Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

DTV Transition Arrives: How Do You Feel?

• In Ecstasy!

Votes: 48 25.9%
  • Mostly happy

Votes: 76 41.1%
  • Somewhat happy

Votes: 28 15.1%
  • Somewhat unhappy

Votes: 15 8.1%
  • Mostly unhappy

Votes: 12 6.5%
  • Freaking out in utter despair, you insensitive clod!!!!

Votes: 2 1.1%
  • Huh? What's VDT?

Votes: 4 2.2%
Status
Not open for further replies.

DTV Transition Day, Aug. 31, 2011, Finally Arrives: How Do You Feel?

17K views 82 replies 71 participants last post by  writerpatrick 
#1 ·
Well, Canada's DTV Transition Day, Aug. 31, 2011, has finally arrived. How Do You Feel?

#5 · (Edited)
I have been awaiting this day this hour even for many years it seems for me I recall seeing the experiments back in the 80's about UHF being able to have many advantages they were using a foot ball game showing how many camera angles could be done at the same time and high quality, that was real early exposure for me then came along my ATI HD card and the Xmass Tree antenna in it and one night I got my first tropo skip station CBS Kiro it lasted 30 seconds and I was hooked having never seen OTA HD as I was unable to get local OTA HD ( untill tall towers were built in front of me ) anyways this is so cool to me... just imagine what they can do with this given the same time VHF had. Being born in the mid fifties I do have memories of antenna reception hell and the absolute high that came when the station came in so good for that one program you'd wait all week for ya it did go like that in those olden days - really :)

#6 ·
I am glad will free up more bandwidth. Maybe by 2020 Shaw will finally have enough hd channels *sigh*