not covered by centre ice.Maybe I should just switch to Bell or Eastlink so I can get my hockey.
Doppelganger399 is offline  
Old 2009-09-15, 04:20 AM   #12
CanuckBlue
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Maple Ridge, B.C
Posts: 223
Default

Who wants leaf games? not to mention pre season leaf games.
CanuckBlue is offline  
Old 2009-09-15, 06:48 AM   #13
Doppelganger399
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Marystown, NL
Posts: 526
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CanuckBlue View Post
Who wants leaf games? not to mention pre season leaf games.
There a Leafer around every corner my friend & we are taking over.
Doppelganger399 is offline  
Old 2009-09-18, 07:59 PM   #14
Doppelganger399
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Marystown, NL
Posts: 526
Default

I made a threat told them I was going to call eastlink and pre season games are now on my centre ice, being a pain in the backside still gets you what you want lol.
Doppelganger399 is offline  
Old 2009-09-19, 11:06 AM   #15
LMGVictoria
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Default Shaw disconnected unrented bsmt suite

I posted this elsewhere on wrong thread so figured I'd post it here too:

We bought our house a year ago. It has a basement suite. We had our daughter move into the basement and we had Shaw split the cable so she would have her own bill to pay. In June she moved out so we turned the basement suite into a media room. Purchased $8,500 worth of media equipment and had a shaw cable tech come in and hook up 4 outlets in the house as we get 4 free outlets with our service. 2 outlets in the basement suite and 2 upstairs. I explained to the tech at the time that the girls were moving out (our daughter and her roommate) within 2 weeks and that we were not renting the suite. They were welcome to come by from time to time to check and make sure were weren't renting. He said fine. On Thurs morning my husband was watching the big TV downstairs and all of a sudden the cable went out. I had seen a Shaw van in the area. I called Shaw the next day as we could not get it working again and they said from time to time they "audit" and then disconnect cable in suites. They do this as many people with suites are getting free cable for their renters. I explained to her what I had explained to the tech and she kept saying "you have to understand that there are many people with suites and renters not paying for their cable". Nothing I said would convince her we were not stealing the cable. She said she could have another tech come out next week but she could not guarantee another would not come along and disconnect the cable. Our Shaw connection is on the outside of the house. Is it possible to move it inside? I am quite angry that their techs have the right to come on our property and disconnect our cable without even asking us first. We were home at the time. Another option I have is to reconnect our star choice but we live in a very nice area and I don't want the dish hanging off the side of the house. I also don't know if our house is "wired" to have a dish. Plus we've purchased Shaw 3 cable boxes, 2 HD boxes (1 records) and these were expensive.

I hope someone has some good suggestions. On Monday morning I am going to call the suites department at Shaw. I did talk to a second CSR at Shaw on Friday and she apologized a lot and told me to call the suites department. The first lady was not helpful at all. Basically accused me of stealing cable. I had asked the first CSR to have a supervisor call me. She said she would and I am still waiting for that call.

Thanks!
LMGVictoria is offline  
Reply

Tags
complaint, rant, shaw direct

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:14 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.